T&T Gov't examining decriminalising of marijuana

02 May 2016 10:51 #302976 by chairman
PORT OF SPAIN, Trinidad (CMC) – The Trinidad and Tobago Government is examining the possibility of decriminalising marijuana and is reviewing existing legislation as well as planning wide consultation before adopting any position, Attorney General Faris Al-Rawi has said.

He told the Trinidad Guardian newspaper Monday that there has been “a full exercise of analysing the types of crime in our prisons and the pre-trials detention or remand statistics for a range of offences, including possession of narcotics, and particularly possession of cannabis.

“From that perspective there’s certainly a drive to gather statistical information, as the issue of decriminalising of marijuana isn’t a simple one on the public side.”

Al-Rawi told the newspaper that “if one were to argue for decriminalisation, the limits to be applied must be considered.

“Does one wish to have a bus driver or teacher who’s in the course of using narcotics, although decriminalised, on the job? That’s one set of societal factors to consider. On the other hand, is it right to engage in pre- trial detention in remand for two joints of marijuana where your detention is by far longer than the conviction you can have?

“So obviously it involves proper consultation after gathering of statistical information so that when the issue is brought to the public’s attention, it must be brought with facts, statistics, extrapolation on statistics, androecial impact consideration as Trinidad and Tobago is a multidimensional society. There are, for instance, the views of religious bodies and civil society groups that have to be factored against any decision like this.”

Al-Rawi said Government is “obliged to take a very holistic approach to agitating the issue.

“We have to consider it as it applies across the board, be it in the criminal justice system, in the social factors associated with people detained for narcotic use of a small quantity and the societal message you send to your young, aged or your disadvantaged.

“So that kind of exercise is what we’re engaged in and we’ll certainly not shy away from issues but embrace then in a comprehensive, responsible fashion. After full consultation, a policy decision will be taken and the requisite instruction to attenuate — reduce the force of — the laws or draft new laws, will then be taken.”

Al Rawi told the Trinidad Guardian that the government has started the groundwork to decriminalise marijuana.

“Definitely the statistical approach being taken in the consultation on the prison analysis is one of those springboards into that venture,

“As an enabler of laws I must accept the views of several interest sectors. When one hears the judiciary, CARICOM leaders, states that have gone that way and several sectoral interest groups speak to the need for decriminalisation, those aren’t soft voices which haven’t thought about issues.”

CARICOM leaders have established the CARICOM Cannabis Commission to look into the matter of decriminalising marijuana for medicinal purposes.

CARICOM Secretary General Irwin La Rocque has said the objective “ is to conduct an inquiry into the social, economic, health and legal issues surrounding marijuana use in the Caribbean.”

But Jamaica has already decriminalised the possession of small amounts of marijuana.

• allswl
02 May 2016 11:25 #302987 by allswl
In Jamaica the move is also towards decriminalizing, but I have the same issues as stated above. I will also add that there is current strains of the weed that has differing variations of the active ingredients in weed. So unless they powers that be will be legislating some standards in terms of the drug's potency we will have problems.

02 May 2016 11:30 #302991 by mapoui
45 YEARS TOO LATE!

I tell dem to do so before I left  :-[ :-[ :-[but the wun hear mih.  deh chase mih rarse..tell me I crazy.

I tell dem so for the same reasons deh considering it now >:( >:( >:(

Time to create page: 0.169 seconds
MaleahNow that Joe Root has 2 centuries in Australia, I assume those Australian fans, who said he couldn’t be classed as great unless he achieved that, will now say he is?? Given that the great Steve Smith has never scored a test ton in Pakistan….(05.01.2026, 12:31)(12:31)0