U.S. to schools: Give transgender students bathroom rights

13 May 2016 11:40 #304320 by chairman
The Obama administration told U.S. public school districts across the country on Friday to allow transgender students to use the bathrooms that match their gender identity, rather than their gender at birth.

The new guidance comes as the Justice Department and North Carolina battle in federal court over a state law passed in March that prohibits people from using public restrooms not corresponding to their biological sex.

Officials from the Education and Justice departments told schools that while the new guidance does not carry legal weight, they are obligated not to discriminate against students, including based on their gender identity.

• 413x
13 May 2016 11:51 #304321 by 413x
I live in a major city. We see transgenders every day. They use the bathroom they associate with every day and there are no problems... This is another republican fear campiagn like every other issue they fight

13 May 2016 12:06 #304323 by ketchim
They are calling for use of the Gender you born with !

IF yuh born a girl and now have a penis : still use the girls bathroom  :P

13 May 2016 12:10 #304325 by chairman
does girls stand up and pee

• karlaa
13 May 2016 12:12 #304326 by karlaa
If a man "feels" like a woman, why can't he just take 5 minutes out of his life and use the men's bathroom? How hard is that? He's been doing it his whole life anyway?

• Sandy
13 May 2016 14:23 #304350 by Sandy
Well if they're a post-operative transgender person who went from male to female genital by surgery , or the other way around, they might have problems using the opposite bathroom.
Especially if they are a transgender man who turned into hot lady, walking into a male bathroom. It's not a big issue with places where transexuals are common, but it is a big deal if it happens in a close-minded community.

• Smithee
13 May 2016 16:00 #304364 by Smithee
I think it shouldn't matter if someone identifies as a different sex. Some male students may identify as female so they can indulge their "voyeuristic instincts." Since everyone wants this then what we need are doors with locks. There's been some raping reported in the past so to protect the women we should keep boys out of girls bathrooms. Doesn't matter if they identify as female.

• Lavos
13 May 2016 17:03 #304368 by Lavos
I guess it's alright to reduce discrimination towards transgender students and people in general. In any case, Baby steps for tolerance and acceptance I suppose. Now transgender
can feel like they are regarded as normal people and not as some freak.

• obliviousme
14 May 2016 02:19 #304379 by obliviousme
I've had a few encounters with transgenders in the woman's bathroom, i was surprised that first time and a little uncomfortable but it happens all the time now so you just kind of get used to it.

• gmckeebiz
14 May 2016 17:30 #304427 by gmckeebiz
I think this whole issue is pretty silly. It's pretty well known that the psychological community has deemed transgenderism as a mental disorder. So why are we celebrating it as a country? Or rather, why is the left wing celebrating it? It's not cool, or trendy, or a civil rights issue. It is a mental disorder. And we definitely don't need to encourage young kids to question themselves or "change" their sex, as that is biologically impossible. The state of the country truly sickens me.

Time to create page: 0.253 seconds
MaleahNow that Joe Root has 2 centuries in Australia, I assume those Australian fans, who said he couldn’t be classed as great unless he achieved that, will now say he is?? Given that the great Steve Smith has never scored a test ton in Pakistan….(05.01.2026, 12:31)(12:31)0