The Preakness

22 May 2016 13:15 #305340 by mapoui
wet and muddy I put 50 dollars on #5 to win..exaggerator.

then Mario Guiterrez decided to help me and all who bet #5 to win, by attending the pace party Uncle Lino threw.

that was a stupid ride by Mario.  they will take the mount away from him for this... wasting the horse.  Nyquist would likely have won the race but for that ride.

but I sensed some crap would happen and it did.

I don't know how people like Guitterez get classic horses to ride in big races.  just like idiot Junior Alvarado on Mohaymen.

this was a good tripe crown shot wasted..not to mention a ton on money wasted on the horse by bettors.

there are times when I am very happy I don't like to bet on favorites.  this was one time

22 May 2016 13:24 - 22 May 2016 13:54 #305341 by mapoui

Yo!   I bet on horses and I think I know a bit about what I am doing;

Nyquist is a horse that has gears.  if you had yesterdays Racing Form or can get one go through Nyquist past races and see for yourself.  Nyquist can do anything he needs to do on  race track.

it is possible Nyquist was head strong yesterday and could not be held back from a suicidal pace. I doubt that however.

Uncle Lino came out to spoil the race for Nyquist given that he could not have won it himself under any circumstances. Guiterrez helped him
Last edit: 22 May 2016 13:54 by mapoui.

22 May 2016 13:51 #305346 by Kwami
Was a fail by the jockey and to the other poster ,  yes horses figuratively has brakes and gas pedals . A good jockey should know how to manipulate them . While pre race strategy is important , it is equally important  to change strategy according to how the race develops.
T he jockey on Nyquist strategy was to go to the front at all cost and was burned by the scorching first quarter

22 May 2016 13:54 #305348 by Kwami
Just googled .. the 22.36 first quarter was the fastest in Preakness history.

22 May 2016 13:59 #305349 by mapoui
k'chim weh yuh ah'say deh ::confused::  wat you bet ::confused::  deh way yuh so silent i figure yet get soaked :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[

I bet Exaggerator because of the mud.  I figured he is a superior mud horse and that he would wear down Nyquist in the stretch.

I took a chance.  I figured  Nyquist might beat me anyway so I put a 15 dollar save for place on Exaggerator..to save some money fuh myself.

Uncle Lino/Mario Guiterrez made sure I collected both bets.  you have to be careful when you attend pace parties.  you have to have something left over to get home again.

23 May 2016 12:16 #305399 by ketchim
Well after I saw IT was not gonna be sunny with 71 degrees

and it was buckets of mud I knew Exaggerator !

could care less about the fastest quarter ...

The odds were crappy SO I put money on Cherry Wine to place.

23 May 2016 13:16 #305410 by mapoui
#7 Collected was a better choice..ridden by Castellano but Mario Gutierrez was not only bad rider on Saturday.

the Great Castellano, top rider in the USA decided to stalk those wicked fractions and burnt his horse right out.

why is Castellano the top rider in the USA..because he married the boss' daughter and everybody look out fuh him.  he gets the best horses to ride everywhere.

give the skunt a challenged horse..one that can win but needs a professional ride to do so...and he fails most of the time.  this Preakness ride proves my point

Time to create page: 0.172 seconds
MaleahNow that Joe Root has 2 centuries in Australia, I assume those Australian fans, who said he couldn’t be classed as great unless he achieved that, will now say he is?? Given that the great Steve Smith has never scored a test ton in Pakistan….(05.01.2026, 12:31)(12:31)0