The Preakness

17 May 2016 14:08 #304744 by chairman
BALTIMORE, MD - Trainer Steve Asmussen officially took Gun Runner, the Louisiana Derby (G2) winner who finished third in the Kentucky Derby (G1), out of Preakness (G1) consideration Tuesday morning.

"We’re going to pass on the Preakness,” the newly elected Hall of Famer said by phone. “We’re going to continue to train at Churchill and plan on a serious summer of 3-year-old races with him. He’s been in tremendous physical condition going into the Derby and coming out of it, and we expect for him to continue to physically develop.”

17 May 2016 16:50 #304757 by ketchim
I dont think he could do the Triple Crown .

17 May 2016 17:17 #304762 by mapoui
who cyar do the triple crown..Nyquist ::confused::

he doh have any opposition.

Maybe Destin or Mohaymen in the Belmont ::confused::

see the horses that have specifically targeted the Belmont.  there may be a sleeper in that crowd

17 May 2016 17:22 #304763 by ketchim
Gun Runner cost me money : at 12 -1 odds at Kentucky.

Maps , yeah both..... but Moyahem looked better !

Nyquist did not give me that rah rah  feeling ...I know he won  :-[

20 May 2016 19:57 #305233 by ketchim
only Exaggerator can cause any problem

and maybe de horse John Valasquez riding, Stradivari !

20 May 2016 20:01 #305235 by mapoui
STRADIVARI PEDIGREE.

I am not really impressed.  Medaglia D'oro is a good sire but not really brilliant.  he is much stronger producing fillies not colts.

but Stradivari's dam side pedigree leaves a whole lot to be desired in my estimation.  of course like Nyquist he can be a throwback of some sort reflecting more the qualities of the great ones in his ped over the recent ones who are not so good

if you go back 3 generations in his dams pedigree you will see Seattle Slew, Hail to Reason, Key to the Mint...Northern Dancer, Graustark, Turn To and Dr Fager.  all those were fine sires and great race horses.

but when you get to Cure the Blues and American Chance you are into bums as far as the classics are concerned.  those guys are not passing on the great genes..neither are the female line Bending Strings, Straight South, Key to the North, Christmas wishes.  maybe just one of that line is a decent brood mare.

www.pedigreequery.com/stradivari5

but dig into the pedigree.  you may see what I have not

20 May 2016 20:06 #305236 by mapoui
see Stradsivari's mother Bending Strings:

since 2008 she has 4 foals to have raced..1 winner - Stradivari.  the rest have not won.  and they are now out of racing, so what you see there is their full record

20 May 2016 20:08 #305237 by mapoui
Bending Strings does not appear to be passing on the genes in the line

the second Dam Straight South is better.  she shows 8 foals to get to racing and 6 won..with 3 big winners

20 May 2016 20:11 #305238 by mapoui
Key to the North the third Dam shows very little

fourth Dam Christmas Wishes also  shows poorly..and that is way back to the fourth generation

20 May 2016 20:12 #305239 by mapoui
I don't know where Stradivari gets his class genes from then...his father I guess.  but is that enough ::confused::

Time to create page: 0.206 seconds
MaleahNow that Joe Root has 2 centuries in Australia, I assume those Australian fans, who said he couldn’t be classed as great unless he achieved that, will now say he is?? Given that the great Steve Smith has never scored a test ton in Pakistan….(05.01.2026, 12:31)(12:31)0