31 May 2016 09:18 #306214 by Chin
Swaha leader: Hindu Women not just roti makers

Shastri Boodan
Published: Guardian
Tuesday, May 31, 2016

The role of the Hindu woman should not be relegated to roti maker and pholourie fryer, says Pundit Hardeo Persad, spiritual head of Swaha.

Speaking at Swaha’s Indian Arrival Day Dinner and Awards at the JFK Auditorium, UWI, St Augustine, Persad said women have much to offer society and his religious organisation continues to advocate for the raising the legal age of marriage to 18.

He said the Devi Bhagwat of the Hindu scriptures tells of the power of women and they should be given chances to make a contribution.

“To put it simply, you teach a man, you teach an individual. You teach a woman you teach a family. She is the carrier of the values system into the future. Why should we stifle them? We believe they are professionals and they are good as any and better than many, and they can make a contribution in more fields than one. We see in our exams and so on the girls are excelling.”

Persad said society cannot continue to turn away from the issue of same-sex relationships. He said there is no need for homosexuals and lesbians to get married.

“We have a situation which we can't turn a blind eye to, the attraction to the same sex. There is an argument where they want to be allowed the opportunity to get married. My question is why do you want to get married? Nobody is stopping you from a relationship. If there is a problem because of your orientation you are victimised, there is prejudice against you there is something wrong with that but I cannot see, for me, that we can sanction same sex marriages because of that.”

On the issue of abortion Persad said it should only be performed if the mother’s life is in danger.

www.guardian.co.tt/news/2016-05-31/swaha...not-just-roti-makers

01 Jun 2016 13:11 #306493 by chairman
The role of the Hindu woman should not be relegated to roti maker and pholourie fryer, says Pundit Hardeo Persad, spiritual head of Swaha. ;D ;D

01 Jun 2016 13:27 #306504 by ketchim
Chin why de fock you calling my name in all yuh stoopid posts ?

U a focking Stalker ???

01 Jun 2016 13:31 #306506 by ketchim
what with all de smileys Jenny arse ?

01 Jun 2016 14:08 #306534 by Nargis
why are they talking about these topics at indian arrival day?

and for the love of god - what the eff is indian arrival day?

01 Jun 2016 14:11 #306535 by ketchim
Trini Commess. Picong . Bacchanal

and the rest of dem CRAP  ;D posted by the Trini dumpster, Chin

02 Jun 2016 09:09 #306592 by mapoui

I like this bacchanal.  I see much in there that is very interesting.

however the age of 18 for consent is too old.  it shud be 16.  18 is white european bullcrap with some rotten western agenda written all over it.

16 is quite good enough

then there could be a social practices that develops that the people might observe on their own but not written into the law where west indian women whatever they want to do with their lives.

that is practical social social behavior in tune with the possibilities/opportunities in the life we live in situ.

but by the time boys and girls are 16 they are too old and ready for all kinds of activity and prohibition until they are 18 is going to cause a great abundance of social difficulty that will be..already is... very expensive for the society to deal with

Time to create page: 0.195 seconds
MaleahNow that Joe Root has 2 centuries in Australia, I assume those Australian fans, who said he couldn’t be classed as great unless he achieved that, will now say he is?? Given that the great Steve Smith has never scored a test ton in Pakistan….(05.01.2026, 12:31)(12:31)0