31 May 2016 12:53 #306297
It's safe to say Snoop Dogg isn't watching the Roots remake. The rapper took to Instgram to address the miniseries remake—and projects like 12 Years a Slave and the TV series Underground—and urged viewers to not partake in movies where black people are "dogged down."
"I'm sick of this s—t. How the f—k they going to put Roots on on Memorial Day," he said in an Instagram video. "They're going to just keep beating that s—t into our heads, how they did us, huh? I mean, I don't understand America. They're just going to want to keep showing the abuse that we took hundreds and hundreds of years ago. But guess what: We're taking the same abuse. Think about that part. When y'all going to make a motherf—king series about the success that black folks is having? The only success we have is Roots and 12 Years a Slave and s—t like that, huh? F—k y'all."
Snoop urged others to "f—k them television shows" and that it's time to create their own projects about how black people "live and how we inspire people today."
"Black is what's real," he said in the video, which contains profane language, below. "F—k that old s--t."
31 May 2016 13:16 #306304
We need a Civil war in America : not a Racist war !
who starring as Kunta Kinteh ??
same guy that was Django
31 May 2016 13:32 #306309
I see weh deh were making a new roots. I cud not be bothered. I jess passed over it
01 Jun 2016 09:21 #306417
So I looked at it last night on A&E
hhhhmmmm.....never knew Kunta Kinteh was Muslim.... :-[
01 Jun 2016 09:37 #306421
snoop is right. snoop gave the impression that he had made and was ow fat and satisfied and would not be like he is here..very outspoken.
but he is right. I doh look at nutten like Roots anymore. in fact I doh look at any american movies anymore. deh have nutten to say..and I don't like such phantasy as holywood produces
01 Jun 2016 09:44 #306424
Not fantasy :an attempt to ReEnact what life was like back then.
I was surprised how well it was presented !
OF course we all hate Massa ....
01 Jun 2016 10:09 #306433
look man black people are whole people like everybody else....
how we survived to this day in america..north and latin..the west indies. I want to see full, dynamic, many sided explorations of our experience.
how did black people in the USA achieve full literacy by 1910..45 years after emancipation.
that is a one of the great historical human achievements... on par with the Russian and Chinese revolutions that resulted in those 2 countries becoming the leading countries of the world in short order... from a state of about 95% illiteracy
who are the figures who led such struggles, their real full lives?
explain a man like Frederick Douglass one of the truly amazing historic figures. how in the hell does life produce people like him? where do they come from....
even a man like JFK. by the time JFK made the speech abut secret societies a tremendous growth had taken place in the man.
JFK was no ordinary man or president but a truly complex figure of great human quality. but no one has yet explored JFK properly, honestly..so that we may learn the lessons his life teaches...
its the same with black issues..never properly explored
01 Jun 2016 10:12 #306435
i agree with Snoop.
but i guess theres a time and place for everything?