Mixed race becomes second fastest-growing racial group in U.S.

25 Jun 2016 11:10 #309482 by chairman
The melting pot is really cooking!

The second fastest-growing racial group in the U.S. is the category of people who identify themselves as mixed race, new data from the Census Bureau show.

The number of people who claimed two or more races grew by 3.1% to 6.6 million between July 2014 and July 2015, according to numbers released Thursday.

Identifying as mixed race is also becoming increasingly popular among young people. The group had the lowest median age — 20 years old — of all racial or ethnic groups.

In fact, the most diverse generation is the nation’s youngest.

Census figures show that of those born since 2000, nearly half — or 49% — belong to a race or ethnic group other than non-Hispanic white. In contrast, 44.5% of millennials born between 1982 and 2000 belonged to the same group.

The data also revealed that the Asian population is growing the fastest of any minority group in the country. The nation’s Asian population increased at a rate of 3.4% between 2014 and 2015. There are 21 million Asians in the U.S. Hawaii is the only state with a majority-Asian population, the Census Bureau said.

In 2013, China overtook Mexico as the country sending the most immigrants to the U.S.

The white population grew at the slowest rate of any racial group. The number of people describing themselves as white grew only 0.5% between 2014 and 2015. There are more than 255 million people who self-identified as white or white in combination with something else. Vermont is the whitest state in the country, with 97% of people there saying they are white.

Nationwide, the Hispanic population grew by 2.2% to 56.6 million. New Mexico has the largest percentage of Hispanics in the country at 48%.

The African-American population grew by 1.3% to 46.3 million. Mississippi has the largest percentage of blacks at 38.3%.

If you’re looking to retire among people of your age group, Sumter County, Fla., is the place to be. The majority of the population there is at least 65 years old. The youngest place in the U.S. is Lexington County, Va., with a median age of 22.4 years.

25 Jun 2016 15:37 #309537 by mapoui

fuh the fus' time in history I see a number in all media even closely relevant to what I assume to be the real numbers of black people in the USA.

and even that 46 millions is like 45/50% of what I think I see of black people/population in the USA. 

the black people I see in the USA  are way too thick and numerous to be reflective of the officially quoted numbers of 12% as part of the population.

I think the real numbers are more 100 million black people... at least a third of the population.

they manipulate the census an' them primarily to fool black men into feelings of minority status and social helplessness.  the census is  manipulated for many reasons of course but one of the most important is to help keep black people under control

25 Jun 2016 15:40 #309538 by mapoui
46 million however is a huge quantity of people anyway...  what the rarse are they waiting on to rise uo and lead america to popular democracy

Time to create page: 0.196 seconds
MaleahNow that Joe Root has 2 centuries in Australia, I assume those Australian fans, who said he couldn’t be classed as great unless he achieved that, will now say he is?? Given that the great Steve Smith has never scored a test ton in Pakistan….(05.01.2026, 12:31)(12:31)0