Green Onions
Ripe Mangoes
Rock Salt
Scotch Bonnet
Onions
Thyme
coconut oil
Tapioca starch
wash and roll tomatoes though boiling water to get the skin off. then chop to make cooking faster.
wash and chop mushrooms. chop onions, green peppers, hot peppers and thyme. crush garlic to get skin off then chop.
in sauce pan put some coconut oil and when hot toss in the garlic to toast brown. then add onions, then green pepper and when fully singed or carmelized put in the rest of the ingredients, leaving on a low heat till all almost fully cooked
then peel the managoes.. as many according to the quantity of sauce you are making..and put them in. for my amount I have used 2 really, really ripe mangoes. they have simmered for 15 minutes till all the juice is off them then take out the seeds.
add as much heat by way of hot peppah one likes. I use the mangoes for the sweet. I will not use cane or any other sugar. the tomatoes give the body and the sour. the mushrooms too as well as flavor
one can the blend the mixture to finalize any lumps that remain. that done back to the heat adding a mixutre of tapioca and water to thicken as one likes.
presto you have a nice BBQ sauce. and of cause one can add and take away from dat as you like
11 Aug 2016 11:34 #317037
Great recipe mate but I would substitute Molasses for Tapioca as a thickening agent . Tapioca starch , corn starch or potato starch has a low flash point and the meat to be barbecued will blacken before the meat is cooked
11 Aug 2016 11:43 #317040
really!! I did not know dat.
I running from sugar yuh see. I cant deal with sucrose and sweet in any form. Mango is the most benign so far. even deh corn and tapioca thickeners is tears but I take my chances
wat about arrow root..same diff ::confused::
ali
08 Oct 2016 14:20 #323465
Maps , I do not care for BBO sauce , Here is a simple marinade that does wonder for chicken or solid fish on a grill .
Kikoman soya sauce, sherry, olive oil , chopped garlic , chopped green onions,. chopped chilli peppers or habanero peppers , Combine all ingredients and taste , Quantities of ingredients is your choice but adjust amounts of Soya sauce for saltiness .
Marianade and cover meat with saran wrap and leave overnight in fridge . Ready for grillin
08 Oct 2016 15:57 #323484
reads perfect. I am going to try that..maybe as early as tomorrow. I will let you know.
well I never have urges to go looking fuh BBQ sauce, doh I like it well enuff. but my daughter loves it and wanted a good sauce..one she was confident of built from the ground up
so I have been working up something along the lines of what i came here with
Watooka
08 Oct 2016 17:47 #323500
kwami drink out the whiskey ...
I had an I-Hop breakfast : it was the worst omelette , ever !
I swear dem drench it in hollandaise sauce
08 Oct 2016 17:56 - 08 Oct 2016 18:32 #323503
man cant you break eggs and slice cheese fuh yuhself ::confused:: not even dat ::confused:: allyuh need is some coconut oil and a fry pan.
if you get one of them good no-stick ones yuh in business..no stick. and it folds easy.
Last edit: 08 Oct 2016 18:32 by mapoui.
Making My Own BBQ Sauce
Time to create page: 0.196 seconds