Brilliant Mo Farah wins 5,000m to achieve ‘double-double’

21 Aug 2016 10:37 #318277 by chairman

GREAT Britain’s Mo Farah won his fourth Olympic gold medal as he became only the second man in history to retain the 5,000m and 10,000m titles.The 33-year-old won yesterday’s 5,000m final in Rio to extend his tally as Britain’s most successful Olympic track and field athlete of all time.
Farah won in 13 minutes 3.30 seconds as Scot Andrew Butchart finished fourth.
“It shows I didn’t just fluke it in London. To do it again is incredible. I can’t believe it,” said Farah.
Farah’s was GB’s 27th gold in Rio and their 65th medal, matching the haul at London 2012.
They surpassed that tally when the women’s 4x400m relay team won bronze shortly after.
Ethiopians Dejen Gebremeske and Hagos Gebrhiwet took turns to set a quick pace in the first half of the race.
Farah moved to the front shortly after the 3,000m mark, taking control of the pace before accelerating to hold on in the final straight.
“I was surprised by the first lap; I thought it was going to be a slow race,” said Farah.
“They had a plan – they wanted to take the sting out of me. But when I hit the front, I wasn’t letting anyone past me.”
Farah finished 0.6secs clear of American Paul Kipkemoi Chelimo, who was disqualified along with fourth-placed Muktar Edris of Ethiopia and Canada’s Mohammed Ahmed in fifth.
Gebrhiwet, who crossed the line in third, won silver, and Bernard Lagat of the United States was promoted from sixth place to bronze.
The disqualifications pushed Butchart, who ran a personal best of 13:08.61, up to fourth.(BBC Sport)

• Casiox
21 Aug 2016 10:41 #318279 by Casiox
What happened with Bolt? Was not he participating in that one?

It's really weird, he would've won instead of that guy, however, congrats to Great Britain, they must be really proud of the guy right now, it is a good feeling to receive a golden medal in your country, especially from the Olympics.

21 Aug 2016 11:21 #318283 by chairman
who said he did?

21 Aug 2016 12:37 #318289 by mapoui

I just checked fuh myself.  he won after all.  great show!  greatest ever.....a triple-peat

21 Aug 2016 12:46 #318290 by mapoui

who is this casio impse..another chinny ::confused::

>:( >:( >:(

• dillinger10
21 Aug 2016 13:02 #318292 by dillinger10

Bolt runs the 100m and 200m. Mo runs the 5000m and 10000m. Why in the world would you think Bolt would beat Mo?  ::confused:: ::confused:: ::confused:: ::confused::

Maximum respect to Mo. He was brilliant. In complete control. The rare double-double. In the conversation with Paavo Nurmi for greatest distance runner ever.

21 Aug 2016 13:04 #318293 by chairman
bolt is great . maybe he can win a marathon :P 8)

• dillinger10
21 Aug 2016 13:12 #318296 by dillinger10
Mo and Bolt hanging up their spikes after this Olympics makes me very sad. Two elite all-time great athletes with an abundance of personality. How can you not be inspired watching them excel and dominate like no other?

21 Aug 2016 13:45 #318297 by mapoui
true..these are 2 great humans here.  athletics will be poorer for their absence.

but who is this village idiot here man ::confused:: ::confused:: ::confused::

I am seriously pissed...no less at myself for taking anything at face value on this board, now that idiot chinny chiny locofighter is cloning all over the place. 

you just don't know who is who any more..and the credibility of any dam thing that is printed here anymore.  there must be fifty handles here now dat is all chin/locofighter.

I hope chairman is aware of the current results of what he has allowed on his board.  he might soon end up by himself in a crowd of chins/locofighters

22 Aug 2016 15:55 #318496 by Nargis
is casiox 8 years old?

Time to create page: 0.212 seconds
MaleahNow that Joe Root has 2 centuries in Australia, I assume those Australian fans, who said he couldn’t be classed as great unless he achieved that, will now say he is?? Given that the great Steve Smith has never scored a test ton in Pakistan….(05.01.2026, 12:31)(12:31)0