Halal foods in NYC Schools

12 Sep 2016 11:57 #320452 by The Captain
NEW YORK (JTA) — Muslim and Jewish students rallied with lawmakers in support of a bill that would provide kosher and halal food options at New York City public schools.

“The cost is limited compared to having a healthy meal, allowing students to eat and to be able to perform,” said State Assemblyman David Weprin, a Democrat, at the Tuesday rally in front of City Hall, according to CBS New York.

One Muslim student spoke of the difficulty of finding food he could eat during lunch.

“It’s definitely very hard to find something you can eat,” he said. “It’s either you pick up peanut butter and jelly or you don’t eat that day.”

Supporters of the bill said that students are not always able to bring homemade lunches that fit their dietary restrictions due to cost and time limitations, CBS reported.

The bill, which is sponsored by State Senator Tony Avella, a Democrat, would provide kosher and halal food options in public schools where at least a quarter of students belong to a religious community with dietary restrictions, according to The Jewish Press.

Currently, there are vegetarian school lunch options, but not kosher or halal ones, according to The NYC Department of Education.

12 Sep 2016 13:03 #320457 by mapoui
you stop beating woman now captain..you turn to food ::confused::

12 Sep 2016 13:05 #320459 by mapoui
I jess leave fuh ah minit and yuh fall right dong into slackness man!

and I not staying if the chairman doh put back up my music posts.  ting doh look too good fuh yu captain.  sorry :( :( :(

• Watooka
12 Sep 2016 13:31 #320464 by Watooka
Is vegetarian food not kosher or halal? Since when?

12 Sep 2016 14:59 #320482 by ketchim
watooka , you eve kill a pumpkin ?  :-\

12 Sep 2016 15:39 #320490 by mapoui
did'nt I see weh captin beat a woman some where ::confused:: ::confused::

wat happen to dat post/thread ::confused::

caption take it dong ::confused::

12 Sep 2016 15:49 #320493 by The Captain
I gave you a good pick on Friday and now you come accusing me beating a woman

where did I do that

12 Sep 2016 15:51 #320495 by ketchim
He lose back what you had him win  ;)

12 Sep 2016 17:16 #320507 by mapoui

sorry captain!  I was wrang.

I looking fuh some organic and halal strip loins to bbq with some nice bbq sauce I make here.  when I get the meat I will email you some.  or you prefer text by smart phone::confused::

no problem

12 Sep 2016 17:19 #320508 by mapoui
I doan lose bck money bwoy.  I go look aftah my belly and my back with win money..den sen' fresh money in deh rarse.

it realy hard fuh me to lose fresh money ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL::

Time to create page: 0.177 seconds
MaleahNow that Joe Root has 2 centuries in Australia, I assume those Australian fans, who said he couldn’t be classed as great unless he achieved that, will now say he is?? Given that the great Steve Smith has never scored a test ton in Pakistan….(05.01.2026, 12:31)(12:31)0