20 Sep 2016 16:00 #321557
Bad vibrations: Your sex toy may be collecting information about you
Published: Sept 20, 2016 12:10 p.m. ET
Here’s a place you probably don’t want Big Brother joining you: your bedroom.
An Illinois woman is suing the company behind her connected vibrator for getting a little too close for comfort. The suit alleges manufacturer Standard Innovation “secretly collect[ed] intimate details about its customers’ use of the We-Vibe†through the accompanying app, which allows users to control the device remotely and customize its features.
According to the lawsuit, the We-Connect app was transmitting information including dates and times of use as well as vibration mode and pattern to the company’s servers along with personally-identifiable email addresses without notifying customers. Although Standard Innovation said in a statement it has not yet been served the lawsuit, the allegations are already rippling through the industry, changing the ways consumers and sex-toy manufacturers look at privacy.
The suit highlights how technology is woven into our lives, with devices from fitness trackers and water bottles to smart refrigerators — and more — capable of logging data on our activities. Now, with even the most personal devices app-enabled, companies and consumers are facing new questions about privacy practices.
OhMiBod, another sex-toy company that offers connected devices, has suspended all data collection while it re-examines its own privacy policies. Co-founder Brian Dunham said OhMiBod has never transmitted data connected to personally-identifiable information like email addresses or names, as We-Vibe has been accused of doing, but the lawsuit still prompted the company to be proactive about its policies.
Watooka
20 Sep 2016 16:01 #321558
by Watooka
I never trusted any of my mistresses. Of course they were collecting information on me.
20 Sep 2016 16:38 #321564
[color=rgb(51, 51, 51)]Smart sex toys have been touted for their use in long-distance relationships, with the ability to be controlled remotely and allow users to share intimate moments across the web. OhMiBod products can even sync with the heartbeat of a user (or a user’s partner) to bring a human connection to the device. Connected apps also allow users to create custom vibrations or make their devices buzz to music they choose.
[/color]
20 Sep 2016 16:49 #321567
Oh maaaan ...soon our dick will becoming extinct !
Better get some mileage in fellahs, before that time come....
lemme duss off meh black book and call up ole gyal fren, dem
hope was not already replaced by dat smart rass Toy ! >
Watooka
20 Sep 2016 17:09 #321575
by Watooka
It won't ever be. What are dem antiman gonna use for satisfaction?
23 Sep 2016 15:21 #321983
Yuh mean the TOY not smart enough to tell antiman the difference??
hahahahahahaha ::LOL:: ...C'mon, man !
Watooka
24 Sep 2016 03:15 #322002
by Watooka
There have been no rebuttal so far. I would call that conclusive.
Bad vibrations: Your sex toy
Time to create page: 0.232 seconds