02 Nov 2016 12:58 #325712
tRINNIDDADY...YOU LIKE MUSIC ::confused::
WAT YUH KNOW ABOUT DIS ONE HERE ::confused:: ::confused::
02 Nov 2016 13:06 #325718
i SEE YOU NOT TOO KEEN ON TALKING AND RAP ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL::
02 Nov 2016 13:12 - 02 Nov 2016 13:22 #325722
man! you see that album. I bought that in 1971 as soon as it came out. i knew some people working at a record warehouse in Agincourt and they got it at discount.
I did not like it..just a couple of tunes. now especially in europe that album is rated as the very greatest music ever recorded.
I gave away that album. now that music is some of my most cherished music.
but I don't feel too bad...I had a lot of company. almost all the music critics did not like it. they have all turned around now and rate it at the top.
over the years the album just grew on me. I wasn't even listening to it. years later it was in my head like it had been planted there from I heard it and grew up into my head and I had to go get it again
Pheeeeeeeeeew. some things eh. 45 years later still relevant..more so than when it was released
Last edit: 02 Nov 2016 13:22 by mapoui.
02 Nov 2016 13:20 #325723
heres a review ...a short one!
Zippo Freelander
July 2, 2015
It's as if the musicians on this record walked into the oldest studio, with instruments left from years ago, and never bothered to clean the thin layer of film off of them before they began recording. There is a misty, murky quality to the sound of this album, in part because Sly would rerecord portions of a song over and over again on the same tape, degrading its quality slightly every time.
Sly was essentially burned out by this point in his career: he was addicted to drugs and no longer as enthusiastic about life as he once was. The sound of this record mirrors his state to a T. There are still socially conscious lyrics, but they're sung through cupped hands, as if he no longer cares if anyone hears them. There are winding organ and guitar lines, moving at their own pace like reptiles in a swamp. Take the new rendition of "Thank You", with its lumbering bass line that resembles in no way its former slap-funk joy. There is the clavinet on "(You Caught Me) Smilin'" that sounds as if it's deflating upon conclusion of the chorus. A drifting wah-wah guitar pervades behind the electric piano on "Family Affair". Everywhere there is a sense of "otherness" to this album. Even the more upbeat numbers such as "Brave and Strong" sound as if they're coming from somewhere indiscernable, behind a curtain that isn't there. A real monument to Sly's genius is that the quality of the songwriting is still evident even through this murkiness.
This album is feral, indifferent, living in its own space and doesn't care if you don't join it. It has already shut itself off from the world. The most you can do is listen from a distance, and what a rewarding experience it is. If there were one album I could choose to listen to for the first time again, this would be it hands down.
02 Nov 2016 13:24 #325725
I had that Genre overflowing in our home in GT.
with 4 girls and 4 boys and both parents, Music was the Food on our Table!
Jazz was right behind !