Trinidadian student awarded one of the world's most prestigious scholarships

24 Nov 2016 12:34 #327559 by chairman
Simone Delzin, of Trinidad & Tobago, is the recipient of the 2017 Commonwealth Caribbean Rhodes Scholarship.

This announcement was made yesterday afternoon at Government House by Peter Goldson, Secretary of the Rhodes Selection Committee, alongside Chairman of the Committee, the Governor General of Barbados, His Excellency Sir Elliott Belgrave.

Delzin, age 22, is currently a student at the University of the West Indies, Cave Hill Campus, pursuing a double-major in Biology and Psychology.

She was selected from among nine other candidates for what is described as the most prestigious post-graduate scholarship in the world.

“Everybody here is so well qualified. There wasn’t one person I could say does not deserve a Rhodes Scholarship. Every single one of the students is phenomenal in their field of work, their service and their sportsmanship… I think it must have been quite a tough decision by the panel – I can’t imagine being in their position having to choose between us.”

The scholar is very much interested in global health and medicine, bioethics, social justice, sustainable agriculture, Caribbean culture and integration and the arts. Delzin also revealed that she has applied to do the Master’s in Medical Anthropology, and afterwards hopefully pursue her PHD at Oxford University in the United Kingdom.

Goldson said that this year’s candidates were all extremely qualified, and he agreed with Sir Elliott’s suggestion to look at awarding two Rhodes Scholarships, rather than just one a year. (TL)
To view more please log in or subscribe to the digital edition.

24 Nov 2016 12:45 #327560 by mapoui
wat so prestigious about a Rhodes.  piss on that. 

what has happened is that one Trinidadians has bee coopted and turned against his own nation

he will never work for and in the interest of Trinidad and the west indies ever again.  he is no an enemy of the west indian people and black people globally.  the Rhodes network will make sure of that.

that bwoy is assured of a 'good' life now..will get the best jobs, the best of everything just by being Rhodes..which he will lost instantly as if he deviates from that corporate course set out for all Rhodes 'scholars'

24 Nov 2016 12:52 #327563 by chairman
i have immediate family rhodes scholarship  and are very progressive people

24 Nov 2016 13:05 #327565 by mapoui

really!!!
good fuh dem!

24 Nov 2016 13:08 #327566 by chairman
so i should have told them to refuse?

24 Nov 2016 15:19 #327575 by mapoui
refuse what..the rhodes ::confused::

why shud you.  its not really your business.  the choice is theirs.  deh cyan do as they see fit.  they have to.

me personally have nutten to do with what they do.  dat is up to them.  I only noting what the Rhodes situation actually is.

were it my son I would recuse myself too.  the decision would be his entirely.

by the way.  they give Rhodes to women too ::confused::

• Alien
24 Nov 2016 20:16 #327576 by Alien

Is this person for real ?

13 Famous Rhodes Women

How Stuff Works recently featured an article listing “13 Famous Rhodes Scholars.” The articled paid tribute to such notable scholars as Bill Clinton, Kris Kristofferson and James William Fulbright, but featured just one woman - Naomi Wolf.

We present an alternative list, to celebrate thirteen famous women Rhodes Scholars. Here, Naomi Wolf is joined by twelve other notable Rhodes women from such diverse fields as politics, journalism, business, law and medicine.   

1. Rachel Maddow

Rachel Maddow is an American television host and political commentator. Since 2008, she has hosted a nightly television show, The Rachel Maddow Show, on MSNBC. In hosting the show, she has established herself as one of the most notable liberal media figures in the United States. In 2012, she published a book, Drift: The Unmooring of American Military Power. As a Rhodes Scholar, she completed a DPhil in politics, studying HIV/AIDS in the context of British and American prisons. She was the first openly gay or lesbian American to win a Rhodes Scholarship.

2. Naomi Wolf

Naomi Wolf is an author and leading spokesperson in the third wave of the feminist movement. She garnered international renown after the publication of her book The Beauty Myth in 1990, and went on to write a number of other books, including Vagina: A New Biography, published in 2012. She has also worked as a political consultant on the presidential campaigns of Bill Clinton (1996) and Al Gore (2000). As a Rhodes Scholar she completed a DPhil in English Literature.

3. Susan Rice

Susan Rice is the National Security Advisor to President Barack Obama. Previously, she held the position of U.S. Ambassador to the United Nations between 2009 and 2013. She is an expert in international relations, peacekeeping security, and, earlier in her career, developed an expertise in African politics: she was appointed as Assistant Secretary of State for African Affairs in 1997, during the Clinton Administration. At Oxford, she earned an MPhil and a DPhil in International Relations.

4. Sylvia Mathews Burwell

Sylvia Mathews Burwell is the director of the White House Office of Management & Budget. Previously, she had been president of the Walmart Foundation, and President of the Global Development Program of the Bill & Melinda Gates Foundation. While at Oxford, she completed a BA in Politics, Philosophy and Economics.

5. Heather Wilson

Heather Wilson is an American politician and educator. She is a former Republican member of the U.S. House of Representatives, representing New Mexico’s 1st district from 1998 to 2009. She was appointed to the U.S. Air Force Academy after graduating from high school, and became the first woman to command basic training and the first woman Vice Wing Commander. After serving in positions in both the federal government and the state of New Mexico, she became the first female veteran elected to a full term in Congress. In 2013, she was selected to be President of the South Dakota School of Mines and Technology. As a Rhodes Scholar, she earned a DPhil in International Relations. 

6. Jennifer Robinson
Jennifer Robinson is an Australian human rights lawyer who acts in free speech and freedom of information cases in British and European courts. She has been a legal advisor for Julian Assange and WikiLeaks since 2010, defending Assange in extradition hearings and advising WikiLeaks throughout ‘Cablegate’ and the Bradley Manning proceedings. She is also Director of Legal Advocacy for the Bertha Foundation. As a Rhodes Scholar, she graduated with a Bachelor of Civil Law and an MPhil in International Public Law.

7. Chrystia Freeland

Chrystia Freeland is a Canadian politician and journalist. She is the author of the New York Times bestseller Plutocrats: The Rise of the New Global Super-Rich and the Fall of Everyone Else, which won the 2013 Lionel Gelber Prize for non-fiction reporting on foreign affairs. In 2013, she left journalism to stand as a candidate for MP in Toronto Centre, and she won with 49 percent of the vote. Previously, she was the managing director and editor of consumer news at Thompson Reuters. As a Rhodes Scholar, she completed a Master of Studies in Slavonic Studies.

8. Bonnie St John

Bonnie St. John is an American leadership consultant, keynote speaker, Olympic medallist and author. After having her leg amputated at the age of five, she won two bronze medals in Paralympic downhill skiing at the 1984 Paralympics in Innsbruck.  She was later appointed by President Bill Clinton as a director for Human Capital Policy on the White House National Economic Council. She has written a number of books, including her most recent bestseller, How Great Women Lead, which she co-authored with her teenage daughter, Darcy. As a Rhodes Scholar, she earned an MLitt in Economics.   

9. Sagarika Ghose         

Sagarika Ghose is an Indian journalist, news anchor and author. Currently, she is the deputy editor and prime time anchor on the news network CNN-IBN. In 2004, she became the first woman to host Question Time India. She has also worked at The Times of India, Outlook magazine and The Indian Express. While at Oxford, she completed a BA and an MPhil in Modern History.

10. Kathleen McLaughlin

Kathleen McLaughlin is an American businesswoman and philanthropist. She was appointed President of the Walmart Foundation in 2013, where she manages the company’s charitable efforts, recorded in excess of $1bn in 2012. Before joining the Walmart Foundation, she worked as a Senior Partner at McKinsey & Company in Toronto, gaining extensive experience in the firm’s Social Innovation Practice and Retail Practice. While at Oxford, she read for a BA in Politics, Philosophy and Economics and was also awarded a diploma in Theology.

11. Nancy-Ann DeParle

Nancy-Ann DeParle is an American lawyer and political operative. She has been a senior advisor in the Obama administration: most recently, she served as the White House Deputy Chief of Staff for Policy between 2011 and 2013. Previously, she served as the director of the White House Office of Health Reform, where she led the administration’s efforts on health care issues, including the passing of the Patient Protection and Affordable Care Act. At Oxford, she earned a BA in Politics, Philosophy and Economics.

12. Leana Wen

Leana Wen is an American physician, patient advocate and writer. Currently, she is an attending physician and Director of Patient-Centered Care Research at the Department of Emergency Medicine at George Washington University. She is the author of the book When Doctors Don’t Listen: How to Avoid Misdiagnoses and Unnecessary Tests, and a regular contributor to the Huffington Post and Psychology Today. She is also the founder of the campaign, Who’s My Doctor, which works toward transparency in medicine. While at Oxford, she was awarded an MSc in Modern Chinese Studies.

13. Elizabeth Kiss

Elizabeth Kiss is an American academic and educator. She is the eighth president of Agnes Scott College, a liberal arts college for women in Atlanta, Georgia. Previously, she was the Nannerl E. Keohane Director of the Kenan Institute for Ethics at Duke University. She specialises in moral and political philosophy and has published on a number of topics, including moral judgement and education, human rights, ethnic conflict and nationalism, and feminist debates about rights and justice. As a Rhodes Scholar, she studied for a BPhil and DPhil in Philosophy. 

• Alien
24 Nov 2016 20:25 #327579 by Alien

FEMALE TRINIDADIAN SIMONE DELZIN has been awarded the Caribbean Rhodes Scholarship for 2016.

The 22-year-old who is pursuing a double major in biology and psychology at the University of the West Indies, Cave Hill, won from a field of nine, which included three other women.

She expected to take up the scholarship at Oxford University where she has applied for the masters in medical anthropology. The programme starts in September 2017.

If anyone has an iota of grey matter they would check out such before commenting . This individual is female .
Note what the poster says she is a male ????

24 Nov 2016 20:41 #327581 by mapoui
ah Yo!  I din know so I arks a question.  who am I god..so I know everything ::confused:: ::confused:: ::confused::

I doh know so I arks.  I am satisfied with yuh ansah.  you did a good job. :)

Time to create page: 0.210 seconds
JulieEngland cricket icon Robin Smith has passed away at the age of 62.(03.12.2025, 20:30)(20:30)0
JulieFormer Jets and Commanders WR Laveranues Coles completed nine months of training at the Jacksonville Sheriff's Office Academy and will officially become an officer after his probationary period ?(02.12.2025, 14:36)(14:36)0
JulieHeartbreaking to hear of the passing of former England cricketer Robin Smith ?

Our thoughts are with his friends and family at this difficult time ?

Rest in peace, Judge ?
(02.12.2025, 12:56)(12:56)0
JulieJUST IN: Andre Russell calls time on his IPL career and will join KKR’s support staff for 2026 ‼️(30.11.2025, 14:06)(14:06)0
TravisShoppers spend billions on Black Friday to snag holiday deals, despite wider economic uncertainty(29.11.2025, 17:11)(17:11)0
TravisSnow, rain and cold in store for some Thanksgiving travelers(29.11.2025, 17:10)(17:10)0
TravisThe pitch at Perth Stadium was rated "very good" despite a two-day finish in the first Ashes Test(29.11.2025, 10:57)(10:57)0
TravisWe are two days out or so from the start of the New Zealand vs West Indies test series.(29.11.2025, 10:51)(10:51)0
TravisPat Cummins did look brilliant in the nets over in Perth but will only be readier for his return come the 3rd Test in Adelaide, which should work perfectly for Australia, especially now that they’re 1-0 up going to the Gabba(29.11.2025, 10:41)(10:41)0
JulieSad news: Thirty minutes ago in Dallas, the family of former Dallas Cowboys icon Drew Pearson, aged 73, unexpectedly announced that he has passed away(29.11.2025, 08:00)(08:00)0
TravisPat Cummins is set to be included in Australia’s squad for the upcoming second Ashes Test against England in Brisbane, according to reports.(28.11.2025, 15:19)(15:19)0
TravisSuspect in shooting of National Guard members now facing a first-degree murder charge(28.11.2025, 14:24)(14:24)0
TravisLake effect snow piles up in Great Lakes region, impacting Thanksgiving travel(28.11.2025, 08:50)(08:50)0
TravisChiefs vs. Cowboys preview Week 13

Perhaps the most perplexing aspect of AT&T Stadium, otherwise known as “Jerry World,” is the glare from the sun that bursts through the windows and shines directly onto the field. Time and time again the glare has impacted players’ visibility during games, yet Jerry Jones refuses to make any changes to account for the sun.

Rather than install curtains, Jones has previously said he feels it’s a home-field advantage to have that type of stadium factor impacting games. Well, the glare ended up benefitting the Chiefs early into Thursday’s Thanksgiving game, as a pass from Dak Prescott to George Pickens fell incomplete, at least in part due to the impact of the sun’s glare.
(27.11.2025, 21:18)(21:18)0
TravisAT&T Stadium Glare Led to Plenty of Comments From NFL Fans During Chiefs-Cowboys(27.11.2025, 21:17)(21:17)0
TravisKittitian allrounder Kunal Tilokani earns U19 call upKittitian allrounder Kunal Tilokani earns U19 call up(27.11.2025, 13:19)(13:19)0
Travis'Wanted them to really grovel' - SA coach Shukri Conrad on keeping India on the field(25.11.2025, 18:29)(18:29)0
JulieHi(25.11.2025, 08:45)(08:45)0
Juliemotie 130 notout guyana 250(25.11.2025, 08:44)(08:44)0
Matthewhi(25.11.2025, 07:00)(07:00)0
Julie19 wickets fall between Aus and Eng and it’s great cricket, 19 wickets fall between W.I and any other country and we should be relegated…the double standards in world cricket.(21.11.2025, 06:40)(06:40)0
Travisketchim?(12.11.2025, 17:40)(17:40)0
Traviskwami?(12.11.2025, 17:40)(17:40)0
Traviswho is this(12.11.2025, 17:39)(17:39)0
AlvinChairmsn, I cant Log in(11.11.2025, 17:16)(17:16)0
SerenaThis batting performance by the West Indies in the second innings blew me away. I kept closing my eyes and then rubbing and opening them again and sat transfixed as I watch that unbelievable partnership between John Campbell and Shai Hope. What a magnificent performance by these two! It just goes to show that patience, determination and effort can go a long way to improve the performances of the West Indies team. Let us hope that this effort by West Indies batsmen would not be a one-off performance, but will be the beginning of a renewed effort to improve the performances of the team, going forward.(13.10.2025, 09:28)(09:28)0
SerenaJohn Campbell breaks a 23-year drought for West Indies openers with a Test hundred in India!

#INDvsWI #INDvWI #JohnCampbell
(13.10.2025, 05:49)(05:49)0
SerenaLet's celebrate that Ind will have to bat again as a notable achievement(13.10.2025, 05:32)(05:32)0
SerenaDefeat in Ahmedabad, we move to Delhi with an aim to the level the series.

#INDvWI | #MenInMaroon
(04.10.2025, 10:38)(10:38)0
Serena? USA Cricket Files for Bankruptcy

The Chapter 11 filing makes it the first known ICC member to declare bankruptcy. ⚡?
(03.10.2025, 12:22)(12:22)0
SerenaA maiden test wicket for Khary Pierre ends a challenging day 2️⃣

#INDvWI
(03.10.2025, 12:15)(12:15)0
SerenaWhy is WI best batter batting at #6 and why is he even keeping wickets in test?(03.10.2025, 07:26)(07:26)0
SerenaGive warrican vice captain on wat basis the man does nothing not even help chase(03.10.2025, 07:10)(07:10)0
SerenaWI waiting for declaration. India most likely will declare if or when both Jurel and Jadeja get to their 100s.(03.10.2025, 05:35)(05:35)0
Kade162 all out : India 121-2 stumps, day1(02.10.2025, 16:00)(16:00)0
Serenaif marriage certificate could get expire like driver's licence a lot of married men will never renew it(27.09.2025, 10:54)(10:54)0
WarrenJameis Winston is asked about being named QB3 on the Giants' roster behind Russell Wilson and Jaxson Dart:

"As a competitor, you want to be the starter. But I prepare to be the starter, I know I'm a starter in this league.

But you have to be able to be grateful for your role...my role right now is to assist Russ and Jaxson to be the best that they can be while preparing to be the best that I can be.

No matter if I'm 3, 33, this is my first year being number 19, so it's always a first for everything.

I focus on what I would love. And what I would love is for this team to have success."
(13.09.2025, 10:58)(10:58)0
Monicae(11.09.2025, 17:03)(17:03)0
RylandLol... Hetmyer. Fell agonizingly short of his century! Just 91 more he needed!(08.09.2025, 05:53)(05:53)0
RylandThe progress of the PPP government should not be judged by the dissenting voices of a few, but by the tangible benefits it has brought to everyone.(02.09.2025, 17:51)(17:51)0
Warren2 firefighters battling Washington state wildfire arrested by Border Patrol(29.08.2025, 10:51)(10:51)0
SalvadorPresident Ali hints at possible Christmas cash grant(27.08.2025, 12:36)(12:36)0
Sierrahi(27.08.2025, 12:07)(12:07)0
SergioWhat food could you eat every day of the week because you love it so much?(25.08.2025, 13:41)(13:41)0
KingsleyIsrael strikes a Gaza hospital twice, killing at least 20, including journalists and rescuers(25.08.2025, 11:27)(11:27)0
KingsleyShubman Gill returns to India's T20I squad as vice-captain for Asia Cup(20.08.2025, 12:54)(12:54)0
KingstonCanada's government forced Air Canada and its striking flight attendants back to work and into arbitration Saturday after a work stoppage stranded more than 100,000 travelers around the world.(16.08.2025, 18:08)(18:08)0
KingsleyGovernment papers found in an Alaskan hotel reveal new details of Trump-Putin summit(16.08.2025, 17:59)(17:59)0
LawrenceI'm confused how a cemetery can raise its funeral prices and blame it on the cost of living. ?(15.08.2025, 07:03)(07:03)0
LawrenceNext up West Indies play Nepal in a 3 match series (T20i), starting on the 27th Sept.(13.08.2025, 13:49)(13:49)0
Gracie