Heritage site for the Merikins and mapoui in T&T

• Alien
01 Dec 2016 16:03 - 02 Dec 2016 19:45 #328108 by Alien
Heritage site for the Merikins
By Clint Chan Tack Wednesday, November 30 2016

GOVERNMENT is actively considering the establishment of a heritage site in South Trinidad for this country’s Merikin community.

This was disclosed by Community Development, Culture and the Arts Minister, Dr Nyan Gadbsy Dolly, as she deputised for Prime Minister Dr Keith Rowley at the National Merikin Community Award and Recognition Ceremony at the Central Bank Auditorium in Port-of-Spain last Thursday night.

The Merikins were Af rican-American refugees of the War of 1812, freed black slaves who fought for the British against the USA in the Corps of Colonial Marines and then, after post-war service in Bermuda, were established as a community in the south of Trinidad in 1815 to 16. “Today the Merikin community is calling on the Government to grant them legal rights to land which they have been occupying for generations,” Gadsby-Dolly told her audience. She then revealed, “ The Prime Minister of TT has asked me to assure you that the Ministry of Rural Development and Local Government is already actively examining this long outstanding request with a view to designating the approximately 6,608 acres of land already earmarked in South Trinidad as a heritage site.” The audience applauded and cheered loudly in response.

Gadsby-Dolly further disclosed that in recognition of the Merikins celebrations and in keeping with Government’s thrust, “to document the history of TT for posterity,” the Prime Minister has requested Public Administration and Communications Minister Maxie Cuffie to collaborate with the Merikin community with the aim of establishing a programme of nationwide education on the history of the Merikins and their overall contribution to national development.

As she highlighted some aspects of the Merikins’ history, Gadsby-Dolly observed that the freeing of these African American slaves could be regarded as an, “isolated and unplanned forerunner to the abolition of slavery.”

• Alien
01 Dec 2016 16:03 #328109 by Alien

The Merikins. America, Trinidad and Canada's forgotten history official documentary

• alexmax
01 Dec 2016 16:09 #328111 by alexmax
is mapoui a merkin

• Alien
01 Dec 2016 21:34 #328138 by Alien

Nah he sounds like a dougla , all mixed up  an angry at the world.

02 Dec 2016 08:15 #328151 by mapoui
mixed up like you eh Alien/Chin/Socafighter..and all the rest of you one :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[ :-[

look at wat you always involve in...bringing to highlight mostly the worst of history......lookin' to regulrize it.

I doh give and eff about Merikin.  they were  for and apparently still with the British.  how did and does that help nig nogs everywhere ::confused::

how does it hurt them ::confused::

now there you go!  but you doh arks dat kinda question do you?

I nevah see you arks a positive question on this here board

I guess merikin exploits must be recorded historically......but I doh see how their history is any kind of positive thing...like what they did being exemplary in the history of the region to feature in our books as guide and good example to follow >:( >:( >:(

02 Dec 2016 08:19 #328152 by mapoui
and I put up a critique of your very limited perspective on supplements on your supplements thread and you nevah say nutten about dat Alien

how come ::confused:: ::confused::

I am going to bring Artemis fuh yuh rarse right here! ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL::

• Alien
02 Dec 2016 09:41 #328155 by Alien

See I told ya , a dougla all mixed up . Now angry at the World and picking on Aliens.

:) :) :)

• Alien
02 Dec 2016 19:44 #328216 by Alien

who is that ? ::confused::

Yea yea yea

Time to create page: 0.166 seconds
MaleahNow that Joe Root has 2 centuries in Australia, I assume those Australian fans, who said he couldn’t be classed as great unless he achieved that, will now say he is?? Given that the great Steve Smith has never scored a test ton in Pakistan….(05.01.2026, 12:31)(12:31)0