Granger admits to lack of foreign investment in Guyana

12 Feb 2017 09:45 #335124 by chairman
President David Granger has admitted that his government has not done well as it relates to
attracting foreign investments. Speaking to reporters at the Ministry of Presidency on Friday, the Head of State admitted that much more needs to be done in this regard.
“We have re-engaged the Chinese and the Canadians in the extractive industry, along with the Russians and the Brazilians.”
Granger said that a resolution in the territorial issue with Venezuela will help in augmenting this process. The President opined that once this issue is dealt with, the populace will see an upsurge in the number of persons and companies that will be at the ready to tap into this field.
Additionally, he said that the recent financial strife that has beset many countries across the world is not helping as well. He noted that China and a number of European countries, who have interest in investing in Guyana, have gone through perilous financial times and this has compounded the issue.
Granger asserted that because of this, there has been a low demand for a number of local commodities and the traditional areas of exports such as sugar, bauxite, timber and rice are becoming less appealing to foreign investors.
Granger noted also that sugar and rice are high priced and it is doubtful that new investors will be clamouring at the government’s door to invest in these fields. Further, the Head of State pointed to the fact that bauxite and timber are in low demand since the current crops of potential investors are looking for new, non-traditional fields.
Towards this end, he said that the country has to look at different areas to attract direct foreign investments. He believes that Guyana as a whole needs to recognize that we can no longer depend on the traditional sectors which are becoming less viable. He said that the sugar industry is in dire straits at the moment, and this will not be an attraction to persons who may have an interest in that sector. He stated that if resources continue to be ploughed into these areas this will not be investing wisely.
It is against this backdrop that he suggests that eco tourism is the new frontier that the country should be looking at to attract foreign investors. Granger believes that there is enormous potential in this area that can be tapped into.
The Head of State is also of the view that once investors are made aware of the potential financial benefits that can be gleaned, they will find it as an attractive option.
For this reason, the President believes that aggressive marketing of this sector will bring about a change and Guyana will start to see an upsurge in foreign investors that may want to invest here. That aside, the Head of State said that the administration is currently looking at engaging a number of potential investors to invest in various fields in Guyana.
kaiteurnews.com

12 Feb 2017 12:29 #335171 by mapoui
invest in BG ::confused::

who in deh right mind wud ::confused::

who knows if in ten years BG wud be BG ::confused::

Radonski in Venezuela might win and go take BG..which they americans wud let him.  wud he respect any forrin investment ::confused::

and any skunt  cud look at BG and see there dangerous trouble ahead.  the Indos want to full up BG with Indos from India... and the nig nogs will not open up BG to west indian immigration with proper development plans and ways to finance such development.

not only dat if deh open up to west indian migration west indian imigrants wud walk with a lot of money to invest.

like me alone..if I saw tings seriously set up and taking off. I wud pump in at least 100k Canadian to start with..like quarter of a mil in 5 years if things go right.

China have trillions to spend on things like this but deh doh throw money into bad things.  deh have to see BG serious, solid plans etc.  then they would give good loans at solid mutually beneficial rates and conditions.

the chinese are all about infrastructure.  deh wud pump  a few hundred million usd into BG....IF DEH WERE SERIOUS

12 Feb 2017 12:33 #335172 by chairman
uSA claims that they would defend guyana

12 Feb 2017 12:36 #335173 by mapoui

FROM WHOM..DEMSELVES ::confused::

they are the enemy..will deh fight demselves

12 Feb 2017 12:39 #335174 by chairman
Dear Editor,
I WAS a very vocal supporter for “change” in Guyana, which I saw was needed upon my return to my beloved land in 2010.I believed then that the PPP/C government was the worst example and leadership and competence ever displayed in the Region and as an admirer of the late Dr Cheddi Jagan, I saw the new party’s leadership as a betrayal of his legacy. For many of us it was a dream to see change in leadership. I have always viewed extremely long periods of power by one political party as never a good thing for a country and Guyana saw numerous examples of this from the PNC and PPP.
While I was optimistic for change and willing to give a coalition Gov’t a chance, despite my concerns of the same players reincarnated, I thought it was the best opportunity my country had. Fast forward 18 months, and I am convinced that this coalition is determined to be a one-term government and are practically laying out the red carpet for return to power for the disastrous Bharrat Jagdeo and company.
Starting with the 50 % catastrophic increase in salaries for ministers for which the justification used was to “dissuade corruption” was the first sign that not much had changed. In that short space of time, the APNU coalition has miraculously and unquestionably alienated its base of once ardent supporters, including the many Indo-Guyanese supporters who were tired of the inept and corrupt PPP/C and wanted change as well.
Today, every citizen is feeling the brunt of heavier taxes on every and all things under the sun, an ill-advised and possible corrupt parking meter system for Georgetown that is fraught with a number of issues and unintended consequences, including for a fragile business community, a significant reduction of small business investments, a shrinkage of economy which we are continuously told was inflated because of the rampant drug trade that flourished under the PPP/C resulting in a surplus of dirty money circulating, these and just of the few complaints that one will hear from the average citizen of every colour in Guyana.
Editor, each day that passes we see more evidence that President Granger, while truly a decent and noble public servant, is NOT the transformative leader hoped for and is leading a team of inept and out-of-touch with some possibly corrupt ministers. All of this, plus the broken promise of bringing to the halls of justice, the people who abused this country under the PPP/C for the past 22 years with Bharat Jagdeo as the principal, is now looking to be a non-reality and it is now my belief that the APNU does want to create a precedent which may come back to haunt them if they themselves are questioned for accountability or abuse.
So now as I look around the world, we see example after example of great democracies shifting from one side to the other due to the voice of the disenfranchised and the forgotten proclaiming enough is enough. We now see the shocking and unpredicted exit of the UK from EU (famously coined BREXIT), to the arrival of Donald Trump and the theme is always the same…”when you forget the people, someone will eventually have to pay”.
Editor, I must ask these questions: Are our leaders looking at what is going on around them in the world? Are there any lessons to be learned?
After 18 months I must conclude that our leaders do not have a clue nor do they see the writing on the wall and we as Guyanese must decide if we can continue down this path.
I beckon to all my fellow Guyanese that we MUST look at a future that does not include the PPP or PNC and perhaps decide that the time has come to change things radically, a time for a different political mindset. I believe in my heart that Guyana needs its own version of candidate Trump to harken in a new era in Guyanese politics, a leader that does what he says and takes no prisoners, one to shake up the establishment and cares less about being politically correct and who loves his country and puts it first…this I believe is the direction our country needs to take and we must take or forever lose our country and rightful place in the league of exemplary nations for which we are truly capable.
Editor, we MUST banish mediocre leadership and join the rest of the world that say NO to politicians and leadership who do not have our best interests at heart.
Sincerely,
Tony Persaud

12 Feb 2017 12:40 #335175 by chairman
many are now against granger and his coalition

12 Feb 2017 12:49 #335177 by chairman
After 18 months I must conclude that our leaders do not have a clue nor do they see the writing on the wall and we as Guyanese must decide if we can continue down this path.

12 Feb 2017 13:04 #335180 by chairman
OVER the past week, the Internet has been rife with discussion surrounding the release and subsequent distribution of a number of videos vividly displaying students from various high schools engaging in sexual acts. Dubbed the “sexual act challenge,” the videos all seem to have been recorded on school premises, while the children are in uniform. The circulation of these videos has further sparked widespread outrage on several grounds from members of the public. There is first, the shock at the content itself: minors indulging in sex and doing so in a manner that clearly identifies them. Second, there is outrage at the spread of the videos, as hundreds of persons have taken to sharing them for reasons ranging from shock, to disdain or unfortunately, amusement.
Much of the discussions surrounding the matter involves the blame game: who or what is responsible for this type of behaviour? Many fingers point to the “new generation” and their disregard for morals and values that should have been taught them. Others believe that there is a lack of discipline in the homes, while others believe that the school system is what is failing these children.
But a fair assessment would point to technology and the dark side that follows, along with all its greatness. In this age, our children are born into the world of computers. In fact, tablets and smart phones are devices made available to children at such a young age, that there are toddlers who know to download and navigate apps and games before even learning to read.
This is the world in which we live. Hand in hand with technology, goes the Internet– that vast space of infinite information. This magnificent pair therefore provides us all with one thing: exposure — to knowledge; to good; to bad; to everything.
A 2014 survey by Time.com revealed that the average young person spends over seven hours a day on media devices, all of which are connected to the Internet. The Internet, in turn, provides uninhibited access to websites, movies, music videos and apps that portray gross sexual content and messages. The reality of the situation is that upon entry into even the tiniest corner of the Internet, a person gains access to the world.
The other side of the coin is that, even without the Internet, young people’s knowledge about sexual activity is no less limited. In fact, discussions on this series of events sparked comments that these acts have been occurring for years, and that today’s version in video form and social media popularity is simply an evolution brought on by technology.
On a side note, that the callous way in which the situation was handled by adults which resulted in the pandemic spread of these videos — despite the fact that the acts involved minors which therefore required their protection — is yet another shameful result of Internet culture and a lack of boundaries.
But exposure to the Internet makes it impossible to assess exactly how much children learn from each other, both in person and online. But this exposure does not come with advice on how to deal with these elements. Our children are exposed — to the point of overexposure — and we must now meet them halfway by ensuring that the knowledge and wisdom we instil in them are just as evolved as the technological world they now explore.
It means that sex education must be upgraded — at home and in schools. Studies show that Sex Ed is not being taught enough in schools and for those schools that do have it on their syllabus, many students have already been privy to sex and sexual activities by the time they are actually taught. So consideration should be given as to when the introduction of Sex Ed is made. Parents, of course, need to talk to their children and move away from the misconception that they are “too young” to deal with certain things. If “too young” does not qualify for their entry into the wide, wide world of the Internet, then it should not qualify for instilling knowledge in them about the things that the Internet introduces them to.
Sex Ed must also now evolve to even incorporate social media culture; advice on online dating etiquette; cyber bullying; catphishing and various tech-related features that could very well cause an explosion of disrepute in the manner that we see all too often. As one member of the public said within one of the discussions, “We make our children, we do not make their minds,” but we must prepare their minds to make healthy decisions. Once they enter into the world, they are on their own, and it is the knowledge that is instilled in them, that will guide the decisions they make.

12 Feb 2017 13:04 #335181 by chairman
these children are not interested in school. how will guyana develop

12 Feb 2017 13:08 #335183 by chairman
THE meeting between the Georgetown Mayor and City Council and President David Granger and members of his Cabinet, on Wednesday, 8th February could not be timelier. With central Government taking a decision to have an input into the conflict surrounding the parking meter system, which has been escalating since last year, ought to bring about the needed calm in the society and hopefully a resolution to the mutual satisfaction of those involved and affected.There is nothing that is wrong with Guyana that cannot be made right by Guyanese, and this is not being idealistic, but pragmatic. This land belongs to all of us and every Guyanese should have an interest in its prosperity and the people’s peaceful co-existence, irrespective of which party is in government— central, regional and local.
Mayor Patricia Chase-Green, after leaving the meeting on Wednesday evening, said that within 72-hours, i.e. by Saturday evening, consultation on a way forward would begin. This progressive step — though some may be skeptical or ask, “why wasn’t this done in the first place”– must be given a chance to bear positive results. In our contentious politics, there is more than enough blame to go around, but finger-pointing does not bring solutions, it exacerbates conflicts. Guyanese are capable of rising to the occasion of achieving solutions.
Though it is not lost on those following this issue that there exists overt opposition political undercurrent in the daily protests, it should not be allowed to consume or torpedo genuine concerns about the meter system. Placards such as “kick them out” and “welcome to 1968 and 1973,” should be recognised in the context as persons enjoying the right to freedom of expression, and a positive development in the society. The politically astute should see such placards as opportunity presented to promote an agenda and not the rationale to not engage with those who seek engagement.
The meter conflict is another lesson for this nation and how it is resolved will be another defining moment for the City Council. The Council should also be mindful that the less than respectful approach it has taken in dealing with the vendors, it has earned the ire of the citizenry, and clearly from the daily protests, has lost their confidence and respect. At the same time, it cannot be lost sight of that the vendors’ issues which are yet to be settled in an atmosphere of mutual respect, observers, including the vendors, will be watching on as to how the meter conflict will be handled.
Thus far, the Council has treated stakeholders in both groups, may it be said of different classes, the same way. Now that it is moving to engage stakeholders on the parking meters, it should recognise that vendors will be expecting similar treatment. Irrespective of class or other diversity, no group in Guyana must take away the feeling of inequity in treatment. In seeking to build this nation that belongs to all of us equality, justice, and fair play must be the ever-guiding convictions.
This state-owned newspaper is rooting for the success of the society as the City Council proceeds to have consultation with stakeholders. Minister of Communities, Ronald Bulkhan, who has responsibility for local government, on Tuesday said his ministry is open to dialogue on the parking meters. The President’s meeting with the City Council and the statement of the mayor on leaving that meeting confirm the seriousness of Minister Bulkan’s statement.

Time to create page: 0.344 seconds
JulieEngland cricket icon Robin Smith has passed away at the age of 62.(03.12.2025, 20:30)(20:30)0
JulieFormer Jets and Commanders WR Laveranues Coles completed nine months of training at the Jacksonville Sheriff's Office Academy and will officially become an officer after his probationary period ?(02.12.2025, 14:36)(14:36)0
JulieHeartbreaking to hear of the passing of former England cricketer Robin Smith ?

Our thoughts are with his friends and family at this difficult time ?

Rest in peace, Judge ?
(02.12.2025, 12:56)(12:56)0
JulieJUST IN: Andre Russell calls time on his IPL career and will join KKR’s support staff for 2026 ‼️(30.11.2025, 14:06)(14:06)0
TravisShoppers spend billions on Black Friday to snag holiday deals, despite wider economic uncertainty(29.11.2025, 17:11)(17:11)0
TravisSnow, rain and cold in store for some Thanksgiving travelers(29.11.2025, 17:10)(17:10)0
TravisThe pitch at Perth Stadium was rated "very good" despite a two-day finish in the first Ashes Test(29.11.2025, 10:57)(10:57)0
TravisWe are two days out or so from the start of the New Zealand vs West Indies test series.(29.11.2025, 10:51)(10:51)0
TravisPat Cummins did look brilliant in the nets over in Perth but will only be readier for his return come the 3rd Test in Adelaide, which should work perfectly for Australia, especially now that they’re 1-0 up going to the Gabba(29.11.2025, 10:41)(10:41)0
JulieSad news: Thirty minutes ago in Dallas, the family of former Dallas Cowboys icon Drew Pearson, aged 73, unexpectedly announced that he has passed away(29.11.2025, 08:00)(08:00)0
TravisPat Cummins is set to be included in Australia’s squad for the upcoming second Ashes Test against England in Brisbane, according to reports.(28.11.2025, 15:19)(15:19)0
TravisSuspect in shooting of National Guard members now facing a first-degree murder charge(28.11.2025, 14:24)(14:24)0
TravisLake effect snow piles up in Great Lakes region, impacting Thanksgiving travel(28.11.2025, 08:50)(08:50)0
TravisChiefs vs. Cowboys preview Week 13

Perhaps the most perplexing aspect of AT&T Stadium, otherwise known as “Jerry World,” is the glare from the sun that bursts through the windows and shines directly onto the field. Time and time again the glare has impacted players’ visibility during games, yet Jerry Jones refuses to make any changes to account for the sun.

Rather than install curtains, Jones has previously said he feels it’s a home-field advantage to have that type of stadium factor impacting games. Well, the glare ended up benefitting the Chiefs early into Thursday’s Thanksgiving game, as a pass from Dak Prescott to George Pickens fell incomplete, at least in part due to the impact of the sun’s glare.
(27.11.2025, 21:18)(21:18)0
TravisAT&T Stadium Glare Led to Plenty of Comments From NFL Fans During Chiefs-Cowboys(27.11.2025, 21:17)(21:17)0
TravisKittitian allrounder Kunal Tilokani earns U19 call upKittitian allrounder Kunal Tilokani earns U19 call up(27.11.2025, 13:19)(13:19)0
Travis'Wanted them to really grovel' - SA coach Shukri Conrad on keeping India on the field(25.11.2025, 18:29)(18:29)0
JulieHi(25.11.2025, 08:45)(08:45)0
Juliemotie 130 notout guyana 250(25.11.2025, 08:44)(08:44)0
Matthewhi(25.11.2025, 07:00)(07:00)0
Julie19 wickets fall between Aus and Eng and it’s great cricket, 19 wickets fall between W.I and any other country and we should be relegated…the double standards in world cricket.(21.11.2025, 06:40)(06:40)0
Travisketchim?(12.11.2025, 17:40)(17:40)0
Traviskwami?(12.11.2025, 17:40)(17:40)0
Traviswho is this(12.11.2025, 17:39)(17:39)0
AlvinChairmsn, I cant Log in(11.11.2025, 17:16)(17:16)0
SerenaThis batting performance by the West Indies in the second innings blew me away. I kept closing my eyes and then rubbing and opening them again and sat transfixed as I watch that unbelievable partnership between John Campbell and Shai Hope. What a magnificent performance by these two! It just goes to show that patience, determination and effort can go a long way to improve the performances of the West Indies team. Let us hope that this effort by West Indies batsmen would not be a one-off performance, but will be the beginning of a renewed effort to improve the performances of the team, going forward.(13.10.2025, 09:28)(09:28)0
SerenaJohn Campbell breaks a 23-year drought for West Indies openers with a Test hundred in India!

#INDvsWI #INDvWI #JohnCampbell
(13.10.2025, 05:49)(05:49)0
SerenaLet's celebrate that Ind will have to bat again as a notable achievement(13.10.2025, 05:32)(05:32)0
SerenaDefeat in Ahmedabad, we move to Delhi with an aim to the level the series.

#INDvWI | #MenInMaroon
(04.10.2025, 10:38)(10:38)0
Serena? USA Cricket Files for Bankruptcy

The Chapter 11 filing makes it the first known ICC member to declare bankruptcy. ⚡?
(03.10.2025, 12:22)(12:22)0
SerenaA maiden test wicket for Khary Pierre ends a challenging day 2️⃣

#INDvWI
(03.10.2025, 12:15)(12:15)0
SerenaWhy is WI best batter batting at #6 and why is he even keeping wickets in test?(03.10.2025, 07:26)(07:26)0
SerenaGive warrican vice captain on wat basis the man does nothing not even help chase(03.10.2025, 07:10)(07:10)0
SerenaWI waiting for declaration. India most likely will declare if or when both Jurel and Jadeja get to their 100s.(03.10.2025, 05:35)(05:35)0
Kade162 all out : India 121-2 stumps, day1(02.10.2025, 16:00)(16:00)0
Serenaif marriage certificate could get expire like driver's licence a lot of married men will never renew it(27.09.2025, 10:54)(10:54)0
WarrenJameis Winston is asked about being named QB3 on the Giants' roster behind Russell Wilson and Jaxson Dart:

"As a competitor, you want to be the starter. But I prepare to be the starter, I know I'm a starter in this league.

But you have to be able to be grateful for your role...my role right now is to assist Russ and Jaxson to be the best that they can be while preparing to be the best that I can be.

No matter if I'm 3, 33, this is my first year being number 19, so it's always a first for everything.

I focus on what I would love. And what I would love is for this team to have success."
(13.09.2025, 10:58)(10:58)0
Monicae(11.09.2025, 17:03)(17:03)0
RylandLol... Hetmyer. Fell agonizingly short of his century! Just 91 more he needed!(08.09.2025, 05:53)(05:53)0
RylandThe progress of the PPP government should not be judged by the dissenting voices of a few, but by the tangible benefits it has brought to everyone.(02.09.2025, 17:51)(17:51)0
Warren2 firefighters battling Washington state wildfire arrested by Border Patrol(29.08.2025, 10:51)(10:51)0
SalvadorPresident Ali hints at possible Christmas cash grant(27.08.2025, 12:36)(12:36)0
Sierrahi(27.08.2025, 12:07)(12:07)0
SergioWhat food could you eat every day of the week because you love it so much?(25.08.2025, 13:41)(13:41)0
KingsleyIsrael strikes a Gaza hospital twice, killing at least 20, including journalists and rescuers(25.08.2025, 11:27)(11:27)0
KingsleyShubman Gill returns to India's T20I squad as vice-captain for Asia Cup(20.08.2025, 12:54)(12:54)0
KingstonCanada's government forced Air Canada and its striking flight attendants back to work and into arbitration Saturday after a work stoppage stranded more than 100,000 travelers around the world.(16.08.2025, 18:08)(18:08)0
KingsleyGovernment papers found in an Alaskan hotel reveal new details of Trump-Putin summit(16.08.2025, 17:59)(17:59)0
LawrenceI'm confused how a cemetery can raise its funeral prices and blame it on the cost of living. ?(15.08.2025, 07:03)(07:03)0
LawrenceNext up West Indies play Nepal in a 3 match series (T20i), starting on the 27th Sept.(13.08.2025, 13:49)(13:49)0
Kyle