19 May 2017 12:06 #341856
Seventy-two years ago, a love letter that was meant to be delivered to a sailor
based in Trinidad got lost. It has now been delivered to the rightful owner.
19 May 2017 12:07 #341858
The letter, postmarked May 1945, was written by a woman named Virginia
to her husband, Rolf Christoffersen, who was a sailor at the time in the
Norwegian Navy based in
Chaguaramas, Trinidad and Tobago..
19 May 2017 12:08 #341859
Melissa Fahy and her father found the letter in a gap under the stairs
while renovating her Westfield, New Jersey home..
They decided to try reaching out to the family and got into contact with the son
of Christoffersen who lives in California and sent it to them who was shocked
that Fahy reached out to them
19 May 2017 12:29 #341861
The son read the letter to his 96-year-old father.
Virginia died six years ago this weekend.
Virginia wrote: “I love you Rolf, as I love the warm sun, and that is what you are
to my life, the sun about which everything else revolves for me.â€
19 May 2017 12:32 #341862
“In a way, I guess it’s his wife coming back and making her memory alive again,â€
Fahy said, she also said she though it was so sweet and admired the love
Virginia had for her husband.
19 May 2017 12:33 #341863
"It's Mother's Day and reading her words reminded me just what a wonderful
person she was and how much she loved us"
her son said, through tears..
19 May 2017 12:36 #341864
fahy is tricky white people.....business people.
deh lef' tricky and went to the states..house an lna' an' ting eh :
good fuh dem