23 Jul 2017 16:37 #346959
(Trinidad Guardian) When the new school term opens in September, all sugary drinks including soft drinks will be banned from schools across the country. Health Minister Terrence Deyalsingh said the move was aimed at converting schools to healthy zones.
Deyalsingh was speaking to the media after addressing attendees at a one-week residential camp hosted by the Diabetes Association of T&T at the Preysal Secondary School yesterday. President Anthony Carmona and his wife, Reema Carmona, also attended the event, where she delivered the feature address.
“We have to recognise that we have a crisis on our hands when it comes to juvenile diabetes and childhood obesity, one of the drivers of that is an unhealthy lifestyle,†Deyalsingh said.
23 Jul 2017 16:56 #346963
the situation had to reach crisis before they act. and what they are doin' is only a little...is it too late ::confused::
Observer
23 Jul 2017 22:17 #346965
by Observer
Is it solely the sugary drinks that are causing the high rate of diabetes? Has there any studies that may have been done to confirm this theory? I am not discounting that the abundance of sugary drinks may be the cause for the high level of diabetes in children. What I am concerned with is that it's better to be sure if it's the sugary drinks alone that may be the cause of problem or that there may be other factors which may also contributing to the problem.
23 Jul 2017 22:38 #346966
::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL::
::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL::
::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL::
let me stop laffing eh. mih fingah tired ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL::