10-Year-Old Boy Falls Over Railing at Niagara Falls

17 Oct 2017 08:31 #352511 by chairman
One family's dream vacation at Niagara Falls turned into a nightmare this weekend when a 10-year-old boy toppled over a railing and fell into a gorge. Police say the boy was on the Canadian side of the falls when his family decided to take a picture of Horseshoe Falls, the largest of the three falls composing Niagara Falls. He was sitting on the railing having his picture taken by his mother when he apparently lost his balance, fell over the railing, and fell 100 feet, injuring his head, the BBC reports.

17 Oct 2017 08:32 #352512 by chairman
Police say they were called to the scene at about 4:34pm, the Buffalo News reports. Members of the Niagara Falls Fire Department, Niagara Parks Police High Angle River Team, and Niagara Emergency Medical Service were able to stabilize the boy so he could be taken by helicopter to McMaster Children's hospital in nearby Hamilton, Ontario. The boy's injuries were originally considered life-threatening, but the hospital later changed his condition to serious but stable.

• BORA AND PORK
17 Oct 2017 08:55 #352514 by BORA AND PORK
What kind of idiot mother would allow her 10yr. old son to sit on a railing beside the Niagara Falls?

17 Oct 2017 09:44 #352518 by mapoui
dat has always enraged me about Canada...what I call a cavalier attitude to raising children, as if there is no danger in the world.

parents do not teach children to be careful at all. and children are always joking around in impossibly stupid ways in the teeth of danger.

and I saw black west indian women who came out of a different more concerned and smarter culture when it came to personal safety adopting the same stupidity, as if it is the right way with their own children

I used to warn my wife about that with the children. do not play the arse with the children like those dumb Canadians and jackass west indian black women who think they have arrived, when they let their children run carefree, unawares in the teeth of danger

I get to the board this mawnin' an dat is the fus' ting I see, top of the list, and immediately I get pissed, angry. I hope this does not set the tone of my day. look at wat that stupidity caused...irreparable damage. will she be hurt and remorseful?

they way those people have been conditioned she is likely beyond understanding of the simplicity upon which life is built, and successful so far..the collective cultural observance and behavioral responses to obvious reality that save lives all the phucking time, makes for efficient use of time and resources, maxes happiness, builds confidence, eliminates sorrow and stupidity.

I hate phucking stupidity! I get enraged when I see stupidity..incredible avoidable stupidity.........:woohoo: :woohoo: :woohoo:

17 Oct 2017 10:20 #352519 by mapoui
look at this here! I was looking for the Tobago thread to comment but it all ties in with this nonsense here:

I don't like to travel around the west indies for many reasons...this road from the st vincent airport is one reason. look at the road, long, winding hillside with no railing at all. it is utterly dangerous. many lives have been lost, are lost over roads like those.

and that st vincent road is mild compared to some in Trinidad, Tobago in particular. Tobago's roads into the countryside used to chill my soul. oh my god. vehicles go over all the time and the people take it in stride, continue to drive over them as if its absolutely normal. and the phucking governments..the members of do not live there. they live in big houses in safe places almost all the time, focused on the 'big show projects they can make to get votes, leaving the people to their ever present dangers all the time

when were those roads built..who built them originally..the colonialists?

that would make sense. they did not care about Black lives. but who paved the roads, who improved them to pitch? cud they not have widened them at the same time and put in railings so people do not go over?

if not why phucking not!!!!!! were they not thinking of the people at all?

what about the Trinidad government with all that money. they could easily build proper railings along those utterly dangerous roads in Tobago and in the interior and coasts of Trinidad...just like the government of St Vincent cud have and can do the same on that airport road.

that unconcern about obvious things that must be done to ensure simple safety I don't understand. I argue that west indian society is aware of and incorporates simply and effective responses to ensure personal safety unlike north americans:

BUT IT IS NOT A COMPLETE THING AS WE CAN SEE FROM OUR ATTITUDE TO OUR ROADS FOR ONE THING.

A LOT OF THE ROADS ARE UTTERLY DANGEROUS AND WE PAY NO ATTENTION TO THEM, ABOUT CORRECTING THEIR DANGERS ALTHOUGH WE HAVE THE RESOURCES TO DO SO... ALTHOUGH SUCH CORRECTION SHOULD BE OF FIRST CONSIDERATION FOR THE LIVES THESE ROADS CONSUME ALL THE TIME

I am a person who cannot deal with heights at all..from the minit I knew myself. that is one reason for my anger on this issue...it is also personal. wherever I traveled in the west indies I found roads up in the air totally unprotected and utterly dangerous for the traffic on them.

I am loath to travel again for that reason. I love Tobago but Tobago is very hilly, high hills and dangerous roads. I cant deal with that at all. impossible!

but maybe they have corrected that problem..its 20 years the last time I was there

17 Oct 2017 10:22 #352520 by mapoui
now let me see if I can save my day....

let me get into some music to start with....Ne-yo to start with. the sun is shining so I am out soon too. on flat roads. no heights today

• David
17 Oct 2017 10:51 #352527 by David
I noticed that when we went to the Grand Canyon a few years back. A family with a toddler was letting him walk all over by himself and the edge was just a few feet away! They didn't like it when I pointed out the danger and acted like I should mind my business!

17 Oct 2017 14:25 #352564 by mapoui
thats right David...mind yuh own business!

I imagine you are dark skin...so who are you to talk to anyone at all about how they do things.
I pay no attention if I cant move away when I see things like that...a tragedy that can happen right there by
what the stupid people do..who think they are better than you.

I move far away, get away altogether. such stupidity makes me angry and unhappy, upsets my day and time. I don't even want to read about them. I don't want such info in my head upsetting me. it pisses me off when I come to this board and run into such reports, colliding with the very thing I am trying to avoid outside.

which is why I am into such sweet tunes all day..to keep a good mood.

17 Oct 2017 15:43 #352567 by chairman
i was on a boat in a bay. i am there to relax and have a rum punch but some kids were hanging on the rails and no parents around. i was so scared for them.

Time to create page: 0.185 seconds
JulieEngland cricket icon Robin Smith has passed away at the age of 62.(03.12.2025, 20:30)(20:30)0
JulieFormer Jets and Commanders WR Laveranues Coles completed nine months of training at the Jacksonville Sheriff's Office Academy and will officially become an officer after his probationary period ?(02.12.2025, 14:36)(14:36)0
JulieHeartbreaking to hear of the passing of former England cricketer Robin Smith ?

Our thoughts are with his friends and family at this difficult time ?

Rest in peace, Judge ?
(02.12.2025, 12:56)(12:56)0
JulieJUST IN: Andre Russell calls time on his IPL career and will join KKR’s support staff for 2026 ‼️(30.11.2025, 14:06)(14:06)0
TravisShoppers spend billions on Black Friday to snag holiday deals, despite wider economic uncertainty(29.11.2025, 17:11)(17:11)0
TravisSnow, rain and cold in store for some Thanksgiving travelers(29.11.2025, 17:10)(17:10)0
TravisThe pitch at Perth Stadium was rated "very good" despite a two-day finish in the first Ashes Test(29.11.2025, 10:57)(10:57)0
TravisWe are two days out or so from the start of the New Zealand vs West Indies test series.(29.11.2025, 10:51)(10:51)0
TravisPat Cummins did look brilliant in the nets over in Perth but will only be readier for his return come the 3rd Test in Adelaide, which should work perfectly for Australia, especially now that they’re 1-0 up going to the Gabba(29.11.2025, 10:41)(10:41)0
JulieSad news: Thirty minutes ago in Dallas, the family of former Dallas Cowboys icon Drew Pearson, aged 73, unexpectedly announced that he has passed away(29.11.2025, 08:00)(08:00)0
TravisPat Cummins is set to be included in Australia’s squad for the upcoming second Ashes Test against England in Brisbane, according to reports.(28.11.2025, 15:19)(15:19)0
TravisSuspect in shooting of National Guard members now facing a first-degree murder charge(28.11.2025, 14:24)(14:24)0
TravisLake effect snow piles up in Great Lakes region, impacting Thanksgiving travel(28.11.2025, 08:50)(08:50)0
TravisChiefs vs. Cowboys preview Week 13

Perhaps the most perplexing aspect of AT&T Stadium, otherwise known as “Jerry World,” is the glare from the sun that bursts through the windows and shines directly onto the field. Time and time again the glare has impacted players’ visibility during games, yet Jerry Jones refuses to make any changes to account for the sun.

Rather than install curtains, Jones has previously said he feels it’s a home-field advantage to have that type of stadium factor impacting games. Well, the glare ended up benefitting the Chiefs early into Thursday’s Thanksgiving game, as a pass from Dak Prescott to George Pickens fell incomplete, at least in part due to the impact of the sun’s glare.
(27.11.2025, 21:18)(21:18)0
TravisAT&T Stadium Glare Led to Plenty of Comments From NFL Fans During Chiefs-Cowboys(27.11.2025, 21:17)(21:17)0
TravisKittitian allrounder Kunal Tilokani earns U19 call upKittitian allrounder Kunal Tilokani earns U19 call up(27.11.2025, 13:19)(13:19)0
Travis'Wanted them to really grovel' - SA coach Shukri Conrad on keeping India on the field(25.11.2025, 18:29)(18:29)0
JulieHi(25.11.2025, 08:45)(08:45)0
Juliemotie 130 notout guyana 250(25.11.2025, 08:44)(08:44)0
Matthewhi(25.11.2025, 07:00)(07:00)0
Julie19 wickets fall between Aus and Eng and it’s great cricket, 19 wickets fall between W.I and any other country and we should be relegated…the double standards in world cricket.(21.11.2025, 06:40)(06:40)0
Travisketchim?(12.11.2025, 17:40)(17:40)0
Traviskwami?(12.11.2025, 17:40)(17:40)0
Traviswho is this(12.11.2025, 17:39)(17:39)0
AlvinChairmsn, I cant Log in(11.11.2025, 17:16)(17:16)0
SerenaThis batting performance by the West Indies in the second innings blew me away. I kept closing my eyes and then rubbing and opening them again and sat transfixed as I watch that unbelievable partnership between John Campbell and Shai Hope. What a magnificent performance by these two! It just goes to show that patience, determination and effort can go a long way to improve the performances of the West Indies team. Let us hope that this effort by West Indies batsmen would not be a one-off performance, but will be the beginning of a renewed effort to improve the performances of the team, going forward.(13.10.2025, 09:28)(09:28)0
SerenaJohn Campbell breaks a 23-year drought for West Indies openers with a Test hundred in India!

#INDvsWI #INDvWI #JohnCampbell
(13.10.2025, 05:49)(05:49)0
SerenaLet's celebrate that Ind will have to bat again as a notable achievement(13.10.2025, 05:32)(05:32)0
SerenaDefeat in Ahmedabad, we move to Delhi with an aim to the level the series.

#INDvWI | #MenInMaroon
(04.10.2025, 10:38)(10:38)0
Serena? USA Cricket Files for Bankruptcy

The Chapter 11 filing makes it the first known ICC member to declare bankruptcy. ⚡?
(03.10.2025, 12:22)(12:22)0
SerenaA maiden test wicket for Khary Pierre ends a challenging day 2️⃣

#INDvWI
(03.10.2025, 12:15)(12:15)0
SerenaWhy is WI best batter batting at #6 and why is he even keeping wickets in test?(03.10.2025, 07:26)(07:26)0
SerenaGive warrican vice captain on wat basis the man does nothing not even help chase(03.10.2025, 07:10)(07:10)0
SerenaWI waiting for declaration. India most likely will declare if or when both Jurel and Jadeja get to their 100s.(03.10.2025, 05:35)(05:35)0
Kade162 all out : India 121-2 stumps, day1(02.10.2025, 16:00)(16:00)0
Serenaif marriage certificate could get expire like driver's licence a lot of married men will never renew it(27.09.2025, 10:54)(10:54)0
WarrenJameis Winston is asked about being named QB3 on the Giants' roster behind Russell Wilson and Jaxson Dart:

"As a competitor, you want to be the starter. But I prepare to be the starter, I know I'm a starter in this league.

But you have to be able to be grateful for your role...my role right now is to assist Russ and Jaxson to be the best that they can be while preparing to be the best that I can be.

No matter if I'm 3, 33, this is my first year being number 19, so it's always a first for everything.

I focus on what I would love. And what I would love is for this team to have success."
(13.09.2025, 10:58)(10:58)0
Monicae(11.09.2025, 17:03)(17:03)0
RylandLol... Hetmyer. Fell agonizingly short of his century! Just 91 more he needed!(08.09.2025, 05:53)(05:53)0
RylandThe progress of the PPP government should not be judged by the dissenting voices of a few, but by the tangible benefits it has brought to everyone.(02.09.2025, 17:51)(17:51)0
Warren2 firefighters battling Washington state wildfire arrested by Border Patrol(29.08.2025, 10:51)(10:51)0
SalvadorPresident Ali hints at possible Christmas cash grant(27.08.2025, 12:36)(12:36)0
Sierrahi(27.08.2025, 12:07)(12:07)0
SergioWhat food could you eat every day of the week because you love it so much?(25.08.2025, 13:41)(13:41)0
KingsleyIsrael strikes a Gaza hospital twice, killing at least 20, including journalists and rescuers(25.08.2025, 11:27)(11:27)0
KingsleyShubman Gill returns to India's T20I squad as vice-captain for Asia Cup(20.08.2025, 12:54)(12:54)0
KingstonCanada's government forced Air Canada and its striking flight attendants back to work and into arbitration Saturday after a work stoppage stranded more than 100,000 travelers around the world.(16.08.2025, 18:08)(18:08)0
KingsleyGovernment papers found in an Alaskan hotel reveal new details of Trump-Putin summit(16.08.2025, 17:59)(17:59)0
LawrenceI'm confused how a cemetery can raise its funeral prices and blame it on the cost of living. ?(15.08.2025, 07:03)(07:03)0
LawrenceNext up West Indies play Nepal in a 3 match series (T20i), starting on the 27th Sept.(13.08.2025, 13:49)(13:49)0
Darwin