Legendary broadcaster Ayube Hamid passes on

15 Aug 2019 11:59 #374486 by chairman
The legendary broadcaster collapsed and died in the bathroom of his Hadfield Street, Georgetown home, at about 04:00hrs yesterday, just before performing “Fajr” or morning prayers, his daughter Saffiyya Khan said. He suffered a history of heart complications.
He died in the same house he had lived in for most of his life. He had shared this same house with his wife, Jinette, for the 46 years of their marriage. She died in 1994. Safiyya was their only child.
Ayube Hamid was 82. His real name was Ayube Ahmad Khan

15 Aug 2019 11:59 #374488 by chairman
He adopted the name Ayube Hamid to avoid any confusion that would come with two persons broadcasting under the name Khan. His boss was Rafiq Khan, and so they agreed that he would broadcast under the name Ayube Hamid, instead of Ayube Khan.

15 Aug 2019 12:01 #374489 by chairman
He adopted the name Ayube Hamid to avoid any confusion that would come with two persons broadcasting under the name Khan. His boss was Rafiq Khan, and so they agreed that he would broadcast under the name Ayube Hamid, instead of Ayube Khan.
Ayube Hamid was born at Danielstown, on the Essequibo Coast, to a family of staunch Muslims. He attended Madrasah at the local Mosque, where the gamut of Islamic life was taught to him, including the need to say the five daily prayers.
In school, he excelled and secured one of just two Essequibo county scholarships, and this landed him a place at the elite Queen’s College in Georgetown.
After school, his first job was with a firm engaged in geological exploration for bauxite. However, he would soon leave that to take up a job in radio, which he never left until he died.
Ayube Hamid joined the radio station on April 1, 1952 as an announcer for the news, and he also played music and conducted interviews.
This was shortly after the Great Fire of 1951, in Georgetown, which destroyed the Philharmonic Building which housed the then radio station VP3BG.
Within a year on the job, his knowledge of Urdu and Arabic, derived from a strong Islamic background, together with his excellent enunciation of English, prompted then radio boss Rafiq Khan to set him on a lifelong career in broadcasting.

15 Aug 2019 12:01 #374490 by chairman
Within a year, Ayube Hamid replaced Mohamed Akbar as the host of Indian Memory Album, and he always played “Suhani Raat” to start off. It was the programme that came to define his career in radio.

15 Aug 2019 12:06 #374494 by chairman
The programme featured old Indian music of different genres. He was a class act in introducing the songs. Not many could do it, even though there were other Indian broadcasters: Sugrim Singh, Azeem Khan, Paul O’Hara, Ishri Singh, Sunny Mohamed, and Moses Hussain.
The albums were written mostly in Urdu and Hindustani, and so his groundings in Urdu gave him a distinct advantage, and audiences across the country came to love him for the evergreen classical songs he played.
Then, in no small way, he, along with others, started a local talent show on Sunday afternoons that blossomed in a bigger event that was responsible, not only for the promulgation of Indian music on the radio, but for the development of the musical talent of those who dared to make a name for themselves.

15 Aug 2019 12:09 #374496 by chairman
When the radio shifted from North Road to High Street in the 1960’s, Local Indian Performers became a much- looked-forward-to event for those who figured they could sing. He auditioned them, and put the best ones on the programme. And so he was responsible for jump-starting the careers of persons such as Mohan Nandu, Gobin Ram, Tilak, Sudama, and Beni Balkarran.
Artistes came as far as from Berbice and Essequibo to make it big

15 Aug 2019 12:13 #374497 by chairman
Uncle Ayube, as he was affectionately called by those dear to him, was a cultural philanthropist.
He was one of the founders of the Gandhi Youth Organisation, was a trustee of the Queenstown Jama Masjid, and was also actively involved in the promulgation of Indian culture as a member of the Indian Commemoration Trust, for which he helped to establish the Indian Monument Gardens.
For his contribution to broadcasting and his social and cultural pursuits, he was bestowed with three national awards, including the Golden Arrowhead of Achievement – the country’s fourth highest national award.
During his lifetime, one of Uncle’s Ayube’s greatest joys was visiting Sumdatt, North East Delhi, from where his grandfather came to what was then British Guiana.
In an interview published in the “Horizons” magazine two years ago, Ayube Hamid bemoaned the fact that Indian music is today recognised only as those that come out of the Hindi film industry.
“Indian music has become so adulterated with Western influence that only the purists now enjoy an evening of Raag, Thumris, Ghazals and Bhajans,” he said.
“But we must be proud that despite the adulteration, the passing of the years from Indentureship has not, and will not, obliterate the love and sense of cultural belonging to this Guyanese cultural form.
“It is my fervent wish that we should teach the community and ourselves in general the language, and so appreciate what we hear in Indian songs.”
A funeral service was held in the compound of the Central Islamic Organisation of Guyana, on Woolford Avenue, yesterday afternoon, after which his body was interred at Le Repentir Cemetery

15 Aug 2019 12:31 #374503 by ketchim
Inna lillahi wa inna ilayhi raji'un ~

Rest In Peace, Uncle Ayube .

Time to create page: 0.161 seconds
JulieFormer Jets and Commanders WR Laveranues Coles completed nine months of training at the Jacksonville Sheriff's Office Academy and will officially become an officer after his probationary period ?(02.12.2025, 14:36)(14:36)0
JulieHeartbreaking to hear of the passing of former England cricketer Robin Smith ?

Our thoughts are with his friends and family at this difficult time ?

Rest in peace, Judge ?
(02.12.2025, 12:56)(12:56)0
JulieJUST IN: Andre Russell calls time on his IPL career and will join KKR’s support staff for 2026 ‼️(30.11.2025, 14:06)(14:06)0
TravisShoppers spend billions on Black Friday to snag holiday deals, despite wider economic uncertainty(29.11.2025, 17:11)(17:11)0
TravisSnow, rain and cold in store for some Thanksgiving travelers(29.11.2025, 17:10)(17:10)0
TravisThe pitch at Perth Stadium was rated "very good" despite a two-day finish in the first Ashes Test(29.11.2025, 10:57)(10:57)0
TravisWe are two days out or so from the start of the New Zealand vs West Indies test series.(29.11.2025, 10:51)(10:51)0
TravisPat Cummins did look brilliant in the nets over in Perth but will only be readier for his return come the 3rd Test in Adelaide, which should work perfectly for Australia, especially now that they’re 1-0 up going to the Gabba(29.11.2025, 10:41)(10:41)0
JulieSad news: Thirty minutes ago in Dallas, the family of former Dallas Cowboys icon Drew Pearson, aged 73, unexpectedly announced that he has passed away(29.11.2025, 08:00)(08:00)0
TravisPat Cummins is set to be included in Australia’s squad for the upcoming second Ashes Test against England in Brisbane, according to reports.(28.11.2025, 15:19)(15:19)0
TravisSuspect in shooting of National Guard members now facing a first-degree murder charge(28.11.2025, 14:24)(14:24)0
TravisLake effect snow piles up in Great Lakes region, impacting Thanksgiving travel(28.11.2025, 08:50)(08:50)0
TravisChiefs vs. Cowboys preview Week 13

Perhaps the most perplexing aspect of AT&T Stadium, otherwise known as “Jerry World,” is the glare from the sun that bursts through the windows and shines directly onto the field. Time and time again the glare has impacted players’ visibility during games, yet Jerry Jones refuses to make any changes to account for the sun.

Rather than install curtains, Jones has previously said he feels it’s a home-field advantage to have that type of stadium factor impacting games. Well, the glare ended up benefitting the Chiefs early into Thursday’s Thanksgiving game, as a pass from Dak Prescott to George Pickens fell incomplete, at least in part due to the impact of the sun’s glare.
(27.11.2025, 21:18)(21:18)0
TravisAT&T Stadium Glare Led to Plenty of Comments From NFL Fans During Chiefs-Cowboys(27.11.2025, 21:17)(21:17)0
TravisKittitian allrounder Kunal Tilokani earns U19 call upKittitian allrounder Kunal Tilokani earns U19 call up(27.11.2025, 13:19)(13:19)0
Travis'Wanted them to really grovel' - SA coach Shukri Conrad on keeping India on the field(25.11.2025, 18:29)(18:29)0
JulieHi(25.11.2025, 08:45)(08:45)0
Juliemotie 130 notout guyana 250(25.11.2025, 08:44)(08:44)0
Matthewhi(25.11.2025, 07:00)(07:00)0
Julie19 wickets fall between Aus and Eng and it’s great cricket, 19 wickets fall between W.I and any other country and we should be relegated…the double standards in world cricket.(21.11.2025, 06:40)(06:40)0
Travisketchim?(12.11.2025, 17:40)(17:40)0
Traviskwami?(12.11.2025, 17:40)(17:40)0
Traviswho is this(12.11.2025, 17:39)(17:39)0
AlvinChairmsn, I cant Log in(11.11.2025, 17:16)(17:16)0
SerenaThis batting performance by the West Indies in the second innings blew me away. I kept closing my eyes and then rubbing and opening them again and sat transfixed as I watch that unbelievable partnership between John Campbell and Shai Hope. What a magnificent performance by these two! It just goes to show that patience, determination and effort can go a long way to improve the performances of the West Indies team. Let us hope that this effort by West Indies batsmen would not be a one-off performance, but will be the beginning of a renewed effort to improve the performances of the team, going forward.(13.10.2025, 09:28)(09:28)0
SerenaJohn Campbell breaks a 23-year drought for West Indies openers with a Test hundred in India!

#INDvsWI #INDvWI #JohnCampbell
(13.10.2025, 05:49)(05:49)0
SerenaLet's celebrate that Ind will have to bat again as a notable achievement(13.10.2025, 05:32)(05:32)0
SerenaDefeat in Ahmedabad, we move to Delhi with an aim to the level the series.

#INDvWI | #MenInMaroon
(04.10.2025, 10:38)(10:38)0
Serena? USA Cricket Files for Bankruptcy

The Chapter 11 filing makes it the first known ICC member to declare bankruptcy. ⚡?
(03.10.2025, 12:22)(12:22)0
SerenaA maiden test wicket for Khary Pierre ends a challenging day 2️⃣

#INDvWI
(03.10.2025, 12:15)(12:15)0
SerenaWhy is WI best batter batting at #6 and why is he even keeping wickets in test?(03.10.2025, 07:26)(07:26)0
SerenaGive warrican vice captain on wat basis the man does nothing not even help chase(03.10.2025, 07:10)(07:10)0
SerenaWI waiting for declaration. India most likely will declare if or when both Jurel and Jadeja get to their 100s.(03.10.2025, 05:35)(05:35)0
Kade162 all out : India 121-2 stumps, day1(02.10.2025, 16:00)(16:00)0
Serenaif marriage certificate could get expire like driver's licence a lot of married men will never renew it(27.09.2025, 10:54)(10:54)0
WarrenJameis Winston is asked about being named QB3 on the Giants' roster behind Russell Wilson and Jaxson Dart:

"As a competitor, you want to be the starter. But I prepare to be the starter, I know I'm a starter in this league.

But you have to be able to be grateful for your role...my role right now is to assist Russ and Jaxson to be the best that they can be while preparing to be the best that I can be.

No matter if I'm 3, 33, this is my first year being number 19, so it's always a first for everything.

I focus on what I would love. And what I would love is for this team to have success."
(13.09.2025, 10:58)(10:58)0
Monicae(11.09.2025, 17:03)(17:03)0
RylandLol... Hetmyer. Fell agonizingly short of his century! Just 91 more he needed!(08.09.2025, 05:53)(05:53)0
RylandThe progress of the PPP government should not be judged by the dissenting voices of a few, but by the tangible benefits it has brought to everyone.(02.09.2025, 17:51)(17:51)0
Warren2 firefighters battling Washington state wildfire arrested by Border Patrol(29.08.2025, 10:51)(10:51)0
SalvadorPresident Ali hints at possible Christmas cash grant(27.08.2025, 12:36)(12:36)0
Sierrahi(27.08.2025, 12:07)(12:07)0
SergioWhat food could you eat every day of the week because you love it so much?(25.08.2025, 13:41)(13:41)0
KingsleyIsrael strikes a Gaza hospital twice, killing at least 20, including journalists and rescuers(25.08.2025, 11:27)(11:27)0
KingsleyShubman Gill returns to India's T20I squad as vice-captain for Asia Cup(20.08.2025, 12:54)(12:54)0
KingstonCanada's government forced Air Canada and its striking flight attendants back to work and into arbitration Saturday after a work stoppage stranded more than 100,000 travelers around the world.(16.08.2025, 18:08)(18:08)0
KingsleyGovernment papers found in an Alaskan hotel reveal new details of Trump-Putin summit(16.08.2025, 17:59)(17:59)0
LawrenceI'm confused how a cemetery can raise its funeral prices and blame it on the cost of living. ?(15.08.2025, 07:03)(07:03)0
LawrenceNext up West Indies play Nepal in a 3 match series (T20i), starting on the 27th Sept.(13.08.2025, 13:49)(13:49)0
JayleeFor the first time since 1991, we have won a bilateral series v Pakistan!??

What a win!?
(12.08.2025, 16:57)(16:57)0
Annabell