03 Dec 2012 10:27 #113113 by Nargis
Scientists assert “there will be no end of the world”
Paul Joseph Watson
Prison Planet.com
December 3, 2012
Politicians from Russia’s State Duma have written a letter to major television networks begging them not to encourage end of the world hysteria in the run up to December 21st, following a wave of odd behavior by Russian citizens across the country.“We discussed this and sent an official letter to executives at Russia’s leading TV networks,” Mikhail Degtyarev, who represents the LDPR in Russia’s lower house of parliament (Duma) and is deputy chair of the Duma Science Committee, told RIA Novosti . “In our compatriots’ interests, we ask you to pay attention to the dissemination of pseudo-scientific information about the end of the world in your media.”
21st December is regarded as the the end-date of a 5125-year-long cycle in the Mesoamerican Long Count calendar. This has prompted a myriad of different end-time beliefs, most of which suggest that the earth is about to be hit with cataclysmic weather and seismic events which will wipe out humanity.
The letter was signed by the deputy chairman of the State Duma’s committee for science and research-intense technologies, Mikhail Degtyaryov, chairman of the Russian Academy of Sciences’ committee for science, Valery Chernyshev, and Communist politician Dmitry Novikov.
The message cites experts at the Academy of Sciences who assert “that there will be no end of the world.”
“Television has a very strong psychological influence on the audience. For that reason TV journalists must be very responsible in selecting the information that is put on the air. In their programs they often mention the rumoured end of the world. Why? It would be far better to steer clear of such themes,” Degtyaryov told ITAR-TASS .
Duma politicians also highlighted “a surge in the amount of consumer credit and the turnover of retail chains, which unmistakably points to soaring hysteria,” accusing swindlers of exploiting the paranoia for personal profit.
Russian citizens across the country have been preparing for the end of the world is all manner of weird and wonderful ways, with “doomsday hysteria” taking hold.
From sensible precautions which should be practiced by everyone in a time of economic turmoil, such as stocking up on storable food and water, to fevered panic buying, reactions have been varied.
Residents in the town of Omutninsk reacted to hearing a doomsday prophecy from a TIbetan monk by buying up all the candles in the whole region. In Tomsk, “end of the world kits” have been flying off the shelves. They include vodka, buckwheat, candles, matches, a can of sprat fish, and a notepad and a pencil “to write letters to future generations.”
The New York Times reported on an incident which took place at a female prison near the Chinese border where inmates experienced a “collective mass psychosis” about the end of the world and had to be calmed by a priest.
Rev. Tikhon Irshenko also reported that prisoners at Prison Colony No. 10 in the village of Gornoye had broken out of the jail “because of their disturbing thoughts” about the Mayan prophecy.
However, end times hysteria is not just restricted to Russia.
Authorities have been forced to block access to a mountain in the picturesque south-western French village of Bugarach because believers claim that aliens are hidden in the caverns below the mountain and are waiting to depart once doomsday begins to unfold.
NASA also recently warned that there are very real threats surrounding the Mayan prophecies that have nothing to do with the end of the world, cautioning that people who are already prone to suicide or other acts of violence could be spurred to carry out such acts as a consequence of the hysteria being generated by doomsday hype.
Paul Joseph Watson is the editor and writer for Infowars.com and Prison Planet.com . He is the author of Order Out Of Chaos. Watson is also a host for Infowars Nightly News.

03 Dec 2012 10:27 #113114 by Nargis
Anonymous says: December 3, 2012 at 8:40 am the only thing that is going to happen 12/21/21 is the caledar is going to run out. happens every year for us on december 31st. we just get a new one

03 Dec 2012 10:39 #113117 by mapoui
why must the Duma beg a newspaper not to print lies and cause social chaos?

seems like nonsens to me!  shut the paper down.  teh Duma has the power.

the Duma can so regulate news by requiring newspapers to establish proof for what they claim or present it to the public in manners that establish the news for what it is..pure speculation in line with so much similar bullshit published over the centuries

in fact if the paper had any proper social intent it would publish no more of that kind of crap.

that is what the Duma should do...tel tHE People the truth if the papers wont..then shut them to phuck down until they tell the truth.

in the end if they wont tell the truth and operate in the general interest...expropriate deh skunt and sell their assets to the people at 5 dollars a share. 

decentralise the media...and let the people run it all over the nation... and enjoy the profits off themselves

03 Dec 2012 10:46 #113121 by ketchim
The End Is Nigh !

03 Dec 2012 10:46 #113122 by ketchim

03 Dec 2012 10:57 - 03 Dec 2012 11:03 #113126 by mapoui
THERE IS NO GOOD REASON IN THE WHOLE WORLD WHY 1% OF THE PEOPLE SHUD OWN 100% OF THE MEDIA FULLING UP THE PUBLIC INTELLECTUAL SPHERE WITH HEIR OWN POINT OF VIEW 100% OF THE TIME.

In such a reality everybody mus' struggle to find an alternative viewpoint and perspective that represents any broad spectrum of opinion on any subject whatever.

thats no damm good at all

SUCH A STATE OF AFFAIRS SERVES NO USEFUL PURPOSE IN LIFE.

IT IN FACT SERVES BAD INTENT AND BEHAVIOUR BY THE 1% THAT OWNS ALL.....

ULTIMATELY THE OUTCOME OF THIS IS BOUND TO BE A DISASTER..MAYBE EVEN THE END OF THE WORLD DEH WANT TO CROW ABOUT..BUT BY HUMAN HANDS...THE HANDS OF THE 1% WHO OWNS THE DAMM MEDIA.

I don't know what is wrong with leaders like Putin and Chavez who have almost total popular mandates in their countries.  why would they allow the monopoly media to continue, pouring scorn and lies on proven positive development policies and success?

expropriate the damm media already.... decentralise it by selling it to the people.  establish anti-monopoly laws so that the media never becomes a monopoly again.

the same goes for communication processes and devices...television/computers/telephones of all kinds. 

instead of allowing huge multinationals to dominate the provision of such communication in all countries, kick deh rass out and decentralise ownership to the people as a whole..5 dollars a share..a company in every town and the profits as divdend to the people.

with todays technology that is the easiest thing to accomplish.  governments would be responsible only for where it is necessary to maintain and organize advancement of  the overall technology and carry it forward.

that wud be one way for backward countries to introduce a level of high technology to their people.... run by them, paid for by them, profitable for them off their own activity and finance...while advancing the nation
Last edit: 03 Dec 2012 11:03 by mapoui.

03 Dec 2012 12:15 #113147 by mapoui
chavez and putin shud hire me to do the 3 things I want to do dearly in life.

I wud give my life for the opportunity and die immediately one I am done.

to smash:

1}  High finance and Banking

2} The Media monopoly

3} the Bureaucracy

with all the requisite police powers! :shocked: :shocked: :shocked:

oh mi gord!!!!!  I wud be like Pee Wee Reece in a toy store! :cheesy: :cheesy: :cheesy: :cheesy: :cheesy:

Time to create page: 0.234 seconds
JulieEngland cricket icon Robin Smith has passed away at the age of 62.(03.12.2025, 20:30)(20:30)0
JulieFormer Jets and Commanders WR Laveranues Coles completed nine months of training at the Jacksonville Sheriff's Office Academy and will officially become an officer after his probationary period ?(02.12.2025, 14:36)(14:36)0
JulieHeartbreaking to hear of the passing of former England cricketer Robin Smith ?

Our thoughts are with his friends and family at this difficult time ?

Rest in peace, Judge ?
(02.12.2025, 12:56)(12:56)0
JulieJUST IN: Andre Russell calls time on his IPL career and will join KKR’s support staff for 2026 ‼️(30.11.2025, 14:06)(14:06)0
TravisShoppers spend billions on Black Friday to snag holiday deals, despite wider economic uncertainty(29.11.2025, 17:11)(17:11)0
TravisSnow, rain and cold in store for some Thanksgiving travelers(29.11.2025, 17:10)(17:10)0
TravisThe pitch at Perth Stadium was rated "very good" despite a two-day finish in the first Ashes Test(29.11.2025, 10:57)(10:57)0
TravisWe are two days out or so from the start of the New Zealand vs West Indies test series.(29.11.2025, 10:51)(10:51)0
TravisPat Cummins did look brilliant in the nets over in Perth but will only be readier for his return come the 3rd Test in Adelaide, which should work perfectly for Australia, especially now that they’re 1-0 up going to the Gabba(29.11.2025, 10:41)(10:41)0
JulieSad news: Thirty minutes ago in Dallas, the family of former Dallas Cowboys icon Drew Pearson, aged 73, unexpectedly announced that he has passed away(29.11.2025, 08:00)(08:00)0
TravisPat Cummins is set to be included in Australia’s squad for the upcoming second Ashes Test against England in Brisbane, according to reports.(28.11.2025, 15:19)(15:19)0
TravisSuspect in shooting of National Guard members now facing a first-degree murder charge(28.11.2025, 14:24)(14:24)0
TravisLake effect snow piles up in Great Lakes region, impacting Thanksgiving travel(28.11.2025, 08:50)(08:50)0
TravisChiefs vs. Cowboys preview Week 13

Perhaps the most perplexing aspect of AT&T Stadium, otherwise known as “Jerry World,” is the glare from the sun that bursts through the windows and shines directly onto the field. Time and time again the glare has impacted players’ visibility during games, yet Jerry Jones refuses to make any changes to account for the sun.

Rather than install curtains, Jones has previously said he feels it’s a home-field advantage to have that type of stadium factor impacting games. Well, the glare ended up benefitting the Chiefs early into Thursday’s Thanksgiving game, as a pass from Dak Prescott to George Pickens fell incomplete, at least in part due to the impact of the sun’s glare.
(27.11.2025, 21:18)(21:18)0
TravisAT&T Stadium Glare Led to Plenty of Comments From NFL Fans During Chiefs-Cowboys(27.11.2025, 21:17)(21:17)0
TravisKittitian allrounder Kunal Tilokani earns U19 call upKittitian allrounder Kunal Tilokani earns U19 call up(27.11.2025, 13:19)(13:19)0
Travis'Wanted them to really grovel' - SA coach Shukri Conrad on keeping India on the field(25.11.2025, 18:29)(18:29)0
JulieHi(25.11.2025, 08:45)(08:45)0
Juliemotie 130 notout guyana 250(25.11.2025, 08:44)(08:44)0
Matthewhi(25.11.2025, 07:00)(07:00)0
Julie19 wickets fall between Aus and Eng and it’s great cricket, 19 wickets fall between W.I and any other country and we should be relegated…the double standards in world cricket.(21.11.2025, 06:40)(06:40)0
Travisketchim?(12.11.2025, 17:40)(17:40)0
Traviskwami?(12.11.2025, 17:40)(17:40)0
Traviswho is this(12.11.2025, 17:39)(17:39)0
AlvinChairmsn, I cant Log in(11.11.2025, 17:16)(17:16)0
SerenaThis batting performance by the West Indies in the second innings blew me away. I kept closing my eyes and then rubbing and opening them again and sat transfixed as I watch that unbelievable partnership between John Campbell and Shai Hope. What a magnificent performance by these two! It just goes to show that patience, determination and effort can go a long way to improve the performances of the West Indies team. Let us hope that this effort by West Indies batsmen would not be a one-off performance, but will be the beginning of a renewed effort to improve the performances of the team, going forward.(13.10.2025, 09:28)(09:28)0
SerenaJohn Campbell breaks a 23-year drought for West Indies openers with a Test hundred in India!

#INDvsWI #INDvWI #JohnCampbell
(13.10.2025, 05:49)(05:49)0
SerenaLet's celebrate that Ind will have to bat again as a notable achievement(13.10.2025, 05:32)(05:32)0
SerenaDefeat in Ahmedabad, we move to Delhi with an aim to the level the series.

#INDvWI | #MenInMaroon
(04.10.2025, 10:38)(10:38)0
Serena? USA Cricket Files for Bankruptcy

The Chapter 11 filing makes it the first known ICC member to declare bankruptcy. ⚡?
(03.10.2025, 12:22)(12:22)0
SerenaA maiden test wicket for Khary Pierre ends a challenging day 2️⃣

#INDvWI
(03.10.2025, 12:15)(12:15)0
SerenaWhy is WI best batter batting at #6 and why is he even keeping wickets in test?(03.10.2025, 07:26)(07:26)0
SerenaGive warrican vice captain on wat basis the man does nothing not even help chase(03.10.2025, 07:10)(07:10)0
SerenaWI waiting for declaration. India most likely will declare if or when both Jurel and Jadeja get to their 100s.(03.10.2025, 05:35)(05:35)0
Kade162 all out : India 121-2 stumps, day1(02.10.2025, 16:00)(16:00)0
Serenaif marriage certificate could get expire like driver's licence a lot of married men will never renew it(27.09.2025, 10:54)(10:54)0
WarrenJameis Winston is asked about being named QB3 on the Giants' roster behind Russell Wilson and Jaxson Dart:

"As a competitor, you want to be the starter. But I prepare to be the starter, I know I'm a starter in this league.

But you have to be able to be grateful for your role...my role right now is to assist Russ and Jaxson to be the best that they can be while preparing to be the best that I can be.

No matter if I'm 3, 33, this is my first year being number 19, so it's always a first for everything.

I focus on what I would love. And what I would love is for this team to have success."
(13.09.2025, 10:58)(10:58)0
Monicae(11.09.2025, 17:03)(17:03)0
RylandLol... Hetmyer. Fell agonizingly short of his century! Just 91 more he needed!(08.09.2025, 05:53)(05:53)0
RylandThe progress of the PPP government should not be judged by the dissenting voices of a few, but by the tangible benefits it has brought to everyone.(02.09.2025, 17:51)(17:51)0
Warren2 firefighters battling Washington state wildfire arrested by Border Patrol(29.08.2025, 10:51)(10:51)0
SalvadorPresident Ali hints at possible Christmas cash grant(27.08.2025, 12:36)(12:36)0
Sierrahi(27.08.2025, 12:07)(12:07)0
SergioWhat food could you eat every day of the week because you love it so much?(25.08.2025, 13:41)(13:41)0
KingsleyIsrael strikes a Gaza hospital twice, killing at least 20, including journalists and rescuers(25.08.2025, 11:27)(11:27)0
KingsleyShubman Gill returns to India's T20I squad as vice-captain for Asia Cup(20.08.2025, 12:54)(12:54)0
KingstonCanada's government forced Air Canada and its striking flight attendants back to work and into arbitration Saturday after a work stoppage stranded more than 100,000 travelers around the world.(16.08.2025, 18:08)(18:08)0
KingsleyGovernment papers found in an Alaskan hotel reveal new details of Trump-Putin summit(16.08.2025, 17:59)(17:59)0
LawrenceI'm confused how a cemetery can raise its funeral prices and blame it on the cost of living. ?(15.08.2025, 07:03)(07:03)0
LawrenceNext up West Indies play Nepal in a 3 match series (T20i), starting on the 27th Sept.(13.08.2025, 13:49)(13:49)0
Angelica