26 Feb 2013 11:10 #123537
(Reuters) - High levels of a dangerous toxin found in bagged dog food on a grocery store shelf in Iowa have highlighted the prevalence of a problematic mold in last year's U.S. corn crop, as state and federal officials work on limiting the food safety concern.
"Last year's corn crop - it is a huge issue. We test every load coming in. And we reject a lot of loads," said Michael Wright, chief executive officer of Pro-Pet, an Ohio-based pet food manufacturer that learned last week some of its product was tainted with aflatoxin, a naturally occurring poison that can cause serious illness or even death if consumed.
Aflatoxin is the byproduct of a mold that flourishes in dry conditions, and last year's historic drought in the U.S. Midwest put everyone from farmers to grain handlers and food industry officials on high alert.
"Anybody using corn has to be very selective," Wright said.
26 Feb 2013 17:34 #123568
not captain! he doh have to be selective. he eats corn all the time
26 Feb 2013 20:11 #123569
Dog food recall ? This is only an issue in oriental countries where dog is food
Dog food recall underscores toxic danger in drought-hit U.S. corn
Time to create page: 0.207 seconds