04 Apr 2013 17:01 #129136
The balcony is closed.
For years, the team of Gene Siskel and Roger Ebert would end their movie-review show, Sneak Previews, by closing the balcony. Now, with Ebert's death Thursday from cancer, the man who helped bring the joy of movies to the masses has left the theater.
Ebert, 70, won a Pulitzer Prize for his criticism and became the most influential and recognizable critic in the USA, especially after the weekly movie review TV series that popularized the "thumbs up" phrase.
Ebert, longtime movie critic at the Chicago Sun-Times, continued the show after Siskel's death in 1999 with fellow Sun-Times columnist Richard Roeper
04 Apr 2013 17:29 #129147
Very sad news. I was big fan of him and Gene Siskel ("Two thumbs up"). Both were brilliant movie reviewers and critics.
R.I.P. Roger Ebert.
05 Apr 2013 09:33 #129173
more Mapoui angst!
I used to love movies..movies..movies....until the 19 nineties when I began to meet black american stars in hollywood north.
all black american movies stars hate negros bad bad. AND DEH DON HESITATE O SHOW IT!
PHEEEEEEEEW! A TRULY BAD STATE OF AFFAIRS WHICH PRECIPITATED MY OWN BOYCOTT. I DON'T LOOK AT THEM ANY MORE..PERIOD. NO AMERICAN MOVIES!
if I feel for movies I go to youtube for the british murder mysteries..the comedies..or to kung fu.
I used have netflix until realised that for some reason netflix focuses on making available the most grotesque of all films..containing the worst of human excesses..like cannibalism and such atrocitties.
dat was also too much for me so I got rid of it. and I got my subscription for free too..and I still gave it up
siskel and ebert were good I guess. i used to listen to them years ago. may they rip. but I have lost interest in all movies save the types I have listed as faves
Famed movie critic Roger Ebert dies
Time to create page: 0.170 seconds