World Cup Cricket 2015 :Choose your WINNER !

10 Feb 2015 13:17 #239790 by ketchim
www.espncricinfo.com/newzealand/content/story/789525.html

they almost beat the Kiwis .... :-[

Scotland will be able to take plenty of solace from their performance against a side they will face

in the group stage of the World Cup.

• angelasmith998
11 Feb 2015 09:18 #239913 by angelasmith998
MELBOURNE, (Reuters) – The International Cricket Council will crack down on excessive sledging between players at the World Cup, saying first offenders can expect heavier fines while repeat offenders face suspension from matches.ICC chief executive David Richardson also said players with already poor records of on-field behaviour could face immediate match bans if found guilty of a single breach of the ICC’s code of conduct during the Feb. 14 – March 29 tournament.
“That issue has been addressed at all the pre-event team briefings,” Richardson told reporters in Melbourne yesterday.
“I suppose it started a few months back already that the behaviour in some matches by some players was deemed to be unacceptable and not a good example to young fans watching the game.
“I think there’s been something like 12-13 code of conduct charges laid in the last few months in bilateral series.
“So the crackdown had already started. I think the teams are going to be told that the umpires intend to remains firm, that the penalties handed out by the match referees will be perhaps a little bit more serious or higher than before but that hopefully everyone will be treated equally and fairly.
“For a first offence, you’ll likely end up with a fine which no player likes, handing back most of his match fee.
“But certainly a repeat offence, not only in this tournament but some players already sitting with offences behind their name, will be punished with a suspension.”
The crackdown may give Australia opening batsman David Warner some pause before charging into a verbal altercation given he has been found guilty of breaching the code of conduct twice in two months.
India batsmen Shikhar Dhawan and Virat Kohli were also fined for conduct breaches in December during the occasionally ill-tempered test series with Australia.
Pundits have suggested a soccer-style yellow and red card system to better stamp out poor on-field behaviour but Richardson said cricket would continue to rely on post-match reviews with on-field umpires and off-field referees to analyse incidents and lay charges where necessary.
“That idea has been debated at a number of previous cricket committee meetings that I’ve attended and probably will be debated again,” he said.
“We don’t necessarily want to follow the way that football goes. A lot of these decisions are taken after a measured response by match officials reviewing footage of the match afterwards.
“That obviously cannot happen when you are brandishing a red or a yellow card on the spur of the moment.”

11 Feb 2015 10:17 #239919 by The Captain
that's the whole OZ team and half of the english

11 Feb 2015 10:53 #239924 by ketchim
stewwwwpppsss ... Sledging is part of the Game  :-[

• Calypso
11 Feb 2015 22:23 #240021 by Calypso
Two days to go ...........

One day to go for WC opening ceremony ..... trying to find out the exact time for this tomorrow .... Cricket World Cup 2015 set to be declared open

• Calypso
12 Feb 2015 05:25 #240034 by Calypso
Phew!!! ... the ceremony actually started 20 minutes ago ........ nothing was posted as far as I could find ...how strange !!! and I actually thought it was tomorrow until my son phoned me a little while ago and said it was on !!! 

• Calypso
12 Feb 2015 06:50 #240035 by Calypso
Not impressed ....!!!  unless I missed the cricketing bits that I was looking forward to .... ::yawn:: ... what I saw,  I thought was absolutely rubbish ...  very disappointing !!! :-[

12 Feb 2015 07:21 #240037 by mapoui
big thread...4+ pages already.

oh well..our interest in it will be short lived.  minimum fuh west indies and home.

this wurl skup means nutten to me..no excitement, anticipation, no nutten

dat is one of my 2 predictions..dat a minimum of games and out for the west indies.  the nex' one is that the Kiwis will win their fuss wurl skup..for whatever it is worth deze days

:D :D :D

• bala24
12 Feb 2015 10:21 #240050 by bala24
I am already excited and with the way warm up matches have turned out,this WC's favorite looks unpredictable with each team matching up the other and locking horns at best.I would safely say this WC is an open one.India too has a chance..:P :P Lolz.

12 Feb 2015 10:24 #240051 by Kwami
India does have a chance but those chances are slim and none

Time to create page: 0.219 seconds
MaleahNow that Joe Root has 2 centuries in Australia, I assume those Australian fans, who said he couldn’t be classed as great unless he achieved that, will now say he is?? Given that the great Steve Smith has never scored a test ton in Pakistan….(05.01.2026, 12:31)(12:31)0