The importance of Hashim Amla

• Gina145
27 Feb 2015 01:54 #243489 by Gina145
Some of the statistics put up on the television coverage can make interesting reading. Like these two about Hashim Amla (when South Africa have played outside Asia since 2011):
1. When Amla scores under 20, SA lose 65% of their matches
2. When Amla scores over 50, SA win 88% of their matches.

Amla's 65 today, in a good partnership with Faf du Plessis, set things up beautifully for AB de Villiers to play another attacking knock.

• Calypso
27 Feb 2015 02:41 #243501 by Calypso
Yes I saw those stats Gina .........Good cricket by SA ...

What a performance by AB !!!  I reckon had he come in earlier he would've had a double

• Gina145
27 Feb 2015 03:12 #243507 by Gina145

Or he might have been dismissed cheaply  ;)

• Kittyworker
27 Feb 2015 04:51 #243514 by Kittyworker
Interesting with Alma. I guess he is one of those solid performers that SA rely on to anchor there innings. When he doesn't perform it puts pressure on those around them to play a different playstyle. It would be interesting to see the figures of when AB Villers gets runs how SA go..

27 Feb 2015 10:22 #243530 by ketchim
I was waiting to see the aftermath of all his dot balls..... :-[

27 Feb 2015 10:25 #243532 by Googley
hold on a second!  are you saying that SA values a player how can hold down one end and setup up a nice platform for the big hitters?  WOW!  What positive thinking by the Saffies!

but wait a minute, didn't WI fire someone similar from their ODI side?  I vaguely remember the name...was it Shiv?  :P

27 Feb 2015 10:29 #243534 by mapoui
Hashlim Alma  is associated with Ashley Prince in my mind. Procter killed Prince's career using Alma in the process. 

Alma refused to open and so deh put in Prince to establish failure  to drop him.  no captaincy fuh Ashley..removal of a threat to big idiot Smiffy >:(

I cant cut Hashmin away from dat mix.  he is ah impse to me :D :D :D

27 Feb 2015 10:30 #243535 by The Captain
race

27 Feb 2015 10:30 #243536 by mapoui

stop beating a tired horse.  its a done issue..stik it with my PHORK.  I will lend it to you if yuh arks mih pretty please ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL::

27 Feb 2015 10:31 #243537 by mapoui

very likely. di'ze exactly how dem white Saffies are.  you hit it pon the head captain ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL::

Time to create page: 0.147 seconds
MaleahNow that Joe Root has 2 centuries in Australia, I assume those Australian fans, who said he couldn’t be classed as great unless he achieved that, will now say he is?? Given that the great Steve Smith has never scored a test ton in Pakistan….(05.01.2026, 12:31)(12:31)0