Dilly Come in! McWatt, Binns, Depeiza, Walcott, Nunes

02 Jun 2015 14:55 #257968 by mapoui
Kanhai, Dewhurst, Ivan Barrow, Errol Hunte, Cyrial Christiani, Simpson Guillen, Thelston Payne,  D Sealy....

do you know these tests Dillinger..and what deh have in common ::confused:: ::confused:: ::confused::

02 Jun 2015 15:00 #257970 by chairman
dillinger has surely moved in to  top ten PITCH poster here.

02 Jun 2015 15:07 #257973 by ketchim
Whappen to poster Mail : and his whinging for Cricket  discussions...

Mapster , they are also Glovemen , at least started out as.... ;)

02 Jun 2015 15:15 #257974 by mapoui
quick one there ketchim.  there are some obscure names in there. I thought a few might have thrown you  :D :D :D

like Karl Nunes!  you knew dat guy? 

James referred t him as the closest thing we had in the west indies to a real aristocracy...english-like

02 Jun 2015 15:17 #257977 by mapoui

dilly is a great cricket poster

02 Jun 2015 15:38 #257985 by ketchim
de chap dead since 1958 ....me nah baarn yet  ::LOL::

Timur (Edwin Mohamed son) was that year methink !

www.espncricinfo.com/westindies/content/player/52635.html

Karl Nunes, West Indies' first Test captain, enjoyed a distinguished career in cricket as a batsman and an administrator

until his death in London at the age of 64.

Born in Kingston, Jamaica, in 1894, Nunes learnt his cricket at Dulwich College in South London,

02 Jun 2015 15:44 #257987 by mapoui
well I was born a liltte before dat but I still know Nunes.  he was the fus' west indian captain to england.

strange how dem fellas an dem dead fuh little...64 years his one, 68 Goddard...Challenor 58 or so..

interesting!

• dillinger10
02 Jun 2015 15:50 #257992 by dillinger10
Great stuff, Maps. I love learning about the history of the game. I was not familiar with either Barrow or Christiani but I see they both kept wicket and opened the batting - a rare combination in any era of cricket.

02 Jun 2015 15:53 #257993 by ketchim
One of the Christiani is my sis in law Grandfather  ;)

• dillinger10
02 Jun 2015 15:58 #257995 by dillinger10
Sammy Guillen has an interesting story too. He played 5 Tests for West Indies and then just up and left for New Zealand where he waited out 3 years before representing the black caps in 3 Tests. Do you know the reason why he switched allegiances?

Time to create page: 0.203 seconds
MaleahNow that Joe Root has 2 centuries in Australia, I assume those Australian fans, who said he couldn’t be classed as great unless he achieved that, will now say he is?? Given that the great Steve Smith has never scored a test ton in Pakistan….(05.01.2026, 12:31)(12:31)0