Plantains

Captain · 01-13-2014, 02:11 PM · 2 people reading this discussion

... and why is this news?

Mes , u know Clare Lindor from the Pomeroon ??  :-\

Nah .. I ent know Pomeroon people.

reprise Mes..all of it...is ah long time now we ent think of Sparrows rudeness Tongue

hahahaha....maaannn...I can eat some roast plantain all now !

with nice melted salt buttah !  8)

mes , plantain is such a versatile food .

Flour , foo foo, Chips , boil and fry , soup and I am sure odda variations  8)

the very young plantain we called it .....tuku-tuku (don't know how else to spell it)

but, you cook it in a small amount of water and actually boil it down

then you chunkay it with onion and garlic

yummmmm!!

yeah , yeah Belle....yuuuummm for true ....thanks for the reminder !  Wink

[quote author=VillageBelle link=topic=86830.msg543856#msg543856 date=1389717902]

the very young plantain we called it .....tuku-tuku
did you call the pound one with mortar and pestle .." Foo Foo "  ??  :-\

OR was just a Kitty village ting....

Ketch - as i recall it, the only time we used pound/ground plantain was to make porridge for the babies.

i also remember the very poor folks (who could not afford milk of any kind) used to boil the mature green plantains, put small amount of  milk in the water, put in bottle with the snap-on nipple and feed to babies.