Has this happened to you in a restaurant, should I have gone to the manager?

• priya
21 Sep 2014 11:27 #214276 by priya
I was in a resturant, which I will not name, I ordered a meal with coffee, the sugar on my table was white sugar, but I wanted brown sugar, because it's healthier, and brown sugar is sugar's natural color, white sugar is chemically bleached, so I asked a waitress for brown sugar, she looked at me like I was crazy, she told me I already had sugar, but I told her I wanted brown, then she left, I thought she was going to get brown sugar for me, so I waited, and like 10 minutes into my meal, she passed me, attending to other customers, and when she passed me, I waved to her and asked about my brown sugar, and again, she looked at me like I was crazy, so I told her again to bring me brown sugar and this time she did, so I finished my meal, drank my coffee and left, and for the way she treated me, I didn't tip her, should I have gone to the manager?

What's the problem ordering brown sugar in a restaurant? I always order it and I also have it in my home.

21 Sep 2014 12:11 #214282 by ketchim
I walk with my own Peppah sauce  ;)

• Snoopster
21 Sep 2014 13:53 #214296 by Snoopster
Of course you should have talked to the manager.  I hate snobby restaurant workers.  If I get attitude early on I usually get up and leave.  No need to put up with that shyte. 

Don't get me wrong, I don't expect servers to treat you like royalty but at least be polite especially if you are polite to them.  And, I only give the amount of tax as tip.  That way, it is consistent and proportionate.

• Snoopster
21 Sep 2014 14:01 #214298 by Snoopster
Oh and by the way Priya, why do you have a problem naming the restaurant?

• pattycake
21 Sep 2014 14:06 #214299 by pattycake
Yeah. You should have taken it up with the manager, and you were certainly right not to tip her. The restaurant is probably not used to people requesting brown sugar and why the waitress saw it appropriate to ignore you. But by bringing it to the manager's attention they can make an adjustment to their service. Odd requests shouldn't warrant a cold response from the staff. That can be bad for business.

21 Sep 2014 14:19 #214301 by ketchim
Was probably a brown waitress... :-[

• Meseret
22 Sep 2014 09:13 #214377 by Meseret
Were you polite? 

I'm asking because I have never encountered such.  One guy actually made me a whole new cup of coffee because it was cold, and I asked him if he could warm it up a bit.

If you are not polite, you get shoddy treatment.

22 Sep 2014 09:57 #214382 by ketchim
U really love to stalk me , eh ?  ..Go and wash yuh Crease  :P

22 Sep 2014 09:59 #214383 by ketchim
TIPS is an Acronym that spells out :

To

Improve

P
olite and professional

Service

No Tips for she , whether she is brown or whether she is Chin ;D

22 Sep 2014 10:14 #214389 by The Captain
doubt manager would have done anything

must be happening frequently here

Time to create page: 0.227 seconds
MaleahNow that Joe Root has 2 centuries in Australia, I assume those Australian fans, who said he couldn’t be classed as great unless he achieved that, will now say he is?? Given that the great Steve Smith has never scored a test ton in Pakistan….(05.01.2026, 12:31)(12:31)0