21 Jan 2015 15:49 #235831
The backpedaling was at its Benny Hill best at this point. But the Snoopster will never let such rampant stupidity go unnoticed and/or unpunished.
Re: Not Lord Shiva but Buddha is the real Diety
«
Reply #56 on: 01/15/2015, 04:01 PM »
Quote from: SCA on 01/15/2015, 03:49 PM
<blockquote>Again, I am telling you that
I never MENTIONED that my religious teaching oiginated from religion
...however I received my teaching via religion. Don't get lost in the subtlety and get confused into thinking that this is a contradiction. Slow down...read a bit closely. I know that you are in a hurry to condemn my views...but...try to look smart in so doing.
</blockquote>
You'll have to do better than this.
I'll repeat what you wrote and which is your case to prove:
"Religion is good. From religion we learnt all the sciences we know today. I understand that early pursuit of education was initiated via religon. There is where we were taught our morals and that is where our values were inculcated. We must not, and cannot allow, the demented, the misguided, and the crazies to triumph over our judgment of all religionists."
21 Jan 2015 15:49 #235832
www.debate.org/opinions/is-morality-innate
No, it's not something one is born with.
If morality were innate, there would be no psychopaths or sociopaths walking around, and there are plenty of those.
One learns morality from the way one is raised and treated by society, as well as other factors.
It's not in the DNA like blue eyes or brown hair that one inherits, unfortunately.
21 Jan 2015 15:52 #235833
Answer me this question Ketch. Do you believe that Mr. God penned the 10 Commandments?
21 Jan 2015 15:53 #235834
Plain and simple, morality is a construct created by humans to justify certain behaviors.
Some philosophers, like Kant, have claimed morality exists inherently in the universe.
However if you dissect history it is apparent that morality is not innate but a system of
behaviors designated by certain groups (typically those in power) to control the masses
21 Jan 2015 15:55 #235835
You're proving my point here. I don't think you realize it. ::LOL::
21 Jan 2015 15:56 #235836
One need only cite a few examples -- such as homosexuality, automobiles, and/or suicide --
to realize there is no objective "innate" answer.
The "morality" of each of these items is based on cultural or religious perspective
at certain times in history.
Morality is completely subjective and fluid and, therefore, not innate.
21 Jan 2015 15:59 #235837
SCA is correct as well ....Morality in not necessarily Innate.
It is also learned.
De man seh he learn it from he religion.
21 Jan 2015 15:59 #235838
No. Morality is not relative. That position has been thoroughly dismantled. There are several moral 'virtues' applicable to all societies and without which there would be no social cohesion.
The best example is the golden rule cited by almost all organized societies. Another is the prohibition against murder.
21 Jan 2015 16:02 #235839
No, this is what he said. I'll give a free cookie to the first person to break this enigma code. ::LOL::
"I never mentioned that my religious teachings originated from religion, however I received my teaching via religion, with my mom as my teacher."
21 Jan 2015 16:04 #235840
And Ketchim Bin Laden. Why can't you answer a simple question?
Do you believe that Mr. God penned the 10 commandments?
Mayor of Paris SUE Snoopster !
Time to create page: 0.240 seconds