It's time for atheists to stop debating God's existence and decide what to do

16 Mar 2015 10:21 #246494 by chairman

It’s time for atheists to move past theoretical questions about the existence of God and onto more practical pursuits – like how to fight for justice.

The atheist community is quickly coming up against the limits of debating whether God is real. The New Atheist movement made a splash in the early 2000s with its brash assertion that the existence of God was a hypothesis that can be examined, debated and critically analyzed like any other, and rejected if the evidence is found wanting. Its critiques, targeting both the feverish imaginings of fundamentalism and the stale platitudes of conventional piety, were as cleansing and welcome as a cool breeze in a stuffy room.

But while that stance can be the beginning of a philosophy, it can’t be the end. It raises the question: once you no longer believe the claims of religion, what do you believe?

For many, being an atheist makes this world and life infinitely more significant, since they’re all we have. Having seen so many examples of oppression, injustice and violence promoted by religion, atheists can and should have a strong reason to desire justice in society. That’s why atheist groups, especially atheist student groups, are increasingly joining forces with other social change movements and emphasizing how their goals and ours intersect.

The oldest and strongest example is secular groups’ support for LGBT rights, since we’ve long recognized that the primary opposition to them in America and other Western nations comes almost entirely from religion. In the pending US supreme court case that could establish same-sex marriage nationwide, two venerable national secular groups, the American Humanist Association and the Center for Inquiry, submitted a friend-of-the-court brief urging the justices to rule for marriage equality.

At the thinnest end of the wedge, in places where equal rights for same-sex couples is a radical and fiercely controversial proposition, atheists are present too. Amanda Scott, a paralegal student and humanist celebrant in Mobile, Alabama, weathered a storm of harassment when she spoke up against a proposal to put religious plaques on government buildings. She’s also the founder of Mobile Equality, a non-profit group dedicated to educating the public on LGBT rights.

Beyond opposing homophobia, the atheist community has also been making common cause with feminism. In January, the SSA at Sacramento City College in California worked together with the Sac City Feminists and the Queer/Straight Alliance to present Sex+City, a week of sex-positive events that brought in speakers such as Laci Green, a YouTube star and sex education advocate, to give presentations on consent, relationships, body image, gender issues and more. Proceeds from the event were donated to local nonprofits, including the Sacramento Gender Health Center. As a follow-up, these groups joined forces to convince the college administration to include gender-neutral restrooms in all buildings on campus.

Last but not least, the Students for Free-thought at the University of Michigan-Flint have been taking on the whole spectrum of social justice causes. Among other things, they’ve hosted a dialogue on climate change, a die-in protest with the Black Student Union to call attention to police brutality and racially biased drug laws, a death with dignity roundtable discussion, and a speak-out for survivors of rape, sexual assault, stalking and harassment to share their stories in a safe space.

Projects like these from secular groups all around the country are emblematic of a broader shift in the movement’s priorities. The Secular Student Alliance, the national umbrella group representing these colleges and many more, recently retooled its mission statement to include an explicit focus on social justice and diversity.

As the atheist community becomes larger and more diverse, attracting a broader range of people from different backgrounds, this is a natural direction for our activism to take. It’s also a step that both atheists and people who care about social justice should applaud, because our alliance makes both causes stronger. Our opposition is largely the same: the socially conservative faction, bolstered by religion.

That’s why the more that the atheist community moves beyond purely philosophical debates to embrace the practical pursuit of justice, the more we can establish a reputation for ourselves as a force for good in the world.
theguardian.com

• King Mohunlal
16 Mar 2015 10:32 #246499 by King Mohunlal
The "New Atheists", with their billboards, lawsuits, monuments (satan and otherwise), etc. definitely have an agenda with money to spend. I like the idea of doing something productive with their effort, rather than simply attacking the beliefs of others.

16 Mar 2015 10:46 - 16 Mar 2015 20:15 #246503 by mapoui

the beliefs of others shud not be up for attack!  why are they exposed and up for attack..because they are trying to force them on those who attack the beliefs ::confused:: ::confused:: ::confused::

be careful wat you do with your beliefs.  they are yours! I doh want them.  and if deh impinge on my well being I have the right do defend mihself.. to seek to protect my well being.

the bes' ting to do with your beliefs is to keep dem tuh yuhsef ::)
Last edit: 16 Mar 2015 20:15 by mapoui.

• Barbosa
16 Mar 2015 10:52 #246504 by Barbosa
It does appear to me that this article sets up a false premise and then goes about knocking it down. I don't see the point to that. As an atheist and a member of the Unitarian/Universalist Association, I see very little indulgence among atheist in "theoretical questions about the existence of God." It is a given and as in the examples in this article most spend their time and thought or more practical pursuits. I find that those who do believe in a god,spend most of their time in attempting to establish the existence of a god as a universal given; much of the time to the exclusion of" more practical pursuits - like how to fight of justice." That also appears to me to be the result of the frailty of their belief.

16 Mar 2015 11:48 #246526 by ketchim
Atheists are Lazy individuals....

Snoopster agrees !  :-[

16 Mar 2015 11:51 #246528 by 7643664

Personally I'm of the belief that there can be no morality with a god.
That might sound like a flippant comment but it isn't. I'm convinced that you can't have a moral code based on a dictatorship from above.

• karlaa
16 Mar 2015 12:37 #246543 by karlaa
Whether one is atheist, religious, or spiritual, one thing for sure is that religion has been used as a means of control far more than atheism.

• ali
16 Mar 2015 13:17 #246560 by ali
The answer is that nobody knows whether a god/gods exist. Just because no proof has been found does not necessarily mean that there is no god or gods. As humans, we are limited in what we understand and what we comprehend.
What I don't like are either the very religious or atheists ramming their views down my throat, although the former is more of a "menace" than the latter.

• BDBH
16 Mar 2015 14:23 #246568 by BDBH
There is a big difference between secular organisations and atheist organisations. Secular organisationsa are all inclusive, regardless of one's religious beliefs and affiliations, or non-beliefs, so people from all walks of life can gather under the same banner, for a common cause.
Atheist organisations, would be just as religious organisations, segregating people based on believes and ideologies, thus, exclusive of people with other beliefs, even if they may want to fight for the same nobel cause.
As Dawkins put it, organising atheists is like herding cats, because they tend to think independently, and do not conform to authority.
The world is already segregated enough based on ideologies, some of them more tolerant of new ideas, others less.
Nevertheless, atheists should take more initiative of promoting social justice. How to do it, I'm not quite sure, but it should me more inclusive then exclusive.

• May102014
16 Mar 2015 15:02 #246572 by May102014
Atheists are allow to believe what they want. If one doesn't believe in the existence of a higher power, than that is their decision. Personally, I am a very spiritual person and I believe in life beyond this Earth due to many experiences I have had with spirits and my basic understanding of the eternal soul. Spirituality is something you can't teach or provide scientific fact, which is something Atheists love to use as a weapon to mock or diminish others belief in religion. I don't mind atheists or their views but I wish they wouldn't continue to lessen the belief system of others as it pertains to religion simply because they may find it foolish.

Time to create page: 0.217 seconds
MaleahNow that Joe Root has 2 centuries in Australia, I assume those Australian fans, who said he couldn’t be classed as great unless he achieved that, will now say he is?? Given that the great Steve Smith has never scored a test ton in Pakistan….(05.01.2026, 12:31)(12:31)0