22 Jun 2015 20:31 #260724
CHARLESTON/COLUMBIA, S.C., June 22 (Reuters) - South Carolina Governor Nikki Haley on Monday called on lawmakers to take down the Confederate battle flag in the state capital, a week after a white gunman allegedly shot dead nine black worshipers at a historic church.
The flag that has flown at the State House grounds in Columbia for the past half century became a fresh focus of criticism in recent days after the Charleston church massacre, which federal authorities are investigating as a hate crime and an act of terrorism by accused gunman Dylann Roof, 21, who posed with the flag in photos posted online.
"It's time to move the flag from the capital grounds," Haley, a Republican, told a news conference in the state capital, about 100 miles (161 km) from the shooting.
"The flag, while an integral part of our past, does not represent the future of our great state."
Haley called on lawmakers, whose normal legislative year wraps up this week, to address the issue over the summer and said she would order a special session if they did not.
23 Jun 2015 13:32 #260794
In downtown Charleston, a statue of former politician and defender of slavery John C Calhoun :
was defaced with the word
"racist" scrawled underneath.
24 Jun 2015 10:46 #261011
MAN I AM TIRED OF AMERICA.
I AM WAITING FOR THE MISTAKE, THE ACCIDENT... THAT BLOWS THEM ALL TO HELL UP AND SAVES THE REST OF THE PLANET FROM ELIMINATION AT THEIR HANDS
24 Jun 2015 11:02 #261014
oh geeeze! Googs you live in the USA too..and Chairman...
oh guuuuuuuuuuuude. so if it blow we go loose the forum
ok! I change mih mind dem. allyuh doh blow den. we have to find another way to fix allyuh, get rid of alluh rabid before it spreads and kills everybody
24 Jun 2015 11:23 #261015
relax Maps.
What you are seeing is the power of democracy...regardless how it sounds to one's logic! ::LOL::
24 Jun 2015 11:29 #261019
What we are seeing is the racist underbelly of White Amricans.
I once stated that Whites will never accept Blacks.
AND this same Mapoui took great offence !
South Carolina governor calls for rebel flag's removal from grounds
Time to create page: 0.231 seconds