Moses is the best choice for Prime Minister

• SCA
12 Oct 2015 16:10 #274508 by SCA
In any other part of the world, when one group perpetrates violent crime against another, that should be considered a HATE crime. They are picking on these people because they are defenseless, and the governemnet is insulated from the daily suffering of the masses. Did they campaign on a crime reduction platform? If so then that platform was rotten to the core, and it has given away to a tsunami of misery for the predominantly indos who are subjected to crimes on a daily basis.

Where is Ramjattan? Lest I forget, the man is going to fetch another set of 'hopefuls' so the crime wave can continue unabated. Last I check, how is the gun amnesty going? Success, you bet! The poor bush peole were afraid and turned in 120 of the 140 guns. Major success that. 

Kitty vendor shot at Bourda market

Shares
 Share ï‚™ Tweet 

ï„…

At about 2330h. last night, police say that food vendor Sewdassie Jagmohan of Kitty, Georgetown, was attacked by two men, one of whom was armed with a firearm, at Bourda Market, Georgetown.

Jagmohan was shot to her right foot and robbed of $300,000 by the perpetrators who escaped.

She has been admitted to hospital as the investigations continue.

• SCA
12 Oct 2015 16:14 #274509 by SCA

Bandits rob Meten-Meer-Zorg pastor, church members

At about 2000h. last night, the police say that Pastor Dillip Bikhari of the Universal Church at Meten-Meer-Zorg, WCD, was in the process of closing the church when he, along with Andrea Santos of Brazil and two other church members, were attacked and held up by three men armed with handguns.

The men took away about $400,000, three cell phones, US$1,000 and a lap top computer and escaped.

The police responded to the report received and were able to arrest one of the suspects in the Meten-Meer-Zorg area in whose possession was found an unlicensed .357 magnum revolver, one of the stolen cell phones and the stolen lap top computer.

He is in police custody assisting with the investigations.

More of the same...gun toting bandits. They will be out soon to continue the travesty.

Lets take a guess who these perps are? Lets take another guess who the victims are? See the pattern here folks? Is it retribution for not supporting the ruling party? Is it a hate crime? Is it a crime of opportunity?

Pray Pastor, may the lord be with you...but he should have helped you, maybe he did...they caught one of the perps with the 357 magnum that the guy was going to the station to hand over to the police. Save a prayer for the bredda.

• SCA
12 Oct 2015 16:16 #274510 by SCA
Perhaps the father of the nation, Mr. Granger, can unleash another wave of youthful offenders to continue the violence and crime. 

• SCA
12 Oct 2015 16:21 #274511 by SCA
It is a pity that the Security Minister is not as passionate about his duties/responsibilities as tis Annette Feerguson. She has set measurable goals, defined a plan of implementation and is gathering the resources to resolve electrical fires. When will this minister of insecurity get off his ass? What is he doing in Canada? Perhaps soaking up the good life. Another notable accomplishment!!!!

Minister wants electrical-related fires cut by 75%

A batch of 50 persons commenced a National Electrical Code (NEC) training workshop today at the Regency Suites/Hotel, Georgetown and Minister in the Ministry of Public Infrastructure, Annette Ferguson charged them to set a benchmark at reducing electrical-related fires by 75%.

GINA said that the programme comes under the aegis of the Hinterland Electrification Company Inc. (HECI) of the Ministry of Public Infrastructure and is aimed at training 100 electrical personnel on the NEC.

The NEC is a set of criteria for construction, installation, repair, up-grade and other electrical works. The workshop will be held over two weeks.

GINA reported that Ferguson, at the opening ceremony, said that many examples can be cited and which pinpoint the unquantifiable losses due to fires of electrical origin.

“We cannot allow that state of play to continue…We have to standardise our approaches… We must adhere to the one code that governs us all. The NEC is structured in such a way that it gives the requisite guidance for all aspects of our operations, whether we are contractors, engineers, lecturers, or instructors. We must hold each other’s feet to the fire of compliance, to ensure that other people don’t get burnt,” Minister Ferguson explained.

She added that compliance to these standards are vital as without it, lives will be lost and properties destroyed.

“We can’t allow that… we are all in this together, to ensure that all critical elements of this code are meticulously adhered to… This is my charge to you… Let us set a Key Performance Indicator for the electricity sector that seeks to reduce electrically related fires by at least 75%. Let us strive to set up achievable service levels that evolve around it ensuring that all home and office installations be verified for compliance with the new code within the next year,” Ferguson urged.

• SCA
12 Oct 2015 16:28 #274512 by SCA

Tis story is too funny...the Police finds grenades along with the ID of a Major in the GDF. Now they check their 'supplies' and they found nothing missing. Question: Do you believe these guys know how to count? They never lost any AK47...but they can't account for any.
Now when the police and GDF cooperates it is usually done with the sole purpose of hiding the truth, thieving, and tormenting the masses. Which of this is it?

GDF aiding grenades discovery probe – Chief of Staff

The Guyana Defence Force (GDF) says that it is assisting police with investigations into the Saturday find of a box containing 15 grenades and a small quantity of live ammunition near the Lamaha Canal on Sheriff Street but that an inventory of its armory so far shows none of its munitions is missing.

“We have checked our inventory and haven’t discovered any missing grenades. But we continue to work…

• SCA
12 Oct 2015 16:31 #274513 by SCA
This is too funny to be true. Has this man proven himself to be the WORST mayor, ever???? Why is he being awarded? Why is he chairing the Housing and Planning Committee? Guyana have no talent? Or this man is UNIQUELY qualified? This chap should never be given any additional responsibilities until he can do the job as mayor of GT. Incompetents!!!!

Hamilton Green to chair CH&PA
Mayor of Georgetown Hamilton Green has been appointed as Chairman of the Board of Directors of the Central Housing and Planning Authority (CH&PA).

• SCA
12 Oct 2015 16:34 #274514 by SCA
Guess what? Everyone and their grandmothers will be taking their monies out of Guyana. No one wants big brother to be in their business. 
Good call GRA. I can't make these stories up. This is original bumblings.

Bill seeks to enable release of bank info to GRA

Government will soon table a bill that would permit financial institutions to disclose customer information to the Guyana Revenue Authority (GRA) when the agency makes a “lawful request” for the information.

According to the exploratory memorandum for the Financial Institutions (Amendment) Bill 2015, the bill seeks to amend section 63 of the Financial Institutions Act to permit disclosure of customer information by a financial institution to the GRA, where a law so requires or where the revenue authority makes a lawful…

• SCA
12 Oct 2015 16:38 #274515 by SCA
Now see, our Po-lice is busy organizing dances, firing guns, maiming innocent people than fight crime. Security Minister, anyone? Oh wait...meh bwoy sipping rum and coke at the Hut in TO. No worries. 

Family of burnt girl wants trigger-happy cop punished

The family of Lukeisha Clarke, the pregnant woman who was burnt by a wire on Friday, is pleading with the authorities to apply the full force of the law on the officer who fired the shot and caused the incident.

“The government must fire the officer and he must not have to deal with guns anymore,” Jem Belle, Clarke’s aunt told Stabroek News yesterday. She said that she understood that every Friday night the dance would be organized by police officers and would attract a horde of other officers. “Is hustle she does go

• SCA
12 Oct 2015 16:43 #274516 by SCA
This is how we do it. Secret pardons. Transparency? Nah...this is deliverance. It is a tabernacle of the sinners.
Simply beautiful This should be a ticket to the young men who are career criminals...commit your crimes early, as a pardon soon awaits you. You do not deserve to be in jail. Granger, father of the scoundrels/criminals lamented.

Granger vows to continue pardons despite criticisms over secrecy

President David Granger on Friday shrugged off criticisms over his pardoning of dozens of persons convicted of minor offences, while saying he will do so again.

“Some people are quarrelling…,” Granger said on Friday to hundreds of students and teachers who had gathered at the National Park, where a rally was held to conclude the observance of Education Month. “But I say to them [prisoners] go your way and sin no more. Get out of jail and go to college, go to universities instead… I will do it again next year and my critics will keep on complaining,” he added, while stressing that young people should be in school and not jail.

His comments appeared to be a response to the Guyana Bar Association (GBA), which has voiced its concern over the secretive manner in which the pardons were done. “While the Bar Association supports the principle of pardon, we regret that until these questions are

• SCA
12 Oct 2015 16:54 #274517 by SCA
Now the articles I have highlighted comes from today's and yesterday's SN...not the much maligned GY Times. This is the official support media outlet of the APNU/AFC coalition. Just imagine the cesspool that Guyana has descended into? The police are partying and in drunken stupor maiming innocent people. The President is pardoning them when they are incarcerated. The amnesty is so successfully effective that everyday they find a new gun in the hands of the criminals. Even when the police find the ammunition with the major's id, the army says that it didn't lose any, can't trace it. And when you arrived at the country's CJA airport, you have many secret admirers, who pass on your information to the hoodlums to pay you and your family a nice, welcoming vist at your place of abode. Just as you meet at the gate, they relieve you off all your valuables, beat you up, and shoot you if necessary to ensure that your stay was most memorable, and unforgettable. So what is going on here?

Don't call on the Security minister Ramjattan, he busy. He gone to TO to woo his supporters...tell them how nice and pleasant and attractive Guyana's investment atmosphere is. That the GRA will monitor your cash at will. That the major industries are crippled and the money circulation is slowing to a crawl. And the criminals are perpetrating in racist criminal activities that insults the dignity and humanity of any civilized country. Sweet Guyana! APNU style for you folks wishing to visit.

Cheers folks! It gets worse. 

Time to create page: 0.175 seconds
MaleahNow that Joe Root has 2 centuries in Australia, I assume those Australian fans, who said he couldn’t be classed as great unless he achieved that, will now say he is?? Given that the great Steve Smith has never scored a test ton in Pakistan….(05.01.2026, 12:31)(12:31)0