“If you are a Jew, you should be very afraid of Donald Trump”

• Chin
06 Dec 2015 21:52 #282175 by Chin
“If you are a Jew, you should be very afraid of Donald Trump”

Trump has always appealed to bigots. His address to a Jewish coalition confirms that he's an anti-Semite himself
MATTHEW ROZSA, THE GOOD MEN PROJECT

"If you are a Jew, you should be very afraid of Donald Trump"
This piece originally appeared on The Good Men Project.
The Good Men Project If you are a Jew, you should be very afraid of Donald Trump.

For a while I explained this sentiment thusly: Trump may not be personally anti-Semitic, but anti-Semites sure seem to love Trump. After all, I’ve received countless emails attacking me for being Jewish when I’ve written articles criticizing the Republican frontrunner… even though none of those pieces actually identified my religion (for more on that, click here). Even though this didn’t prove that Trump was himself an anti-Semite, it certainly reflected the inherent bigotry that he stirs up in his supporters.

Then Trump decided to speak at the Republican Jewish Coalition earlier today and forced me to revise my earlier opinion. I don’t care that Trump’s daughter married a Jew and converted to his religion – the man is an anti-Semite and I’m calling him out as such.

Here are some choice quotes from his speech, courtesy of the good folks at Vox:

“Stupidly, you want to give money. …You’re not going to support me because I don’t want your money.”

“I’m a negotiator, like you folks.”

“Is there anyone in this room who doesn’t negotiate deals? Probably more than any room I’ve ever spoken.”

Trump was also booed by the audience for refusing to state that Jerusalem ought to remain the undivided capital of Israel, an offense that I don’t particularly consider to be racist. On the other hand, check out this attack on the national character of the Jewish State:

“A lot will have to do with Israel and whether or not Israel wants to make the deal — whether or not Israel’s willing to sacrifice certain things. They may not be, and I understand that, and I’m OK with that. But then you’re just not going to have a deal.”

It is at this point that I must doff my hat to Sen. Marco Rubio (R-FL), who had the courage to call The Donald out on the intolerance embedded in that comment:

“Some in our own party actually question Israel’s commitment to peace. Some in our own party actually call for more sacrifice from the Israeli people. They are dead wrong, and don’t understand the enduring bond between Israel and America.

“Let me be crystal clear: there is no moral equivalence between Israel and its enemies. Understanding that fundamental truth is essential to being the next Commander in Chief. This is not a real estate deal with two sides arguing over money. It’s a struggle to safeguard the future of Israel.”

Even before Trump made these reprehensible remarks, many Republican Jews had already expressed reservations about his candidacy. In an article with Mint Press News, Republican political consultant Nathan Wurtzel (who is Jewish) pointed out that “there are a lot of folks who are, to be charitable, into white identity politics, and to be uncharitable are outright racists, who are supporting Trump. It’s very off-putting and disturbing.” Former Senator Norm Coleman (R-MN), who is also Jewish, observed that “in order for us to become a party [of anyone] other than white men, we need to be reaching out. I think Trump’s language and perspective is a long-term negative in terms of building the party.”

Indeed it is, and Coleman’s remarks speak to a much deeper truth. In the ugly world of racial bigotry, there is usually very little distinction between hatred of one minority group and hatred of another. The precise stereotypes often differ, to be sure, as does the exact way in which the prejudice manifests itself. Nevertheless, individuals who are predisposed to racist worldviews are more likely to apply that mindset to a multitude of minority groups than not. Trump’s recent remarks to the Republican Jewish Coalition are just one more demonstration of this reality – and Jews throughout America should take note, and be cautious.

Matthew Rozsa is a Ph.D. student in history at Lehigh University and a political columnist. His editorials have been published on Salon, The Good Men Project, Mic, MSNBC, and various college newspapers and blogs. For a full review of all his published work, visit matthewrozsa.com.

07 Dec 2015 01:17 #282179 by mapoui
I wont even waste my time to read dat article given the headline to this post/thread.  it is a stupid inaccurate misleading headline.

first of all Donald Trump a is goyim billionaire on money made in NewYork..an impossibility without Jews in and out of and running his empire. NewYork is Jew town and it is likely if Jews did not want Trump to be a billionaire they could have stopped him.  and even now they prolly still can stop him

with Jews all over his business Trump can have no secrets from the Jews. and what is crucial is that trumps Children are married into top class, elite of the elites Jewish families.  and that they actually converted to Judaism to accomplish those marriages.

that is total nonsense that.  Donald Trump is as big a Jewish stooge and puppet as Obama is..and as the line of american presidents/presidential candidates... have been since Eisenhower/JFK

no Jew is afraid of Trump when they know they have him by the balls.  they spin all this crap for all of us to mislead.  but dig into Trumps connections in his life and see the inescapable truth fuh yourself chiny chin chin ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL::

• MichelleVL
07 Dec 2015 01:37 #282181 by MichelleVL
For all his millions, Trump is a simple-minded, ridiculous, racist fool. My main concern is that he has no diplomacy, and with him as President he'll only gain the US more enemies. He will just bring war to the nation. He is pretentious, conceited and with no sense of propriety. He is one big joke. It's like every time he opens his mouth something stupid and moronic comes out. Every time he opens his mouth he offends another group of people. There are teenagers that speak better than him. I go by this, If you are racist to one, then you are racist to all. With him as President don't expect any form of consideration if you are not Caucasian. Thankfully, Caucasians are now a minority in the US, so chances of him winning the elections are slim to none. He has been successful in the hotel and real estate industry, he should stick to that, and leave the people that have strived their entire lives in the Political arena a fair opportunity to actually make a difference. He is an embarrassment to Americans and it's time he ceases turning a serious matter as it is politics into a circus or clown show.

07 Dec 2015 11:01 #282205 by ketchim
Good catch ,Mapster  ::LOL::

• Astdua
08 Dec 2015 06:13 #282338 by Astdua

Sums it up. No american billionaire can be "anti-jewish". That's oxymoron.

08 Dec 2015 09:46 #282381 by Nargis
i really wish ppl would stop giving this man attn. 

If you cant see that this is just a farce of distraction and to bamboozle what is left of the normal thinking americans.

08 Dec 2015 10:03 #282389 by ketchim

None Left !! perfect example are the posters here from NY  :P

08 Dec 2015 11:16 #282422 by ketchim
supporters backed Mr Trump online,

with controversial conservative commentator Ann Coulter tweeting:

"GO TRUMP, GO!"

08 Dec 2015 11:18 #282424 by mapoui
Trump  is an impse.  He will be an awful president

08 Dec 2015 13:47 #282457 by ketchim

The citizens deserve him  ;)

Time to create page: 0.213 seconds
MaleahNow that Joe Root has 2 centuries in Australia, I assume those Australian fans, who said he couldn’t be classed as great unless he achieved that, will now say he is?? Given that the great Steve Smith has never scored a test ton in Pakistan….(05.01.2026, 12:31)(12:31)0