The Holidays

• SCA
23 Dec 2015 10:21 #284968 by SCA
The holidays, especially Christmas, brings me a confluence of emotions, mostly happy, but also the ever present melancholic reflections. I take stock of what I have, how far I have come, and I also think of things past, reflecting on happy times, with folks who have gone beyond, leaving their indelible imprint on my memories, my life and undeniably my future. Christmas brings rich tidings.

That we are all present for this holiday, and more importantly on WICF’s site is a testimony to our health and wellbeing, and Chairman’s generosity. We are living in one of the greatest periods in history. We can communicate, travel, experience and do all the things that would have taken royals eons to accomplish. Although we don’t consider ourselves royalty, our lives are multiple times more luxurious. Our servants may not be human, but definitely machines. At our command, things are accomplished, in record time and enviable efficiency. Let’s give thanks.

Reflecting on Christmas, my sense of sights, sounds and scents has not been diminished with the passage of time. I remember my mom and dad, and a house full of chattering children, clanging in the kitchen, and festive exchanges. Of cake baking. The masala brick working on overdrive that day. The kitchen would be a happening place. The rush was to facilitate the intended relaxation that evening. As children, there were few gifts, however there was plenty of comparison and arguments between siblings. We will be hosting the ritualistic visits by families, who would make the exception to come calling. We will attend mass. Christmas it was! Music from the neighbor’s house will come blaring, and it will invite the sight of men merry making. However nothing compares to the excitement of a child, in the comfort of his home, and in the company of his/her beloved family. I think of how much richer and more celebratory Christmas would have been for me if I had the luxury of having those characters around today. I remember.

As you partake in celebrating Christmas 2015, let’s hope that there is much fun, joy, happiness and comfort with and amongst those we cherish. It is a blessing to be with our loved ones. Eat, drink responsibly, and let us hope that the best is yet to come. It is my wish that the children now, like myself then, are able to greet the festive seasons, and generate a lifetime of rich memories, with eternal gratitude and hopefulness in the human spirit. Celebrate! 

Happy Holidays folks...keep it safe and healthy.

23 Dec 2015 10:26 #284970 by Nargis
oooh verryyy nice!

Merry Christmas to you and the family!!!

Eat lots of peppa pot and bread!

• SCA
23 Dec 2015 10:40 #284977 by SCA

Same to you...hope you enjoy much of all things good for the new year. Much happiness and success to you and yours!

23 Dec 2015 10:42 #284979 by Googley
Well Said, SCA!

Hope you been a good boy and Mrs Clause brings you lots of "toys" and gifts!  :P

• SCA
23 Dec 2015 10:47 #284981 by SCA

Googs...you too my fren...make sure you be on your bestest behavior...otherwise no milk and cookies for you...LOL

But wait, when was the last time you were at your bestest? LOL

23 Dec 2015 10:49 #284984 by Googley

long long time...ah can't even remember!!  8)

23 Dec 2015 10:57 #284990 by The Captain
happy holidays all
makes a good reading

• Scooby Snack
23 Dec 2015 11:42 #285006 by Scooby Snack
Even if you don't explicitly celebrate it, with things being the way they are in the world right now, I think we could all use a little Christmas spirit. I'm greeting 2016 with caution...

• SCA
23 Dec 2015 11:53 #285015 by SCA
Scooby, 2016 will be a fantastic year...you have to think it, before you make it happen.

Caution is a must in our daily lives, I agree.

23 Dec 2015 12:10 #285020 by ketchim
Folks , Berbishi Xmas is like a diff Country than a GT chrissmus

Last bubble of the peppah pot : aniseed bread from narine's or beharry

kids begging fuh anodda piece of Garlic poke or lamb

ginger beer being strained from bottles left in the sun

sorrel drink being strained as well

Masquerade drums and Mad Cow running around outside....

Guns and Sacket firing with Caps

bombs noise made outa 2 big nuts ...  et cetera , et cetera    ;)

Time to create page: 0.205 seconds
MaleahNow that Joe Root has 2 centuries in Australia, I assume those Australian fans, who said he couldn’t be classed as great unless he achieved that, will now say he is?? Given that the great Steve Smith has never scored a test ton in Pakistan….(05.01.2026, 12:31)(12:31)0