The Holidays

24 Dec 2015 10:21 #285136 by ketchim
Who recall Walker the British Man : and him Brick ?  :-\

Walker The British' was a mixed-race (Mulatto) man, who sold sweepstake tickets around Water Street, armed with two bricks. Apparently, he came from an educated family, and then, like Bertie Vaughn, "went 'round duh bend". He was an ardent supporter of British superiority, shouting "British yuh fool! Highest hair and colour!" People taunted him, calling him "Walker the nigger"

and so he retaliated with his two bricks,

sometimes drawing blood from his tormentors. He slept at the Palms, letting himself out daily on his rounds.

www.guyana.org/memories.html

• Meseret
24 Dec 2015 10:23 #285137 by Meseret
Boy was I scared o him!!!

And do you remember the other one who used to try murder cases, with coconut men as the accused?  Complete with gallows to hang them and all ...

24 Dec 2015 10:28 #285141 by ketchim
I am just dispensing some friendly advice : This is serious stuff.

SCA is symptomatic of mental health.

When a big man miss he masala brick ....you know  :-[

• SCA
24 Dec 2015 10:29 #285142 by SCA
Masala Brick Revisited:

The traditional Grind stone ( Sil Batta) holds a lot of nostalgic memories to many, especially who are above 40 years since it is possible that in their childhood, moms used to make the delicious curries and chutneys with it. The thought of Sil batta thus evokes memories of Mother, sister,  village, home, childhood and may be the relative uncomplicated life one had. So it can be redesigned or re discovered to extract this emotional quotient in the average Indian and may  I suggest to try these.
1. You can use it as a ethnic drawing room decoration/ show piece like the old clock with pendulums and  vintage gramophone. Place it at one corner, on a pedestal and with enough precaution for the Sil not to fall down. If you can get it Oiled, to give the shine, it can match with your furniture.
2. Can be used to decorate eateries. It may be even used , depending on whether you get laborers  to use it, in an open kitchen to allow customers to order  Sil batta Chutnies. Normally things ethnic makes good business sense.
3. What about Ethic wear shops and textile show rooms, in the same way mentioned above.
4. One of the reason, why the chutneys and spice pastes tastes better ( than mixies) is that use of Sil batta does not generate heat on the spice ( unlike Mixie) and the pulverization of the ingredients because of the friction (other than the cutting and chopping of Mixie- no friction) . so it may be put to better use if the mechanical motion of the Sil Batta is electrified. (I do not know whether it is done now).
Hope Sil Batta does not disappear in to oblivion, like other copper utensils which where were in use in the not so distant past.

24 Dec 2015 10:29 #285143 by ketchim
www.guyana.org/memories.html

Mes , Check out Bernie article  ::LOL::

• SCA
24 Dec 2015 10:30 #285144 by SCA
So now it gone from me reminiscing of times past to missing my masala brick. See this is why it is Crismus...

24 Dec 2015 10:32 #285146 by ketchim
'Cato',
Once on an indecency exposure charge in court, he saw Forbes Burnham and shouted

"Uncle Forbes, get up an' talk fuh me maan. Yuh gun leh dis coolie magistrate do dis tuh meh?"

Apparently, this was one of the rare occasions when Burnham was at a loss for words  ::LOL::

• Meseret
24 Dec 2015 10:46 #285150 by Meseret
OMG Ketchim, thanks for this.  I knew most of those characters.  Wow, memories!!!!!!!

• SCA
24 Dec 2015 10:47 #285151 by SCA

24 Dec 2015 11:02 #285153 by ketchim

Mes you should come an gyaff with Bernie Haydorn....

I just cant get enough of his stories  !

Me too knew all de characters  ::LOL::

Time to create page: 0.225 seconds
MaleahNow that Joe Root has 2 centuries in Australia, I assume those Australian fans, who said he couldn’t be classed as great unless he achieved that, will now say he is?? Given that the great Steve Smith has never scored a test ton in Pakistan….(05.01.2026, 12:31)(12:31)0