What's the purpose of life?

• Watooka
07 Aug 2016 16:43 #316534 by Watooka
You are born and then you have to work like mad to survive till you die. It doesn't make sense.

07 Aug 2016 16:47 #316535 by chairman
so enjoy it and i mean everyday

07 Aug 2016 16:53 #316538 by ketchim
YOU have to make it purposeful : Life is how YOU make it !

as a kid I wanted to be involved in everything :

Cricket, Soccer, Chess, Debating, playing music instruments et cetera

Fast forward , today I have my hands in many jars...

and most enjoyable is encouraging my kids to "get involved"

even IF it is playing Steel Pan  8)

07 Aug 2016 16:55 #316540 by ketchim

this my friend, is a symptom of depression.

Take a holiday, return to Watooka.

go Lie down in a hammock in the hinterland.

Spear fish with the native Amerindians.

Eat lots of PepperPot with de finest Casareep !

You will be Envigorated !

07 Aug 2016 17:08 #316543 by mapoui
di'ze de idea.

I cud see myself right now... hot today in a hammick res'in my body. 

I done fish fuh the day you see and I go get up latuh to fry some plantain and tilapia.  with some German beer I will walk with when I coming yuh see.  have dem cooling in the river in ah bag tie with ah string.

and is wood fiyah we using.  get ah smoke going to drive away the biting and stinging bease' and dem as it getting dark.

I can imagine dat deh.  no noise!  you get yuh hearing back that yuh loose in the city. 

belch and sleep aftah dat fish plantain and beer.  fart hard too.  nobody about to wrinkle deh nose and complain about yuh fart.  pure peace! ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL::

07 Aug 2016 17:10 - 07 Aug 2016 22:11 #316544 by mapoui
if ah man cyant fart, belch, pee a river, shhiiite so big he spoil the toilet..too big to flush..and live to talk about all ah dat, life has no meaning at all.  I doh want no part  of it >:( >:(
Last edit: 07 Aug 2016 22:11 by mapoui.

• chinua
07 Aug 2016 17:12 #316545 by chinua
Wake up every day with a smile

07 Aug 2016 21:21 #316550 by Kwami
What a dumbass question, Where does It  say  that you have to work,? . Have you never heard of welfare , soup kitchens , food banks etc.

• TRINIDADDY
08 Aug 2016 05:56 - 08 Aug 2016 06:08 #316563 by TRINIDADDY
The religions all basically say the same thing: the purpose of life is to be good to others and compassionate and help ease suffering.

The sciences all basically say the same thing: life has no inherent purpose, is sheer chaos, and DNA simply exists to continuously replicate and propagate itself.

The Absurdists and Existentialists basically all say the same thing: life has no purpose, and is what you make of it.

Capitalism says: the purpose of life is to consume and through consumption desires are fulfilled and so happiness is achieved.

Buddhism says: desire can never be placated and so chasing desires is a long and pointless death spiral. So the Buddhist purpose of life is to end suffering through limiting desire.

Nietzscheans also have a clear life purpose: transcend the social customs humans construct and force upon others, and become an ubermensch, the best you can be, with your own new, personal values.

Chanderpaul had the best life mantra: Don't get out. Watch ball. If ball look fat, hit ball.

The Trinidadian purpose of life is pretty strange: everything is a joke, except the Guyanese Problem; THE GUYANESE INFIDELS WILL BE CRUSHED, AND ALL OF GUYANA WILL ONE DAY BE INCORPORATED WITHIN THE TRINI HEGEMONY.

Today, most don't have time to worry about "the purpose of life". The economic reality is, most spend most of their time dedicated to earning enough cash just to stay alive. In the United States, for example, 70+ percent of the populace lives pay cheque to pay cheque. They stop swimming, they die. For the majority, the purpose of life is simply to do anything it takes to not die. Contemplating the purpose of life, or designing one's life in a pleasing way, is a luxury most don't have.
Last edit: 08 Aug 2016 06:08 by TRINIDADDY.

08 Aug 2016 06:52 - 08 Aug 2016 07:00 #316565 by mapoui
so who is the arse in the brew..or wud dat be culprick or impse...the one with the horrific sense of humor who practices living satire having brought forth...created... the drama of life...

wud dat be god or nature..if nature is not god and god nature ::confused:: ::confused::

btw..wat did Martin Heidegger say ::confused:: ::confused:: ::confused::
Last edit: 08 Aug 2016 07:00 by mapoui.

Time to create page: 0.164 seconds
MaleahNow that Joe Root has 2 centuries in Australia, I assume those Australian fans, who said he couldn’t be classed as great unless he achieved that, will now say he is?? Given that the great Steve Smith has never scored a test ton in Pakistan….(05.01.2026, 12:31)(12:31)0