02 Jan 2017 15:36 #330927 by Alien
Legendary Chutney singer Anand Yankaran dies

BY: LAURA DOWRICH-PHILLIPS
11:53, January 2, 2017

Chutney icon Anand Yankaran is dead.

Loop understands that Yankaran died on Monday morning from a suspected heart attack.

He had been ailing for some time following a stroke in 2008 in New York where he had migrated.

Speaking to Loop about his passing, George Singh, founder of the Chutney Soca Monarch said Yankaran last performed in 2014 in the competition.

"Anand Yankaran was a legend, an icon. He was someone in the same league as Sundar Popo. When you speak about Sundar, you speak about Anand, they carved out what is today known as Chutney and Chutney Soca. He still has songs that are played in parties up to today, we are really going to miss him, he is a great loss for Trinidad and Tobago," said Singh.

Yankaran is known for a string of hits, among them “Malineya”, “Humsa Bolaway”, “Laylo Laylo”, Zndabad Trinbago” “Gunguroo Bajay” “Indra Puri Say”, “Soch Samajh Abhiman”, “Ranga Dall”, “Bola Baba”, “Kya Kar Mai” and “Janay Maha”.  His biggest hit, according to Singh is "Nanda Baba".

We will update this story as more details emerge.

• Alien
02 Jan 2017 15:37 - 02 Jan 2017 15:55 #330928 by Alien

Rest In Peace .

You followed in your father's footsteps. We have your amazing voice forever .

Thanks for the memories  :(

• Alien
02 Jan 2017 15:38 - 02 Jan 2017 15:54 #330929 by Alien

When Chutney is played ..this is the anthem . What a voice .

• Alien
02 Jan 2017 15:42 #330930 by Alien

02 Jan 2017 16:26 #330931 by mapoui
wats with all these bleddy death announcement now.  especially in depressing winter..depressing already

the forum is beginning to look like the friggin obit pages >:( >:( >:( >:( >:(

02 Jan 2017 17:57 #330942 by mapoui
all the same i knew yankaran.  sorry to see he gorne. :) :) :)

02 Jan 2017 18:03 #330945 by chairman
gone much too soon

• Alien
02 Jan 2017 20:47 #330956 by Alien

It is simple don't read such threads . 8)

Just post your sky is falling down lunatic theories and be happy .

• Alien
02 Jan 2017 20:57 #330957 by Alien

Borse .

If I remember well , my uncle got married in 1960 and Anand father Issac and another
well known singer ( don't recall his name at the moment) came on the Saturday nite.

They had an Indian orchestra under that bamboo Tent , (Cedar Hill, the Sonny Ramadin
home village, where Sonny was born).

They sang till 4am; drinking rum as they went along. The more intoxicated they became
the better they sounded. I will always remember Issac Yankaran the golden voice .

I never met Anand.

03 Jan 2017 04:42 - 03 Jan 2017 06:33 #330966 by mapoui

as I said Alien......go phuck yuh crazy lite as a feather self with all yuh body parts missin!

is every time you talk you make every- phuckin'-ting ridiculous.  who can take a post from you seriously when you have a million handles ::confused::

there are issues you post that people wud like to get involved with, get into with but is you..and once is you the substance in the issues flits away.  you kill the issue dead from that point of view.

you put up a million threads..you dump all the time and most threads pass away with nary a view.  its not the issue in the end ..just you skunt!  empty insane skunt you cyar make yuh way on yuh own..you have to pay your way .

on every other board you wud have been long tossed.  you get in here. 

I know you fuh years now on these boards and you are the same lunatic with your insane nativity stories.

so you are not an act..some one playing deliberate games to terrorize people.  you are for real as you are..a complete, repetitive lunatic pissing on chairman board... enable by the chairman chairman himself

you callin' me lunatic.  I have all my body parts.  and my doctor is not a surgeon taking parts fuh money.  he shud have taken yuh brains too  but who wud want dat
Last edit: 03 Jan 2017 06:33 by mapoui.

Time to create page: 0.205 seconds
MaleahNow that Joe Root has 2 centuries in Australia, I assume those Australian fans, who said he couldn’t be classed as great unless he achieved that, will now say he is?? Given that the great Steve Smith has never scored a test ton in Pakistan….(05.01.2026, 12:31)(12:31)0