BUGGERY Referendum in Guyana

25 May 2017 08:19 #342342 by The Captain
Referendum will ‘stress out’ homosexual community
Simpson bemoans; Jagdeo baulks at discriminatory laws

The Society Against Sexual Orientation Discrimination (SASOD) and its partners are opposed to Government’s plans to hold a referendum on homosexuality and laws which discriminate on the basis of sexual orientation and identity.

And Opposition Leader, Bharrat Jagdeo believes that the relevant laws which may be discriminatory may have to be changed.

But in the same breadth, Jagdeo said he does not believe the country is ready for same-sex unions, a subject which he said the Opposition is willing to approach in a bipartisan method with the Government.

“We made it clear, we had two views coming from the public, one which our party felt strongly about, that people must not be discriminated against because of their sexuality or preferences,” Jagdeo said at a press briefing at the Office of the Opposition Leader on Wednesday.

He said the former Peoples Progressive Party (PPP) government changed the laws to reflect its position. Secondly, he said there was public outcry at the time against moves which were made by the PPP government to make same-sex unions a fundamental right, noting that Non-Governmental Organisations (NGOs) and the religious community were among others opposed to the move.

Earlier on Wednesday, Executive Director of SASOD, Joel Simpson told reporters that the society will not support the move to referendum. Simpson was flanked by Melinda Janki, the Executive Director of the Justice Institute of Guyana and Karen De Souza of the Red Thread group.

“This referendum will not be supported by the Guyana LGBT Coalition [Guyana Trans United (GTU), Guyana Rainbow Foundation (GuyBow) and SASOD which are the three LGBT-led Guyanese groups,” he said.

25 May 2017 08:20 #342343 by The Captain
LIFE IMPRISONMENTIn

Guyana, homosexual acts carry a possible punishment of life imprisonment. Section 352 of the Criminal Law Offences Act, states: Any male person who, in public or private, commits, or is a party to the commission, or procures or attempts to procure the commission, by any male person, of any act of gross indecency with any other male person shall be guilty of a misdemeanor and liable to imprisonment for two years.
Section 353 states: Everyone who (a) attempts to commit buggery; or (b) assaults any person with intent to commit buggery; or (c) being a male, indecently assaults any other male person, shall be guilty of felony and liable to imprisonment for 10 years.Section 354 and 355 further state that: Everyone who commits buggery… shall be guilty of felony and liable to imprisonment for life.
Last month, the APNU+AFC government announced that Guyanese will have a chance to vote on whether they believe homosexuality should remain a criminal act, or if those laws which criminalise it should be struck down via a referendum.
This was conveyed in a letter to the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights (IACHR) following the 161st Ordinary Period of Sessions which addressed issues of human rights violations against young persons in Guyana.
Greenidge believes that when the government has made a commitment to hold a referendum on the issue, then it will honour it.

25 May 2017 10:23 - 25 May 2017 10:38 #342345 by mapoui
the buller organizations are afraid deh will lose the referendum.  deh surely will.  but support it or not if the government goes ahead we all will have to live by its results. 

the referendum is a good thing because the peoples will, will become known and the society can go by that..be guided by the results.

it would also protect Bullers because they can now deal with an accurate picture of the public will/mood.  responding positively to that will prolly save lives and limbs, threatened by extremist contempt for bullers

but if the people vote NO! the government should then embark on a program of reform that would advance the human rights of bullers without going over into territory that makes a sham of nature and survival of the nation.  Guyana is particular is a nation that needs population expansion like a thirsty person needs water.  entrenching homosexuality as a way threatens the existing population by reduction not the desperately needed expansion

so the government can recognize homosexual unions in the common law, make sure that existing law protects homosexuals from assault, that perps against homosexuals are met with the full weight of the law.  in jobs make sure that all discrimination is addressed positively....

thats right.  that is what I personally concede to homosexuals.  but what is missing is commitment by government responsibility to make existing, general law on discrimination actually work for EVERYONE..not just this or that group.  and to reform here and there, where necessary like including homosexual unions in the common law where necessary.

BUT NO PERMANENT ENSHRINEMENT OF HOMOSEXUALITY AS A WAY FORWARD, TEACHING THE DANGEROUS PRACTICE TO CHILDREN IN KINDERGARTEN AND ALL THAT SACRILEGE AND STUPIDITY.

stupidity because we all can see that homosexuality is not a way forward, that it poses many dangers to society and that we would all welcome the day when homosexuals are not born at all.  and how can that take place? 

well already there seems to be growing understanding of what causes homosexuality on/at a basic level and therefore preventable. which is the point at which it is most humane to address the problem

it is also known, or at least suspected that certain deliberate chemical manipulation of the human body can produce homosexuality,  and that such a process is  known and well in hand, and people can be affected unsuspectingly...and that it is already used against the people of the world to produce homosexuals, for the major capitalist purpose of reducing population growth massively.

the capitalists consider population growth a threat to their social control of the world, as technology advances, robotizes manufacturing and service industries, killing routine human employment.

what to do then with redundant people, and hundreds of millions totally outside the possibility of ever being employed in their lives who are collectively a revolutionary source that scares the capitalists sh!tless::confused:: ::confused::

all of this is reason why we must hesitate about enacting homosexuality as Washington is pushing on the world, for it is clearly, as such, a program of population reduction, a capitalist ploy against the people of the world. 

that is what Obama has unleashed on the world..a massive effort, but not the only effort..at extensive, massive population reduction

and in the mix Granger's referendum is an excellent response, a democratic one the results of which  Washington cannot gainsay..especially if the people vote against homosexuality..say emphatically NO!  and dat is why the bullers are against the referendum

its up to the BG people now.  they should vote NO!  absolutely not. 

"if the people vote no deh vote no!  wat yuh want mih to do ::confused::"

its in the best political, economic, evolutionary..indeed sociological interest of the people..fuh the BG people to vote NO!  and against the global and rapine capitalist interest.
Last edit: 25 May 2017 10:38 by mapoui.

25 May 2017 12:11 #342358 by ketchim
Guyana out of touch  :-[

How does the recent 44% of female buggery come into this equation ??

"act of gross indecency with any other male person shall be guilty

of a misdemeanor and liable to imprisonment for two years.

Section 353 states:"

• Meseret
25 May 2017 12:20 #342361 by Meseret
Latent issues?

25 May 2017 12:34 #342364 by mapoui

::confused:: ::confused:: ::confused::  please explain

25 May 2017 12:51 #342373 by mapoui

wat it is wit' you and female buggery  ::confused:: ::confused:: ::confused::

dat is not an issue.  dat is between man an woman in deh bedroom.  if he do she anything in deh as long as she doh come out bawlin' fuh the pohleeece deh agree. 

human culture doh see nutten wrong in dat.  wat you making so much noise and reference to it relative to man bullin man ::confused:: ::confused:: ::confused:: ::confused::

I doh understand ::confused:: ::confused:: ::confused::

25 May 2017 12:53 #342374 by ketchim
"an indecent act" according to BG law

Section 353 states: Everyone who (a) attempts to commit buggery;

Maps, ketch yuhself and pay attention !!

Mes, do you mean LATEX instead of Latent ?  ::LOL::

25 May 2017 12:57 #342376 by mapoui

so wat!!! how does it relate to the homosexual issue we dealing with ::confused::

perhaps you shud start another thread..female buggery.  let it stand on its own.  it have nutten to do with the buller global program we trying to fight off.

master of distraction :( :( :(

• Meseret
25 May 2017 12:58 #342377 by Meseret
:D :D :D

Time to create page: 0.201 seconds
JulieEngland cricket icon Robin Smith has passed away at the age of 62.(03.12.2025, 20:30)(20:30)0
JulieFormer Jets and Commanders WR Laveranues Coles completed nine months of training at the Jacksonville Sheriff's Office Academy and will officially become an officer after his probationary period ?(02.12.2025, 14:36)(14:36)0
JulieHeartbreaking to hear of the passing of former England cricketer Robin Smith ?

Our thoughts are with his friends and family at this difficult time ?

Rest in peace, Judge ?
(02.12.2025, 12:56)(12:56)0
JulieJUST IN: Andre Russell calls time on his IPL career and will join KKR’s support staff for 2026 ‼️(30.11.2025, 14:06)(14:06)0
TravisShoppers spend billions on Black Friday to snag holiday deals, despite wider economic uncertainty(29.11.2025, 17:11)(17:11)0
TravisSnow, rain and cold in store for some Thanksgiving travelers(29.11.2025, 17:10)(17:10)0
TravisThe pitch at Perth Stadium was rated "very good" despite a two-day finish in the first Ashes Test(29.11.2025, 10:57)(10:57)0
TravisWe are two days out or so from the start of the New Zealand vs West Indies test series.(29.11.2025, 10:51)(10:51)0
TravisPat Cummins did look brilliant in the nets over in Perth but will only be readier for his return come the 3rd Test in Adelaide, which should work perfectly for Australia, especially now that they’re 1-0 up going to the Gabba(29.11.2025, 10:41)(10:41)0
JulieSad news: Thirty minutes ago in Dallas, the family of former Dallas Cowboys icon Drew Pearson, aged 73, unexpectedly announced that he has passed away(29.11.2025, 08:00)(08:00)0
TravisPat Cummins is set to be included in Australia’s squad for the upcoming second Ashes Test against England in Brisbane, according to reports.(28.11.2025, 15:19)(15:19)0
TravisSuspect in shooting of National Guard members now facing a first-degree murder charge(28.11.2025, 14:24)(14:24)0
TravisLake effect snow piles up in Great Lakes region, impacting Thanksgiving travel(28.11.2025, 08:50)(08:50)0
TravisChiefs vs. Cowboys preview Week 13

Perhaps the most perplexing aspect of AT&T Stadium, otherwise known as “Jerry World,” is the glare from the sun that bursts through the windows and shines directly onto the field. Time and time again the glare has impacted players’ visibility during games, yet Jerry Jones refuses to make any changes to account for the sun.

Rather than install curtains, Jones has previously said he feels it’s a home-field advantage to have that type of stadium factor impacting games. Well, the glare ended up benefitting the Chiefs early into Thursday’s Thanksgiving game, as a pass from Dak Prescott to George Pickens fell incomplete, at least in part due to the impact of the sun’s glare.
(27.11.2025, 21:18)(21:18)0
TravisAT&T Stadium Glare Led to Plenty of Comments From NFL Fans During Chiefs-Cowboys(27.11.2025, 21:17)(21:17)0
TravisKittitian allrounder Kunal Tilokani earns U19 call upKittitian allrounder Kunal Tilokani earns U19 call up(27.11.2025, 13:19)(13:19)0
Travis'Wanted them to really grovel' - SA coach Shukri Conrad on keeping India on the field(25.11.2025, 18:29)(18:29)0
JulieHi(25.11.2025, 08:45)(08:45)0
Juliemotie 130 notout guyana 250(25.11.2025, 08:44)(08:44)0
Matthewhi(25.11.2025, 07:00)(07:00)0
Julie19 wickets fall between Aus and Eng and it’s great cricket, 19 wickets fall between W.I and any other country and we should be relegated…the double standards in world cricket.(21.11.2025, 06:40)(06:40)0
Travisketchim?(12.11.2025, 17:40)(17:40)0
Traviskwami?(12.11.2025, 17:40)(17:40)0
Traviswho is this(12.11.2025, 17:39)(17:39)0
AlvinChairmsn, I cant Log in(11.11.2025, 17:16)(17:16)0
SerenaThis batting performance by the West Indies in the second innings blew me away. I kept closing my eyes and then rubbing and opening them again and sat transfixed as I watch that unbelievable partnership between John Campbell and Shai Hope. What a magnificent performance by these two! It just goes to show that patience, determination and effort can go a long way to improve the performances of the West Indies team. Let us hope that this effort by West Indies batsmen would not be a one-off performance, but will be the beginning of a renewed effort to improve the performances of the team, going forward.(13.10.2025, 09:28)(09:28)0
SerenaJohn Campbell breaks a 23-year drought for West Indies openers with a Test hundred in India!

#INDvsWI #INDvWI #JohnCampbell
(13.10.2025, 05:49)(05:49)0
SerenaLet's celebrate that Ind will have to bat again as a notable achievement(13.10.2025, 05:32)(05:32)0
SerenaDefeat in Ahmedabad, we move to Delhi with an aim to the level the series.

#INDvWI | #MenInMaroon
(04.10.2025, 10:38)(10:38)0
Serena? USA Cricket Files for Bankruptcy

The Chapter 11 filing makes it the first known ICC member to declare bankruptcy. ⚡?
(03.10.2025, 12:22)(12:22)0
SerenaA maiden test wicket for Khary Pierre ends a challenging day 2️⃣

#INDvWI
(03.10.2025, 12:15)(12:15)0
SerenaWhy is WI best batter batting at #6 and why is he even keeping wickets in test?(03.10.2025, 07:26)(07:26)0
SerenaGive warrican vice captain on wat basis the man does nothing not even help chase(03.10.2025, 07:10)(07:10)0
SerenaWI waiting for declaration. India most likely will declare if or when both Jurel and Jadeja get to their 100s.(03.10.2025, 05:35)(05:35)0
Kade162 all out : India 121-2 stumps, day1(02.10.2025, 16:00)(16:00)0
Serenaif marriage certificate could get expire like driver's licence a lot of married men will never renew it(27.09.2025, 10:54)(10:54)0
WarrenJameis Winston is asked about being named QB3 on the Giants' roster behind Russell Wilson and Jaxson Dart:

"As a competitor, you want to be the starter. But I prepare to be the starter, I know I'm a starter in this league.

But you have to be able to be grateful for your role...my role right now is to assist Russ and Jaxson to be the best that they can be while preparing to be the best that I can be.

No matter if I'm 3, 33, this is my first year being number 19, so it's always a first for everything.

I focus on what I would love. And what I would love is for this team to have success."
(13.09.2025, 10:58)(10:58)0
Monicae(11.09.2025, 17:03)(17:03)0
RylandLol... Hetmyer. Fell agonizingly short of his century! Just 91 more he needed!(08.09.2025, 05:53)(05:53)0
RylandThe progress of the PPP government should not be judged by the dissenting voices of a few, but by the tangible benefits it has brought to everyone.(02.09.2025, 17:51)(17:51)0
Warren2 firefighters battling Washington state wildfire arrested by Border Patrol(29.08.2025, 10:51)(10:51)0
SalvadorPresident Ali hints at possible Christmas cash grant(27.08.2025, 12:36)(12:36)0
Sierrahi(27.08.2025, 12:07)(12:07)0
SergioWhat food could you eat every day of the week because you love it so much?(25.08.2025, 13:41)(13:41)0
KingsleyIsrael strikes a Gaza hospital twice, killing at least 20, including journalists and rescuers(25.08.2025, 11:27)(11:27)0
KingsleyShubman Gill returns to India's T20I squad as vice-captain for Asia Cup(20.08.2025, 12:54)(12:54)0
KingstonCanada's government forced Air Canada and its striking flight attendants back to work and into arbitration Saturday after a work stoppage stranded more than 100,000 travelers around the world.(16.08.2025, 18:08)(18:08)0
KingsleyGovernment papers found in an Alaskan hotel reveal new details of Trump-Putin summit(16.08.2025, 17:59)(17:59)0
LawrenceI'm confused how a cemetery can raise its funeral prices and blame it on the cost of living. ?(15.08.2025, 07:03)(07:03)0
LawrenceNext up West Indies play Nepal in a 3 match series (T20i), starting on the 27th Sept.(13.08.2025, 13:49)(13:49)0
Serenity