I Like American Football But it Is SIck Really. Time to Shut It Down

13 Sep 2014 01:18 #212687 by mapoui
www.cbssports.com/nfl/eye-on-football/24...on-for-patriots-game

Vikings deactivate Adrian Peterson for Sunday; arrest warrant issued

13 Sep 2014 09:18 - 13 Sep 2014 09:25 #212707 by mapoui
it seems the social ambient in which american football is enveloped, inculcated, is a nursery for the worst kinds of human attitudes to everything...to life as a whole.

it is machismo...militaristic..brutal in every way - like only tuff relations can produce whatever is required to survive so a man must cuff around his girl friend/wife...switch his children to produce whatever he thinks is required..or else possessed of attitudes of right and wrong that are totally religious, faith based and so cruel and productive only of like responses that have set murderous behavioral trends in society..

it is now dawning on me that american football is a massive but profitable psychological aberration on the social soul. among players you have those charged with murder, dog-fighting and killing of dogs, all manner of dressing room horrors and players terrorizing of each other. murder suicides..and most horrible of all the destruction of players and the shortening of their lives which deteriorates into dementia by the time they are fifty years old from the constant blows of football.

there is a clear and lucid case against american football.  it is the mos profitable of all sports yet it is a horror story of mental and physical/mental destruction of players and ultimately a degradation of the fan base.  all except the owners, who reap massive profits sitting up in luxury boxes are degraded by the game of football.

me too. I love the game but I have to more than reconsider my relationship to it.  I believe I must end my support for this game.  the evidence has piled up against it..continues to pile up.  looks like its time to end this most brutal of games
Last edit: 13 Sep 2014 09:25 by mapoui.

13 Sep 2014 09:36 #212708 by ketchim
I am looking on de damn Pitch fuh your comment on the All time XI :

and you here farting arung with an irrelevant cause  >:(

13 Sep 2014 09:39 #212709 by mapoui
god cause man.  the bodies are flying all around..more each day :( :( :(

• wulfman
13 Sep 2014 13:11 #212760 by wulfman
If there is even a slight reason to "deactivate" it then it would be because 40% of players have some kind of dementia after they retire. Or because of the high injury rate. Why the hell would you condemn the sport because of what a couple of dumb ass players do off the field. It has nothing to do with the sport or its integrity. MLB baseball had a relief pitcher that was convicted of murder and sent back to Cuba. Should we "deactivate" baseball too. I don't know much about cricket since I'm American but don't think every professional cricket player is a good and righteous human being either.

13 Sep 2014 14:16 - 14 Sep 2014 08:57 #212800 by mapoui
I rest my case..the social ambient of football/NFL is a nursery for militarism, machismo and general violence..which inculcation results in the general brutality of football players in their routine social interaction.

there is enough evidence out there to buttress my case.  build an opposite case or keep quiet

Ben Roetlisbergher, Michael Vick, the current player on a murder charge..and on and on and on...one guy last year or year before killed his wife and himself...next guy wife afraid of him she takes off with him in the back of the truck..he falls off and dies.

this is not one guy sent back to Cuba for murder.  go into the NFL and see the absolute tragic situation of violence and contact with the law that blanket the years of the NFL....

maybe if they remove the machismo/militarism things might get better relative to the illegal behavior of players
Last edit: 14 Sep 2014 08:57 by mapoui.

13 Sep 2014 14:24 #212805 by The Captain
Too many Afros  in NFL

13 Sep 2014 14:39 #212812 by mapoui
diversity is the way.  we need some frohawks, crew cuts, assaguys, parts down the centre, fades, dreads and so on....

13 Sep 2014 15:01 #212825 by Kwami
American football a misnomer where the hand is used 98% of the time  . Two teams of 11 men dressed  like robots knocking the shit  of  each other ,

13 Sep 2014 15:31 #212837 by The Captain
Wish you cud get knocked around too

Time to create page: 0.223 seconds
MaleahNow that Joe Root has 2 centuries in Australia, I assume those Australian fans, who said he couldn’t be classed as great unless he achieved that, will now say he is?? Given that the great Steve Smith has never scored a test ton in Pakistan….(05.01.2026, 12:31)(12:31)0