Saints, Mahatmas, and Dalai Lamas...

• pattycake
18 Feb 2015 14:38 #241614 by pattycake

Hush fool.  ::LOL::

Why every time I say something I gotta be sticking my nose in every thread?

Phucking asshole.  ::LOL::

• Snoopster
18 Feb 2015 14:42 #241615 by Snoopster
Excellent post Maps. 8)

• pattycake
18 Feb 2015 14:46 #241616 by pattycake

That all depends on what you consider good people to be.

There's lots of good people in the world.

That is, if you have at least an accurate idea of what a good person is.

18 Feb 2015 14:47 #241617 by ketchim
You should have listened to testimonials at my Dad's tribute last Sunday.

One of the Orphans where he built the Orphanage in Kitty , now 60+ yers old :

addressed the Audience......

Mapoui you shouldda grow up in BG or in my Village !  ;)

18 Feb 2015 14:54 #241618 by ketchim
Accepted into the Boys Orphanage at age 4, he recited this poem my Dad drilled into them :

TRY AGAIN 

Drive the nail aright, boys,
Hit it on the head;
Strike with all your might, boys,
While the iron's red.

When you've work to do, boys,
Do it with a will;
They who reach the top, boys,
First must climb the hill.

Standing at the foot, boys,
Gazing at the sky,
How can you get up, boys,
If you never try?

Though you stumble oft, boys,
Never be downcast;
Try, and try again, boys,
You'll succeed at last.

• Snoopster
18 Feb 2015 14:55 #241619 by Snoopster
Maps, I'm not sure if you read what Freud wrote about religion in 'The Future of an Illusion'. 

For me, he pretty much sums it up as a fantasy and wishful thinking born out of the trauma of helplessness we experience during childhood.

Freud writes: "I think we have prepared the way sufficiently for an answer to both these questions. It will be found if we turn our attention to the psychical origin of religious ideas.  These Which are given out as teachings are not precipitates of experience or end-results of thinking: they are illusions, fulfillment of the oldest, strongest, and most urgent wishes of mankind. 

The secret of their strength lies in the strength of those wishes.  As e already know, the terrifying impression of helplessness in childhood aroused the need for protection - for protection through love - which was provided by the father; and the recognition that this helplessness lasts throughout life made it necessary to cling to the existence of a Father, but this time a more powerful one. 

Thus the benevolent rule of a divine Providence allays our fear of the dangers of life; the establishment of a moral world-order ensure the fulfillment of the demands of justice, which have so often remained unfulfilled in human civilization; and the prolongation of earthly existence in a future life provides the local and temporal framework in which these wish-fulfillment shall take place."

18 Feb 2015 15:09 #241620 by ketchim
When I hear these horror stories of upbringing and growing up :

I thank Allah for compassionate Parents and a Village that raised me !

I thank my dad for having the foresight and will to save the Orphans ...

I thank Mom for allowing a Hindu ,a Roman Catholic and a Jew :

TO be her sons and daughter-in- law  and of course my Trini gyal  8)

18 Feb 2015 15:11 #241621 by Googley
of all people to quote you chose Freud?  ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL::

"My life often seemed to me like a story that has no beginning and no end. I had the feeling that I was an historical fragment, an excerpt for which the preceding and succeeding text was missing. I could well imagine that I might have lived in former centuries and there encountered questions I was not yet able to answer; that I had been born again because I had not fulfilled the task given to me." —Carl Jung

18 Feb 2015 15:12 #241622 by Googley

Your dad was a compassionate man, Allah has blessed him.  Mom is wise to embrace humanity as we are all children of god regardless of our clothing.  May Allah shower his blessings on her.

18 Feb 2015 15:26 #241625 by mapoui

there are no good phucking people in the world..nor does the world need any good people.  what the world needs is independent capable and marture people and a social process that develops such people, all capable of taking care f themselves bringing up children to do the same in the process which should be human work and activity on the maintenance and development of society, the instrument by which society lives..not work for the profit of a few.

people can only be judged good by morality and ethics but which...when all we now know is religious nonsense which fits us out to work for the profit of others and injury to ourselves..which is how cone 80 persons owns more in the world than the lowest 4 billion.

and all of that is injurious to the planet and continued human existence on it.

Facility in life, properly so means the content of ones intellect is accurate reflection of reality.  such reality allows such a person to conclude that the survival of society insures his own....the integrity of the environment likewise..and critically how society can survive, how the environment can be maintained while meeting human requirements for survival, setting up the means by which we can all learn to live and behave thusly..consistent with our own survival which is equal to the survival a of all.

what it means is that a conscious realistic mind comes to know hot to live..that minus that we we wont live and that we must change into right ways, letting go of what we come to know as the wrong ways.

it is an efficacious thing not a good thing relatively speaking.  and it is 100% subjective or self interested.  that's right.  how the hell can we live for example the way things are right currently,  a product of totally wrong thinking on a basis of lies that we practice and preach all the time..as it is running us down the hill and over the cliff?

the person who understands why, can see see such truth way and can help change this wrong way, fight to bring us all on a better more accurate course of existences to save his own life..unless he is psycopath, traumatized lifelong and definitely not in love with his own species.  such a man had he a button to a nuclear bomb would have long ago pressed it

I have no time with idealism, abstractions and spec based on faith.  life is knowable and all answers in there-in, can be extracted from life, experience of it, proving what it is.  that is why in the end all is simple..becomes simplebecause truth is aoprt of reality and reality is a proces that works..literally forever.  get to know it and it is explicable, gives us facility, technology, knowledge to go on and on and on..

forget all abstraction and develop knowledge..thats the answer.  the world, the universe is real, it is all...the answer is to get to know it

Time to create page: 0.214 seconds
MaleahNow that Joe Root has 2 centuries in Australia, I assume those Australian fans, who said he couldn’t be classed as great unless he achieved that, will now say he is?? Given that the great Steve Smith has never scored a test ton in Pakistan….(05.01.2026, 12:31)(12:31)0