Ketchim! Tell Mih If Ah Loose in Mih head Here!

15 Sep 2015 13:12 - 15 Sep 2015 13:39 #271594 by mapoui
you see dat poem deh..dat is european, white..arthur the king and Camelot, the european Eden, its great idealist fantasy.

but the author is not sold, knows the dream but will settle for an achievable reality because the dream is not  real and in the end fantasy does not satisfy.  the author knows life its fleeting quality, diaphanous and gone, cannot be held and repeated, repeatedly..cannot be lassoed into  place allowing us to wallow in permanent sweetness.  all is provisional and will soon be gone

this lead song of the movie Streets of Fire captures the fable that it is the otherness of  its location, its perfection which is not possible in life and renders the dream so brilliantly perfect that it brings tears to my eyes every time I see the movie and hear the music.

what we have here is a gloriously idealized vision that satisfies totally as a visual experience.  one leaves the cinema happy for the experience which I find is the arbiter of the quality of movies: if one leaves the movie happy, feeling good, goes home and has a good nights sleep, the movie is good, worthwhile.

the powers that be share out awards wrongly.  this is a stunning movie that should have won in every category..especially for the music..the stunning music..what is called white rock and roll but is really AMERICAN MUSIC..an amalgam of all that is america, from its black roots all the way up even to the Beetles and the Stones from england whose music is as american as america itself..a collated and collective history, also represented in the poem below.

this music I tell you is the most impactful and stunning music, incredibly emotional, spiritual, attaches one's soul to the currents spanning the universe and takes us everywhere, far places, glorious places, romantic places, tirelessly, forever.  this music and movie is an artistic high, a peak achieved after decades of development of all the genres that went into its creation.

these are the words I can find to describe what I feel about this experience of mine.  its the best I can do at this time.  and I tell you because you always accuse me of narrow artistic perspective.  not narrow at all I think.  but this is a high for me which should dispel your impression of my own musical perspective

! No longer available

Last edit: 15 Sep 2015 13:39 by mapoui.

15 Sep 2015 13:14 #271595 by mapoui
cont'd

15 Sep 2015 13:22 - 15 Sep 2015 13:42 #271596 by mapoui
Led Zeplin is also of the same quality of music.  there is no movie attached to this song but its credibility is basic.. this hits one in the musical solar plexus and stays there forever

! No longer available
Last edit: 15 Sep 2015 13:42 by mapoui.

15 Sep 2015 13:30 #271597 by ketchim
Both Brilliant Rock n Roll :

But you must look at the so called "British Invasion"

I think it popularised North America taste and appreciation !

www.rollingstone.com/music/news/the-brit...-to-britain-19880714

Early in 1964, Life magazine put it like this:

"In [1776] England lost her American colonies. Last week the Beatles took them back."

15 Sep 2015 13:33 #271598 by ketchim
barbradozier.wordpress.com/2013/03/26/br...ll-music-in-america/

What if British Invasion was thwarted?

The rock production in America could have not grown without the influence of the British more especially ‘Brait’.

At the same time bands like Rolling Stones was a bad example to the youth as their music was based around drugs and sex.

This influence could not exist or emanate if the country music could be emphasized as it was contemporary

15 Sep 2015 13:44 #271602 by ketchim
British Ivasion was what I cut my musical teeth on in Georgetown , BG  ;)

I later appreciated the Americans  : like CCR , Muddy Waters, Van Halen et al

15 Sep 2015 13:50 #271604 by ketchim

not white but British Invasion : impact of black "root" is subject to debate  ;)

certainly not the Metal thrashing : maybe soft rock that had a Jazz basis !

15 Sep 2015 13:53 #271606 by mapoui

you see I make no demarcation at all in the development of the scene we are chatting about here.  if you listen to the Stones and the Beetles in particular they trace themselves all the way back to Howlin' Wolf and Muddy Waters, straight through Chuck Berry.  there was no barrier to the spread of amrican music the world  over for curious kids of all kinds to hear and get interested, do their thing with that music, make excellence with it and bring it back to america in new and stunning forms

so increasingly I  make no barriers, demarcations and separations.  I see one incredible world development, pollination and growing diversification on bases that may have emerged in one place and travels everywhere.  I think the fusion, the merging is far gone, global.  it is I, me behind the times.  activity, what people hear see and do waits on no man to see it before it acts, moves and merges.  it is  such as I who must catch up to the general movement of things.  these always move faster than light...the doings of humanity

15 Sep 2015 13:54 #271607 by mapoui

for you..debate for you!  for no informed other I can assure you :-[ :-[ :-[

15 Sep 2015 13:56 #271608 by ketchim
Well Rock n Roll is still in a few Pubs with live Bands here in my Borough

Canada has an almost Cultist figure in Geddy Lee from across my street ...

Hip Hop is the genre of choice in Immigrant watering holes!

Time to create page: 0.198 seconds
MaleahNow that Joe Root has 2 centuries in Australia, I assume those Australian fans, who said he couldn’t be classed as great unless he achieved that, will now say he is?? Given that the great Steve Smith has never scored a test ton in Pakistan….(05.01.2026, 12:31)(12:31)0