05 May 2016 08:57 #303378 by Chin
Jamaica – why the boycott?
Published on May 2, 2016, 11:00 pm AST
By Derek Johnson

Cascade

My country, Trinidad and Tobago, has always been a true friend to every other Caribbean island.

Back in the early 20th century, when oil was discovered in South Trinidad, hundreds of Grenadians and Vincentians emigrated to villages in the oil belt—Point Fortin, Fyzabad and La Brea, getting lucrative jobs in the oilfields here. Barbadians gravitated to the Port of Spain area, preferring jobs in the Police Service and the Teaching Service. In fact, history will record that in the 1940’s our Police Service boasted a large percentage of Bajan officers of all ranks.They all raised their families here and became citizens.

Grenadians, in particular, blended their culture with ours over the years, greatly enhancing our calypso music, living peacefully without discrimination. Naturally, Trinis made fun of their strange accents, but there was no intolerance otherwise.
In later years, with economies in the islands and elsewhere deteriorating when the price of oil escalated sharply, we saw another influx of immigrants from other countries.

Today, anyone visiting Arima, Chaguanas, San Fernando or Port of Spain, will hear accents from Jamaica, Nigeria, Ghana, Venezuela, Guyana, along with Chinese from China and Indians from India. The Chinese and Indians, being natural merchants, established groceries and supermarkets, clothing bazaars and restaurants; even people fleeing the Middle East, mostly young men, have successfully popularised their “street meats” when they introduced them to T&T.

All of these immigrants have become an integral part of our landscape.
In times of natural disasters, my country has always led by example—the Haiti earthquake, Jamaica’s hurricanes, and more recently in St Lucia, Dominica and St Vincent. T&T has always been among the first responders—our Coast Guard and Army and Caribbean Airlines with emergency supplies.

Jamaican artistes and their music are extremely popular in T&T, concerts are sold out long in advance and local DJs continue to belt reggae and dancehall, regardless.
There are three questions I would like to ask.
The first is: “Does Jamaica have an open door policy for immigrants fleeing Haiti or the Dominican Republic or Cubans fleeing Cuba? Or do you not have a similar protocol like us?”

The second is: “When Jamaicans are refused entry to the US and Canada, do they seek to boycott imports from those countries also or make it a national issue?”
Thirdly, “Why the silence from the thousands of Jamaicans who now reside happily in T&T or even from those who have never visited but who should know better?”

05 May 2016 09:17 #303380 by mapoui
excellent post Chin!

that is how I know Trinidad relative to the other west indian territories. we have been much better that they have been relative to each other in the region, yet we have not been without fault. 

while Cascade is generally right we have been nasty at times too.  but Trinidad has done enough to be given the benefit of doubt when these things take place, so they move quickly to resolution.

05 May 2016 10:45 #303386 by The Captain
what stupid post

that happens in all caribbean countries

05 May 2016 10:50 #303387 by mapoui
you are not from the west indies. 
you don't have a clue what the hell you are talking about.  you have no positive contribution to make.  stay the hell out of it.

>:( >:( >:(

• krnd
05 May 2016 12:06 #303407 by krnd
Damn I thought the caribbean loved each other under the name of nice drinks and coconut meals. I guess it's not all gucci over there :(

05 May 2016 12:12 #303408 by mapoui

I don't really know who you are captain..save you are impsy as a poster!

05 May 2016 12:12 #303409 by ketchim
Trinis are schitzophrenic

Picong , Comess and Mammguy has taken over their Genetic !

What a foolish band of people : and we get them as a TWIN  :P

Stab Guyana in the back for a few CPL $$

then hosting India for the IndoTrini  attendance

see The Pitch threads !

05 May 2016 12:19 #303412 by mapoui

as far as I know foolish is as foolish does....

we not sitting on a large empty country and trying to defend it by refusing to occupy it...leaning on people fuh support who wud just as soon see Guyanans disappear into a huge oblivion hole in the ground, as to spit on them.

foolish is as foolish does

05 May 2016 12:22 #303415 by ketchim
Foolish is stabbing your neigbour in the back

For a few CPL dollars

05 May 2016 12:24 #303416 by ketchim
Foolish is lobbying  for the India tour

so that you can Milk the Indo Trini population gate receipts

then cry foul when they root for  India .

yuh right .....foolish is as foolish does  :P

Time to create page: 0.215 seconds
MaleahNow that Joe Root has 2 centuries in Australia, I assume those Australian fans, who said he couldn’t be classed as great unless he achieved that, will now say he is?? Given that the great Steve Smith has never scored a test ton in Pakistan….(05.01.2026, 12:31)(12:31)0