'I need help'

16 May 2016 09:53 #304571 by The Captain
'I need help': Sophie Trudeau's plea sparks anger in Canada

The wife of Canada’s prime minister has sparked a fierce national debate after saying she needs more help to expand her official role and take on more public duties.

Sophie Grégoire Trudeau last week told a French-language newspaper that she wanted to do more, but struggled with just one staff member.

Grégoire Trudeau, a former TV presenter married to Justin Trudeau, has no office and reportedly answers official correspondence from her dining table.

“I’d love to be everywhere but I can’t,” she told Le Soleil. “I have three children and a husband who is prime minister. I need help. I need a team to help me serve the people.”

Grégoire Trudeau said she received regular requests from charities to promote their causes, but she could not respond to them all without an extra hand.

“It’s hard to choose, because it’s touching when people ask for your help. People really lay out their suffering in some of the letters I receive.”

The statement prompted howls of outrage from opposition politicians, who accused her of being out of touch and noted that the previous first lady coped with just one aide.

“Hearing statements like that certainly does not speak to the reality that Canadian women face and the kind of struggles that, you know, that they’re undertaking day in, day out,” opposition MP Niki Ashton said.

16 May 2016 09:54 #304572 by The Captain
“Certainly the kind of statements we heard from the prime minister’s wife, you know, speak to that disconnect with the reality that Canadian women face.”
The prime minister’s office said it was looking in to hiring a second staffer for the first lady.
Meanwhile, Twitter users likened Grégoire Trudeau to Kim Kardashian and started the hashtag #prayforSophie.

The role of “first lady” has no real formal status in the Canadian system, but the prime minister’s wife traditionally gets support in performing official activities, a point that was made by supporters of Gregoire Trudeau.
The Toronto Star newspaper ran an editorial on Sunday titled: Sophie Grégoire Trudeau should have all the help she needs to fulfill her role.
“The instant, often spiteful reaction from both social media and other politicians who should know better smacks of ignorance about the requirements of the role the prime minister’s wife has taken on,” it said.
CBC News suggested the first lady was targeted because she was a “tall poppy” , something Canadians abhor.
Grégoire Trudeau herself has not commented on the furore.
But some on Twitter suggested the hounding of Gregoire Trudeau was not just about politics, but sexism, while an open letter to the first lady of Facebook noted “society seems to have a problem when women ask for help”.

16 May 2016 10:06 #304577 by ketchim
steeewwppppsss : How many places dem expect her at any given time ??

with 3 little kids ....

16 May 2016 10:20 - 16 May 2016 10:40 #304581 by mapoui
storm in a tea caddy

if she needs help I suggest she go do, continue to do, draw her need to her husband but be careful with what she says to and in the media. 

the media is a skunt-whore, useful not even for the traditional wuk of a whore.  who wud want to eff the media fuh ah price ::confused::  the media wud have to pay me fuh dat..and money or not, I wud not deign!

dont talk Sophie....just do!  make small talk with the media..chupid talk while all the time doing the great work behind the scenes.  leh dem fin' out about it in time and sooprise demselves.

den deh wud have nutten' to talk about but how deh sooprise at the great wuk you have been doin'.  you will be in the news  all the time and you wun even be deh wit' dem was'in' time.
Last edit: 16 May 2016 10:40 by mapoui.

16 May 2016 10:44 #304591 by The Captain
maps should host a go fund me

16 May 2016 10:46 #304593 by mapoui
its your idea.  proceed, go make money fuh she!

• Watooka
16 May 2016 10:58 #304597 by Watooka
Canadians have exposed themselves to ridicule by not grasping the concept of family life and public demands. They want you to work for free it seems.

• renegade
16 May 2016 11:05 #304599 by renegade
The notion that women have to be treated differently or gently in politics is unacceptable.

16 May 2016 11:11 #304605 by ketchim
The notion that the wife of a PM is a politician

is Incorrect.

IS a First Lady paid as a Politician .? lemme ask Michelle Obama

• renegade
16 May 2016 11:14 #304606 by renegade
Sophie Trudeau has NO official duties. She's a stay-at-home Mom with a driver, chef, two nannies and cleaning staff.

Time to create page: 0.226 seconds
MaleahNow that Joe Root has 2 centuries in Australia, I assume those Australian fans, who said he couldn’t be classed as great unless he achieved that, will now say he is?? Given that the great Steve Smith has never scored a test ton in Pakistan….(05.01.2026, 12:31)(12:31)0