• Alien
11 Feb 2017 21:27 - 12 Feb 2017 14:54 #335080 by Alien
Rowley An empty man
Published on Feb 11, 2017, 9:00 pm AST
By Ralph Maraj

In last Sunday's column on leadership, I encouraged the Prime Minister to be large of mind and heart. But the very next night, he again demeaned his high office with a disturbing insufficiency. In addition to being predictable and pedestrian on crime and other issues, plain empty, he unjustly chastised women, saying bluntly, “you call on the Prime Minister to do something about crime; I'm not in your bedroom; I'm not in your choice of men”, displaying callous insensitivity and abysmal ignorance on the issue of domestic violence with which this country is now diseased, over 300 women killed from abuse in the last 15 years, 7,000 reported cases in the last five.

For the past 16 months I have suggested Rowley go deep, the country desperately needs it from the Prime Minister. But I also suspect the depth isn't there. For, as a politician, Rowley emerged as the one-dimensional PNM “rottweiler” and this he essentially remains after 30 years. The absence of evolution produced his “bedroom” response as he again tried to abdicate responsibility, now by blaming the victim, seeking to exonerate his administration from its failure to stem the growing violence against women.

But we ought to have already seen the bent of Keith Rowley's mind through the images that flow therefrom. Remember when he let loose his depravity, saying of the nation's first female prime minister: “she knows I love women. She thinks I love any woman. I have taste and when I don't take her on, she on Faris back. And she could jump high, she could jump low, she could drink this, she could drink that, she could bark at meh dog, because I go ignore she kyat.” Columnist Andre Bagoo opined, “the woman is reduced to a vagina. Abominable”!

This Prime Minister obviously lacks poetry within, Rowley himself confessing to “scoring low” in Literature at school, suggesting he was not receptive to the study's humanising influence. Consequently, except for that single moment on election night 2015, we have not heard anything inspiring from Rowley during his three decades in politics. Instead, I have already had to chastise him for his language after he became prime minister.

Last year, around the time the world marked the 70th anniversary of the “Iron Curtain” speech by Winston Churchill, Rowley produced a remark demonstrating the infinity separating the two men. Churchill's most moving words came when he assumed the prime ministership of Britain in its darkest hour and said, “I have nothing to offer but blood, toil, tears and sweat. We have before us an ordeal of the most grievous kind; many, many long months of struggle and suffering. Our aim is victory, however long and hard the road; for without victory, there is no survival. I take up my task with hope and say: come, let us go forward together with our united strength.” Compare this with what Rowley delivered then to stir the national imagination: “suppose I go and buy some underwear for my wife and didn't deliver it to her on time and somebody tells the press!” Heavens!

Not long after that, thinking to be profound, Rowley produced another gem at the international anti-corruption conference, attempting philosophy but producing triteness, saying: “when I was a child, I was taught there was a placed called heaven. But there was a fella called Lucifer who acted in a corrupt manner and had to be expelled from heaven. And I was told he was living here amongst us.” Embarrassing!

Can he help it? Does he know better? One can't be sure, especially when, at a post-Cabinet press briefing of all places, telling the nation of his visit to the doctor to test for prostate cancer, he gave us a verbatim account of a private conversation with a friend who had said tastelessly, “no man ain't digging up in my bottom like that?”, most people shocked Rowley deemed it appropriate to relate such crassness from the prime ministerial podium! And the degrading talk has flowed prolifically.

In explaining the absence of a vehicle used by his predecessor, thinking he was being funny, but ending up nasty, he said, “I am told that vomit is very difficult to be washed out from a vehicle. Even after you shampoo it, the smell is still there. And when you add other fluids to the vomit it is very difficult to clean.” He has also shouted to the Parliament from a political platform, “I want mi money”; once suggested, with a certain smile, he could give women advice on how to “peel cassava”; and claimed virtue on another occasion with, “I have not set my bottom in a helicopter in six months as Prime Minister.”

Before the recent “bedroom” talk, his latest had come during the local government campaign when he said the number of children he has, “inside and outside”, was none of Kamla's “goddamn business, because as long as Sharon is happy with how much I have outside and how much I have inside, Rowley happy with that! At least what I had outside and what I have inside, they escaped and they are alive.”

The imagery is of “kyat”, “underwear”, “bedroom”, “bottom”, “vomit” etc. Rowley has been raw and degenerate, fuelling the crassness, decadence and superficiality already corroding a society on the brink of falling apart. Doesn't he understand a prime minister's role in the refinement of his country? The man obviously needs help. Is there anybody in his circle who can or dare provide private counsel? I have already suggested he take a retreat, not to Magdalena Grand Beach Resort, but somewhere quiet in the Prime Minister's residence to pursue deep introspection. Dare we hope for an inner awakening? Or are we dealing with a fundamentally empty man.

www.trinidadexpress.com/20170211/editorial/an-empty-man

12 Feb 2017 00:27 #335091 by Kwami
Who de f,uck is Ralf Maraj  to give an indictment  of Rowley . The Maraj name is traitorous . Lawrence  Maraj  betrayed Basdeo Pandeo in his fictitious  crusade against corruption of Pandeo and was basically responsible for the re-election  of  the PNM

• Alien
12 Feb 2017 11:49 #335152 by Alien

When paulin doesn't tell you the truth and as I continue to show how clueless you are,
don't post what you don't know about .

Lawrence Maharaj is an honest man, he went to Panday and told him about corruption . Panday refuse to listen.

Panday and members of his government are still before the courts for Corruption .

Pamday called an election ..it was a tie 18 vs 18 . Panday should still be the Prime Minister .

ANR Robinson as President went and nominated Manning as the Government . Calling Panday a hindu as a non godly
man leading a government.

Manning became the most corrupt government then came Kamla and her bunch of thieves.

Now you are fully updated. ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL::

12 Feb 2017 14:55 #335263 by Kwami
You know dick all about  Trinidad politics.  It was Lawerence Maraj who kept hollering about corruption in the Panday govt and undermine it . He did the same to Kamla  . Who did you expect Robinson to ask to form the Govt after the 18  18 tie , an Indian ?Have you ever heard of racial politics in Trinidad ? Panday was a little corrupt and so what . Every  Govt in Trinidad was corrupt starting with Williams all the way down to Rowley       

• Alien
12 Feb 2017 14:56 #335264 by Alien
I have highlighted quotations that Rowley said as Prime Minister after you read them , tell me do you still question
Mr maharaj comments ? ::confused::

12 Feb 2017 14:58 #335266 by chairman
guys come with facts when discussing trinidad

12 Feb 2017 14:58 #335269 by chairman
it was shameful what robinson did

• Alien
12 Feb 2017 14:59 #335272 by Alien

I am posting facts Borse .

Read what Mr Maharaj wrote that I highlighted ..then comment .

12 Feb 2017 15:02 #335273 by chairman
i have read what rowley saying

12 Feb 2017 15:02 #335274 by Kwami
Why do you think that it is shameful? Pretending that Trinidad is post racial is naïve.

Time to create page: 0.250 seconds
JulieEngland cricket icon Robin Smith has passed away at the age of 62.(03.12.2025, 20:30)(20:30)0
JulieFormer Jets and Commanders WR Laveranues Coles completed nine months of training at the Jacksonville Sheriff's Office Academy and will officially become an officer after his probationary period ?(02.12.2025, 14:36)(14:36)0
JulieHeartbreaking to hear of the passing of former England cricketer Robin Smith ?

Our thoughts are with his friends and family at this difficult time ?

Rest in peace, Judge ?
(02.12.2025, 12:56)(12:56)0
JulieJUST IN: Andre Russell calls time on his IPL career and will join KKR’s support staff for 2026 ‼️(30.11.2025, 14:06)(14:06)0
TravisShoppers spend billions on Black Friday to snag holiday deals, despite wider economic uncertainty(29.11.2025, 17:11)(17:11)0
TravisSnow, rain and cold in store for some Thanksgiving travelers(29.11.2025, 17:10)(17:10)0
TravisThe pitch at Perth Stadium was rated "very good" despite a two-day finish in the first Ashes Test(29.11.2025, 10:57)(10:57)0
TravisWe are two days out or so from the start of the New Zealand vs West Indies test series.(29.11.2025, 10:51)(10:51)0
TravisPat Cummins did look brilliant in the nets over in Perth but will only be readier for his return come the 3rd Test in Adelaide, which should work perfectly for Australia, especially now that they’re 1-0 up going to the Gabba(29.11.2025, 10:41)(10:41)0
JulieSad news: Thirty minutes ago in Dallas, the family of former Dallas Cowboys icon Drew Pearson, aged 73, unexpectedly announced that he has passed away(29.11.2025, 08:00)(08:00)0
TravisPat Cummins is set to be included in Australia’s squad for the upcoming second Ashes Test against England in Brisbane, according to reports.(28.11.2025, 15:19)(15:19)0
TravisSuspect in shooting of National Guard members now facing a first-degree murder charge(28.11.2025, 14:24)(14:24)0
TravisLake effect snow piles up in Great Lakes region, impacting Thanksgiving travel(28.11.2025, 08:50)(08:50)0
TravisChiefs vs. Cowboys preview Week 13

Perhaps the most perplexing aspect of AT&T Stadium, otherwise known as “Jerry World,” is the glare from the sun that bursts through the windows and shines directly onto the field. Time and time again the glare has impacted players’ visibility during games, yet Jerry Jones refuses to make any changes to account for the sun.

Rather than install curtains, Jones has previously said he feels it’s a home-field advantage to have that type of stadium factor impacting games. Well, the glare ended up benefitting the Chiefs early into Thursday’s Thanksgiving game, as a pass from Dak Prescott to George Pickens fell incomplete, at least in part due to the impact of the sun’s glare.
(27.11.2025, 21:18)(21:18)0
TravisAT&T Stadium Glare Led to Plenty of Comments From NFL Fans During Chiefs-Cowboys(27.11.2025, 21:17)(21:17)0
TravisKittitian allrounder Kunal Tilokani earns U19 call upKittitian allrounder Kunal Tilokani earns U19 call up(27.11.2025, 13:19)(13:19)0
Travis'Wanted them to really grovel' - SA coach Shukri Conrad on keeping India on the field(25.11.2025, 18:29)(18:29)0
JulieHi(25.11.2025, 08:45)(08:45)0
Juliemotie 130 notout guyana 250(25.11.2025, 08:44)(08:44)0
Matthewhi(25.11.2025, 07:00)(07:00)0
Julie19 wickets fall between Aus and Eng and it’s great cricket, 19 wickets fall between W.I and any other country and we should be relegated…the double standards in world cricket.(21.11.2025, 06:40)(06:40)0
Travisketchim?(12.11.2025, 17:40)(17:40)0
Traviskwami?(12.11.2025, 17:40)(17:40)0
Traviswho is this(12.11.2025, 17:39)(17:39)0
AlvinChairmsn, I cant Log in(11.11.2025, 17:16)(17:16)0
SerenaThis batting performance by the West Indies in the second innings blew me away. I kept closing my eyes and then rubbing and opening them again and sat transfixed as I watch that unbelievable partnership between John Campbell and Shai Hope. What a magnificent performance by these two! It just goes to show that patience, determination and effort can go a long way to improve the performances of the West Indies team. Let us hope that this effort by West Indies batsmen would not be a one-off performance, but will be the beginning of a renewed effort to improve the performances of the team, going forward.(13.10.2025, 09:28)(09:28)0
SerenaJohn Campbell breaks a 23-year drought for West Indies openers with a Test hundred in India!

#INDvsWI #INDvWI #JohnCampbell
(13.10.2025, 05:49)(05:49)0
SerenaLet's celebrate that Ind will have to bat again as a notable achievement(13.10.2025, 05:32)(05:32)0
SerenaDefeat in Ahmedabad, we move to Delhi with an aim to the level the series.

#INDvWI | #MenInMaroon
(04.10.2025, 10:38)(10:38)0
Serena? USA Cricket Files for Bankruptcy

The Chapter 11 filing makes it the first known ICC member to declare bankruptcy. ⚡?
(03.10.2025, 12:22)(12:22)0
SerenaA maiden test wicket for Khary Pierre ends a challenging day 2️⃣

#INDvWI
(03.10.2025, 12:15)(12:15)0
SerenaWhy is WI best batter batting at #6 and why is he even keeping wickets in test?(03.10.2025, 07:26)(07:26)0
SerenaGive warrican vice captain on wat basis the man does nothing not even help chase(03.10.2025, 07:10)(07:10)0
SerenaWI waiting for declaration. India most likely will declare if or when both Jurel and Jadeja get to their 100s.(03.10.2025, 05:35)(05:35)0
Kade162 all out : India 121-2 stumps, day1(02.10.2025, 16:00)(16:00)0
Serenaif marriage certificate could get expire like driver's licence a lot of married men will never renew it(27.09.2025, 10:54)(10:54)0
WarrenJameis Winston is asked about being named QB3 on the Giants' roster behind Russell Wilson and Jaxson Dart:

"As a competitor, you want to be the starter. But I prepare to be the starter, I know I'm a starter in this league.

But you have to be able to be grateful for your role...my role right now is to assist Russ and Jaxson to be the best that they can be while preparing to be the best that I can be.

No matter if I'm 3, 33, this is my first year being number 19, so it's always a first for everything.

I focus on what I would love. And what I would love is for this team to have success."
(13.09.2025, 10:58)(10:58)0
Monicae(11.09.2025, 17:03)(17:03)0
RylandLol... Hetmyer. Fell agonizingly short of his century! Just 91 more he needed!(08.09.2025, 05:53)(05:53)0
RylandThe progress of the PPP government should not be judged by the dissenting voices of a few, but by the tangible benefits it has brought to everyone.(02.09.2025, 17:51)(17:51)0
Warren2 firefighters battling Washington state wildfire arrested by Border Patrol(29.08.2025, 10:51)(10:51)0
SalvadorPresident Ali hints at possible Christmas cash grant(27.08.2025, 12:36)(12:36)0
Sierrahi(27.08.2025, 12:07)(12:07)0
SergioWhat food could you eat every day of the week because you love it so much?(25.08.2025, 13:41)(13:41)0
KingsleyIsrael strikes a Gaza hospital twice, killing at least 20, including journalists and rescuers(25.08.2025, 11:27)(11:27)0
KingsleyShubman Gill returns to India's T20I squad as vice-captain for Asia Cup(20.08.2025, 12:54)(12:54)0
KingstonCanada's government forced Air Canada and its striking flight attendants back to work and into arbitration Saturday after a work stoppage stranded more than 100,000 travelers around the world.(16.08.2025, 18:08)(18:08)0
KingsleyGovernment papers found in an Alaskan hotel reveal new details of Trump-Putin summit(16.08.2025, 17:59)(17:59)0
LawrenceI'm confused how a cemetery can raise its funeral prices and blame it on the cost of living. ?(15.08.2025, 07:03)(07:03)0
LawrenceNext up West Indies play Nepal in a 3 match series (T20i), starting on the 27th Sept.(13.08.2025, 13:49)(13:49)0
Alisa