24 Jul 2017 09:05 #346975
ON Friday, pictures surfaced on social media of plastic rice which was allegedly bought at an East Coast Demerara supermarket.
When contacted for a comment on Saturday, Director of the Government-Food and Drug Analyst Department, Marlan Cole, reserved his comments on the presence of plastic rice here.
He noted however that he was not aware of any samples being taken to the unit, adding that there is no standard or specification to determine if rice is made of plastic.
In May, the Guyana Rice Development Board (GRDB) noted with great concern the presence of video recordings being circulated of plastic rice and clarified that there has been no confirmation of plastic rice on the Guyanese market.
The homemade video recordings which were posted on social media, alleging to be plastic rice is labelled as “Product of Guyanaâ€. The case involved a video recording emanating from Trinidad and Tobago of packaged rice labelled “Product of Guyana,†packaged for Naisa Brand Products Ltd. Trinidad.â€
The GRDB stated categorically that no rice mill in Guyana produces artificial rice, and expressed grave concern about such rice being labelled “Product of Guyana.â€
Last December, after temporarily suspending clearance of rice entering its territory, the Jamaican authorities allowed clearance of the product, but only those shipped from Guyana or Suriname.
According to reports, there is a large-scale production of rice made from plastic that is being shipped worldwide.
In the manufacturing process, the plastic rice is made by mixing potatoes, sweet potatoes and plastic. The rice remains hard, even after being cooked and the soup forms a plastic sheath on its layer.
And with reports emerging in Jamaica, that the product has found its way on shelves in shops and supermarkets, authorities there ceased clearance of all rice.
Meanwhile, a local consumer is concerned about the state of vegetables on the local market after she bought what she initially thought was cabbage.
Last Tuesday, the Bagotstown, East Bank Demerara woman bought the product at the Stabroek Market and when she was preparing the vegetable to be cooked, it was observed to be stretching and smelt of plastic.
When placed in a pot, the ‘cabbage’ was in a ‘paste’ state and the woman later threw away the product.
She plans to revisit the vendor and report the matter to the authorities.
The National Herald of India reported earlier this month of a growing scare over plastic food with many social media videos making rounds for the past few years on how ‘plastic rice’, ‘plastic egg’, ‘plastic cabbage’ and several other plastic food items have entered the consumer market.
There are hundreds of videos on YouTube that demonstrate how to identify plastic food items.
24 Jul 2017 09:41 #346979
this is sweet ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL::
and allyuh love capitalism. well money is everything and you can make some if you have something to sell. who cares what the hell it is as long as you have deh to sell.
when the people discover the poison in dat move on to something else..more poison. there can be a zillion poisons, one for every day of forever from now on. one fail make and use another. as long as you have something to see
that is the very principle of the manufacturers now writ large and completely out of hand.
here is the principle: cooking oils spoil on the shelves and deh loose money. so to solve the problem you break down the oil to its basic molecular structures and recombine dem so deh wont rot and put dem back on the shelves.
but there is no way the human body can deal with the recombined oil. the body never saw it before and cant handle it.
so it stays in the human body to inflame it breaking down its circulatory system and heart attack fuh everybody. and to protect demselves deh tell everybody it is CHOLESTEROL AN ESSENTIAL HEALING ELEMENT IN THE BODY DAT IS THE CAUSE OF SUCH AS HEART DISEASE AND ALL RELATED COMPLICATIONS
but it is the oils which break down the arteries rendering them unable to contain and push the blood along which is why the cholestrol sticks and blocks circulation leading to heart attack.
den deh say it is sugar for diabetes, and diseases brought in by immigrants that causes people bellies to burst. but what it is it is the corn and wheat hybrids deh develop that grows toxic produce on their own that is causing diabetes and hernias.
but dat is the principle: we must have food on the shelves, hamburgers dat dont spoil, coffee that is growing scare and expensive. so deh put cardboard and plastic in the meats, wood chips in the coffee and so on...
THERE MUS' BE GOODS ON THE SHELVES TO SELL OR WE DOAN HAVE BIZNESS. WHATEVER WE DO THERE MUST BE GOODS ON THE SHELVES...AS LONG AS THERE ARE PEOPLE TO BUY.
IF AND WHEN DEH ALL DEAD WE GO DEAL WITH THAT DEN..BUT AS FUH NOW PUT SOMETHING N THE SHELVES DAT DOAN SPOIL AND WILL SELL.
ALLYUH TINK IT SORF
::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL:: ::LOL::
Watooka
24 Jul 2017 09:43 #346980
by Watooka
Some people well stupid. Somebody dreamt up the idea of talking about plastic rice on the internet, and suddenly a lot more take it as fact. The fact is that it is scientifically impossible to create an edible product from plastic, let alone let it behave like rice in the cooking process.
24 Jul 2017 09:47 - 24 Jul 2017 10:17 #346981
AN WAT ALLYUH MAKIN' NOISE FOR ::confused:: ::confused:: ::confused::
AS I SAID ALLYUH GET WAT ALLYUH DESERVE...ACCORDING TO THE WAY ALLYUH CHOOSE TO LIVE BY
look at this then. Guyana grows and sells golden rice...a gold coloured yellow rice. AS FAR AS I KNOW ALL GOLDEN RICES IN THE WORLD IS MONSANTO GMO RICE.. A POISONOUS RICE. IF YOU SELL POISON WAT YOU EXPECT...NOT DAT IT WUD COME BACK AND BITE YOU ::confused:: ::confused::
it seems like miss one take one. Guyana and whoever in the west indies get away with Golden rice. but someone looking to profit in the evil Pandora's box opened by GMO rice being openly sold but totally UNACKNOWLEDGED in the region
Last edit: 24 Jul 2017 10:17 by mapoui.
24 Jul 2017 09:54 - 24 Jul 2017 10:01 #346982
you ought to have your head examined...or else go into the reports on the hamburger meats in the popular hamburgers and what has been found in them over the years..including plastics.and dat is only part of the global capitalist food scandal
and I am not the one who did the studies...it is deh demselves who did them..continue to do them exposing the food mess in the world
you are one of the people who make me laff at life watooka. you always try to defend the indefensible.
am I wrong about the cooking oils..the corn and wheat toxic hybrids..about the Golden rice?
go back through west indian history and try count up the incidences of huge poisonings of west indians from imported food. one incidence comes back to mind immediately..in Jamaica where 14 people died from contaminated flour before the got a hold of it some years ago
dat is why I say we get wat we deserve. we have 2 seasons..wet and dry..which means we can grow food all year long. yet we starve and import all our food from the major poisoners of food in the world. and when we grow our food we go chose their hybrids to plant as we don't have our own seeds..or cant develop our own
and all you do is to defend that nasty situation. what you going...trying to get all west indians killed..or only the nig nogs ::confused::
Last edit: 24 Jul 2017 10:01 by mapoui.
Watooka
24 Jul 2017 09:57 #346983
by Watooka
You want to talk about plastic rice, or about cooking oil?
Watooka
24 Jul 2017 10:12 #346988
by Watooka
I did read what you wrote. I recognised the letters from the alphabet. But the random typing of words in the dictionary and beyond does not mean that the words strung together will be sensible. You have much work to do yet before you master the art of typing a meaningful response to a comment.
24 Jul 2017 10:16 - 24 Jul 2017 10:33 #346989
any dam thing is possible in the west indies man.
THE WEST INDIES IS A DUMP FOR THE AMERICANS...HAS ALWAYS BEEN A DUMP..FROM TOXIC WASTE TO NUCLEAR WASTES, TO THE PEOPLE BEING USED AS UNAWARE GUINEA PIGS IN MEDICAL AND BIOLOGICAL EXPERIMENTS.
look here:
I used to speak to the fishemen up the islands all the time. they will telll you that west indian reefs are dead. go talk to them yourself and see if their reports to me were true..if the reefs are dead.
at that time we knew that only nuclear and american toxic industrial wastes caused that. and that was and is the american east coast mafias who dominate the waste industry there who illegally dump everywhere, given that space in the USA has run out
when I lived up the islands 2 mysterious diseases hit the region..one Pink Eye was the strangest. you would get this awful and unusual feeling and one of your eyes would get literally red or pink. then it disappeared
second there was a terrific fever driven flu that just ripped right through the the island..awful indeed. and no one ever knew where it came from.
the same thing used to happen in Trinidad growing up there. all of a sudden there would be terrific illnesses that in hindsight made no sense at all unless someone was experimenting with us.
look at this...by 1970 the americans were using parts of the Chaguaramas peninsula for experimenting with GMO corn. I can give you the exact locations for I worked nearby. I always wondered about that plantation that suddenly appeared and was an exact replica of what I have come to know in Canada as factory farming.
that is what deh do in their empire..kerry out hazardous experimentation all over at the expense of the local people, and with the complicity of the national governments. and the west indies has never been an exception
Last edit: 24 Jul 2017 10:33 by mapoui.
24 Jul 2017 10:23 #346991
OK wATOOKA..FORGIVE ME. FORGIVE MY COMMENT IN RESPONSE. i COMPLETELY MISSED THIS SIMPLE QUESTION OF YOURS
YES i WANT TO TALK ABOUT OILS AND RICE..WHAT HAVE YOU GOT TO SAY ABOUT THEM ::confused::
plastic rice, cabbage
Time to create page: 0.211 seconds