no man. deh was always boilin' Trinidad is home you know..so I know the place.
Trinidad was always a terrible place...RACIST TO A FAULT, REALLY RACIST, FULLY RACIST, COMPREHENSIVELY RACIST.
AND CLASS CONSCIOUS SAME WAY..POISONOUSLY CLASS CONSCIOUS.
rapaciously exploitative of ordinary Trinidadians...heavy unemployment..no chance for youth..no nutten. police dancing on the bodies of black youth..always was the case.
leh mih give you a chronology:
1965..3 years after independence in 1962 labour war, emergency state and Industrial Stabilization ACT...Williams police state legislation to shut workers down.
1968 - 70...almost total collapse as the people took to the streets, shut down the country..Black Power. Army mutiny, state of emergency..not lifted till 1970
1971 political crisis. opposition boycott elections..williams elected unopposed. then luck! fus' oil boom.
1980's aftah williams dead, Chambers elected and get tossed by NAR..Robinson PM..Abubakr and the muslims and political coup..crisis..state of emergency. same way in early nineties....then Panday, Manning again and Kamla and Rowley and is total lawlessness.
Police run amok on the people..white police chiefs herding nig nogs all over. second oil boom and money like peas but none fuh the people. the people start to loose it. and here we are
you doh know Trinidad man. Trinidad was never peaceful as you make it out to be. you jess doh know di'ze all
Trinidad was always a place that sweated prejudice out of its social pores. wat!!!!! :

you tink all this ting bubble up overnight which wud be wat ::confused::
15 years is in social time, overnight. not possible!