White Farmers Banned From Owning Land In Zimbabwe

08 Jul 2014 13:12 #200479 by chairman
Zimbabwe president Robert Mugabe reportedly wants all of the nation’s white farmers to relinquish their land to black Zimbabweans.

President Mugabe, 90, made the announcement last week, proclaiming that whites may no longer own any land in Zimbabwe, reports The Christian Science Monitor.

“I have been given a list of 35 white farmers in Mashonaland West alone,” Mugabe said to a crowd of farmers in Mhangura, a town north of the capital Harare. “We say no to whites owning our land and they should go. … They can own companies and apartments…but not the soil. It is ours and that message should ring loud and clear in Britain and the United States.”

The white farmers union is upset that racial tensions in the country are rising again.

"We'd like to move forward and work with the government of the day," Commercial Farmers Union director Hendricks Olivier said.

"Don't be too kind to white farmers. Land is yours, not theirs," Mugabe said.

At this time between 100 and 150 white farmers remain in Zimbabwe.

The comments made by Mugabe are surprising to BBC Zimbabwe analyst Stanley Kwenda, as the government officially ended its land reform program nearly two years ago.

Kwenda believes Mugabe is trying to deflect attention away from the country’s economic crisis that includes worsening unemployment and the closure of firms.

“The problems with our country at the moment are dictatorship, [bad] governance, corruption, kleptocracy and other all forms of prejudices,” said Barnabus Thondlana, editor of Zimbabwe’s weekly “The Observer.”

“We should be fighting these prejudices like tribalism, regionalism and racism. I say no to racism.”

08 Jul 2014 13:43 #200494 by Googley
Maps' hero at work!  :D

08 Jul 2014 13:51 - 08 Jul 2014 16:29 #200498 by mapoui
dats right.  no land fuh dem.  if Robert say so is so!

dat is a lil ticklish however.  if they are citizens, born and grow deh he doh have a case it seems.  as long as deh are law abiding and doh commit sabotage on their land..and doh screw up the national agriculture then how can they be kept out ::confused::

but I wont go against Mugabe for this.  if he is wrong on this he is wrong. but he has been right and he is one ah we.  so I deh with him all the way.

I understand where he is coming from.  I dont think he will get this wish however..nor am I sure he means it.  he could be playing more political games with the west
Last edit: 08 Jul 2014 16:29 by mapoui.

• Snoopster
08 Jul 2014 15:10 #200508 by Snoopster
Is this the same Mugabe that once armed some local thugs to violently force White farmers off their farms then gave those farms to his friends and political stooges who either had no interest in farming or had no clue in farming?

And is this the same Mugabe who is now giving those annexed farms to Chinese?

Some hero there Maps.

08 Jul 2014 15:13 #200509 by ketchim
same dude.......That what we were talking about reverse discrimination the odda day

with poster Gina145 from Johannesburg !

08 Jul 2014 15:39 #200514 by Googley

Mugabe followed the path of his hero, Burnham!  Bannam gave Indian lands to the imported Zambians!  Dem chaps had no clue what to do !!  ::LOL::

• Snoopster
08 Jul 2014 15:47 #200515 by Snoopster

According to Burnham, the People's Temple and Jonestown would be a shinning example of religious tolerance and provide a window into the Guyanese interior for outsiders in the West. ::LOL::

08 Jul 2014 16:38 #200526 by mapoui

humans as heros ::confused:: ::confused::

maybe we have had a few.  I doh hold Mugabe as a hero however.  a strong solid leader...yes. 

I dont agree with your first sentence there Snoops.  if he did arm thugs then he was no better than the whites who stole the land in the first place.  they got done to them what they did to the Africans.  a justified equality as far as I see :(

I have not been following the land to the chinese in Zim.  has that been an issue ::confused::  I will dig.

and for all the rest of those against Mugabe above:  there were 10 year reports on the annexation of the land and re-distribution to Africans by the UN and other institutions in the that type of assessments and analysis and they all praised the program even if they lamented some early aspects of it. 

all the reporting institutions declared the project as landmark success at the 10 year mark.  that was a few years ago.  I lost track after that

• Snoopster
08 Jul 2014 17:02 #200528 by Snoopster
No Maps, what Mugabe and his armed goons did was not justified "because it was done to their ancestors".

Mugabe knew that he couldn't annex those lands lawfully so he did what any goon would do and that was use violence and force.

08 Jul 2014 17:15 #200530 by Kwami
Sorry Snoops , this is one time that I disagree wid you . I wholly agree with Mugabe in kicking out the Goras from the farms .
It was stolen property in the first place and  one cannot inherit stolen property .
These white people  have a home and it is in Europe . Mugabe can do as he will with the land as it belong to black Zimbabweans

Time to create page: 0.233 seconds
MaleahNow that Joe Root has 2 centuries in Australia, I assume those Australian fans, who said he couldn’t be classed as great unless he achieved that, will now say he is?? Given that the great Steve Smith has never scored a test ton in Pakistan….(05.01.2026, 12:31)(12:31)0