Uber versus Toronto City Hall

04 May 2016 11:40 #303283 by mapoui
all the city has to do is to take back the plates.  that is all.  they have the right and the power to do so.  it is the law.  they can kill the market this very friggin minute if they want to  NOW!

but dont you see..Uber will do for them even better than the taxi industry.  Uber is simply a modernization of the same plunder. 

that is why no one cares if they loose value in the plates.  they are morphing into Uber and all their costs and responsibilities disappear magically..poof.  they will bathe in profits at almost no cost.

and they will kill the cab industry they are leaving behind, subsume all its profits into uber.  and when the cab industry is killed they will have a monopoly again..this time fare larger than the old cab industry.  and they will jack up prices there too

it is you who cant see what is going on not I.  you have to open up to the changing times and to the realization that the same people are still in charger,  their next generations, younger,modern and sharper, with far far greater tools of exploitation at their service.

wake up man

04 May 2016 11:42 #303284 by ketchim
Cappo , you gotta register for membership with a valid Credit card ON LINE !

www.uber.com

download app to your Cell

There is no DISPATCHER ....no one to talk to

You book ride on line : you get confirmation On Line.

U are advised of surge pricing and that Airport tingy  .

04 May 2016 11:48 #303286 by Googley

thats what competition will accomplish! 

You want you cake and eat it too!! 

however, instead of competition, you want gov't to control everything!  How the ass can you weed out big owners?  take away their cabs?

04 May 2016 11:49 - 04 May 2016 11:58 #303287 by mapoui

well man I told yo what I have.  I am done!  I don't have to use Uber..ever.  I am not effected by any of that anymore.

Toronto does nto need Uber to kill the market in Taxi plates.  if they wanted to kill that  MARKET they could have done it long ago.  it is the most simple thing to do ever. the mayor says its simplistic.  what a fraud and a fake to say that

the city of Toronto owns all the plates..all of them.  in principle and by law none can be bought and sold.  that there is a market is illegal BUT THEY ALLOW IT TO GO ON.

AS A CITIZEN YOU HAVE THE RIGHT TO TAKE THEM TO COURT ON THAT ISSUE IF YOU WANT TO.

Uber is dangerous and should not be tolerated.  it is more of the same...monopoly  and vast profits for a few.  Gypsy cabs would be better for the city.  but best would be to change all the cabs into Ambassador cabs and issue more of them..cutting the costs of using a city cab right down to Uber levels.

that's the answer
Last edit: 04 May 2016 11:58 by mapoui.

04 May 2016 11:53 #303289 by Googley
Here is your answer Maps....

04 May 2016 11:55 #303290 by ketchim
Coming out with a Winter design with Snow tires...  ;)

04 May 2016 11:56 - 04 May 2016 12:05 #303291 by mapoui

if there is real competition.  but where do you see real copmpetition ::confused:: ::confused::

you see where there is real tattah ketchim is nowhere near to lable it properly.  how is Uber competition ::confused:: 

UBER IS MONOPOLY FROM START TO FINISH..A MONOPOLY THAT WILL BE COMPLETED IF TORONTO LEGALIZES IT AND IT KILLS THE CAB INDUSTRY.

AT THAT POINT..INDEED EVEN BEFORE... ALLYUH WILL COME TO KNOW WEH TRANSPORTATION GREEN PEAS AND BARLEY GROW!

i DON' TALK.  I HAVE A LARGER VESTED INTEREST IN THIS ISSUE BUT NONE NO MORE ON THE GROUND IN TORONTO.  I DON'T CARE TO THAT EXTENT :-[ :-[
Last edit: 04 May 2016 12:05 by mapoui.

04 May 2016 12:01 #303293 by ketchim
Vested interest ??  You took out a Mortgage to BUY a Plate  ????

well , yuh Cork , Duck .....below 65K : How much yuh paid back in early 90s  ??

YOU gonna see weh barley grow !!

"As you might expect, Toronto taxi licence-holders have been loath to give up their plates.

Some are widows who have depended on their husbands’ plates as their sole source of
income.

Some are cabbies who mortgaged their homes to buy a plate.

Others are investors."

04 May 2016 12:07 #303294 by mapoui
I am not exposed....no haircut looms.  I got out years now. I am fine!

04 May 2016 13:01 #303305 by Googley
Maps sounds like he is currently investing in Taxi service!

Time to create page: 0.179 seconds
MaleahNow that Joe Root has 2 centuries in Australia, I assume those Australian fans, who said he couldn’t be classed as great unless he achieved that, will now say he is?? Given that the great Steve Smith has never scored a test ton in Pakistan….(05.01.2026, 12:31)(12:31)0