Uber versus Toronto City Hall

03 May 2016 12:53 #303144 by ketchim
www.theglobeandmail.com/news/toronto/why...try/article29825194/

A key city hall committee recently voted against legalizing Uber in Toronto

setting the stage for an incendiary city council debate this week.

As usual in the ground-transportation industry, no one’s happy.

Uber feels like it’s being hobbled by horse-and-buggy-style rules.

The taxi industry feels like the public-safety bar has been lowered.

03 May 2016 12:56 #303145 by chairman
i havent used them

03 May 2016 12:57 #303146 by ketchim
The arrival of Uber has accomplished what the city never could !!

In September, 2012, one of Toronto’s taxi licences sold for $360,000.

By 2013, the average selling price of a cab plate had fallen to $153,867.

In 2014, it was $118,235.

Not long ago, it was rumoured that a plate sold for $65,000

and there is no bottom in sight.  8)

03 May 2016 13:00 #303147 by chairman
the punjabis must be mad as hell

03 May 2016 13:08 #303151 by ketchim
Well they are working like slaves

Its the Plate owners in Israel and absentee owners that raking in the 30% .

I say flood the market with Plates so prices can drop

and the Punjabis can actually afford to be driver/owner !

UBER threatens to Leave Toronto : after today's Debate at City Hall

03 May 2016 13:42 #303166 by mapoui
banning out Uber is a good step.  but they shud also take the market out of the taxi plates.

society must ban out all the computer program industries like Uber and air b and b and so on.  those are dangerous developments

03 May 2016 14:04 #303175 by Nargis
uuuuuh why do you say that Mapoui?

03 May 2016 14:20 #303180 by The Captain
ban the airlines

• krnd
03 May 2016 21:32 #303213 by krnd
Whole situation is ridiculous, I was hoping Canada would just give in, there is no reason to not have Uber in Canada, I would understand if it was Venezuela where you'd probably get kidnapped but this is Canada we're talking about.

04 May 2016 08:28 - 04 May 2016 09:01 #303234 by mapoui

who are you krnd..where did you just appear from ::confused::

you some kind of UBER rep..a UBERIST LOBBYIST >:(

and look at his language..he was hoping that Toronto would 'GIVE IN"  give in what ::confused:: is city council under siege and deh must give in ::confused:: ::confused::

what is actually going orn then ::confused:: ::confused:: ::confused::

I though this was a democratic process that could be DECIDED either way... not a process of attrition OR SIEGE. 

its like city council is under attack..most likely from a lobby..a lobby of programmer/OWNERS, who have worked out monopolistic programs, sold under FRADULENT MARKETING of democratic buzzwords, like equalizing the relationship between driver and passenger, empowering this or that one in the relationS or empowering all the people... and all that crap.

yet the Uber process ends up in great quantities and magnitudes of profit, for only  the programmers/owners of Uber, along with absolute power over everybody involved and a mine of information about everybody who even calls an Uber, even if they don't bother to get or take the ride..information that is totally available to authority of any kind from the cop on the street right up to the federal government.

info that can be sold to anyone in the market for information that fattens further Uberist pockets

did you not know that that is what uber is about Nargis ::confused::

just do a bit of research and see who really makes the money in uber..who gains unimaginable power and control in society due to Uber..see how Uber contributes totally to a comprehensive loss of privacy by all who are involved in Uber...passengers, drivers all...Uber... and what is done with the information collected by Uber central

it is the same with Air B and B..and I am sure there are many more to come. that is why those programs are created en effected in society..to produce monopoly social control while producing likewise monopoly profits.

there is absolutely no democracy about and in those programs..none, nada, zip.  there is no democracy intended at all.  that is far far far from the point of those programs.  all such claims are absolute lies.

all you have to do Nargis is to examine the results of those programs as real, on the ground in the years they have been in effect.

the destruction of the taxi trade is just one cost.  there are many more far greater social costs to those programs.  those programs are an attack on the very democracy their promoters claim to support.

don buy those arguments if you hope to maintain your freedom.  get rid of all those programs..all of them.  try imagine if the entire world ends up tied up into uber..one corporation situated wherever.  there you would have instant world control in the hands of a very few people, in one giant computer program that can access any aspect of their archives instantaneously from and about any part of the world

you want people like this krnd person above...talking about submission, implying the beating into, of what is supposed to be a democratic process... to have that kind of power over you ::confused::

you should not want any such thing.  if the TO city council kicks Uber out it would be a great defense of liberty.  but Uber wont take no for an answer, they will go behind the scenes and do whatever they think they must to win some future vote to get UBER in.

we must be vigilant.  the city council should pass a permanent law now, to keep them out.

and while they are at it they must take the dam market of taxi plates..the one good effect UBer is likely having..killing that market.  but we don't need Uber for that.  that city council can kill that market with a stroke of the pen..turn all those plates into what they should be..total city control to be operated only by the qualified driver who wins such a plate by training and experience.

the driver operates the plate as long as he drives. if he stops driving, dies etc.,  the plate is returned to the city, who re-issues it to another driver under the same rules of use.

that will keep costs down by driving the parasites out of the business, allow cab drivers to make a decent living and raise the status of the job in the city, improving relations between cabs and users

that is a more desired humane relationship Nargis..not to replace absentee cab plate owners bleeding the industry from afar..with NEW, JUST AS ABSENTEE UBER OWNERS, BUT WITH AN EVEN GREATER, TIGHTER, MONOPOLY OVER THE PEOPLE IN THE NEW TRANSPORTATION INDUSTRY..A CONTROL OVER THE USERS/CUSTOMERS, AS WELL FOR ANYTIME YOU ACCESS UBER..ESPECIALLY IF YOU PAY BY CARD.. THEY GET YOUR WHOLE LIFE ON COMPUTER AS SOON AS YOU GIVE THEM YOU NAME AND THEY CAN TRACK YOU WHERE EVER YOU GO..PERIOD
Last edit: 04 May 2016 09:01 by mapoui.

Time to create page: 0.224 seconds
MaleahNow that Joe Root has 2 centuries in Australia, I assume those Australian fans, who said he couldn’t be classed as great unless he achieved that, will now say he is?? Given that the great Steve Smith has never scored a test ton in Pakistan….(05.01.2026, 12:31)(12:31)0