India at 69 a failed destiny!

08 Mar 2016 14:38 #295572 by chairman
TREVOR SUDAMA
newsday.co.tt
Conclusion

AS I CONCLUDE this series on India after seven decades of independence from British rule, I wish to make it clear that I have not highlighted the many problems and challenges which face the Indian people merely to emphasise the negative aspects of the circumstances confronting the country.

I have endeavoured to present a more balanced perspective by focusing on areas which need to be urgently addressed if a more soundly based and inclusive development is to be realised. Nor am I unsympathetic to whatever endeavours those in authority have pursued over the years to meet the humongous challenges faced, foremost being its expansive and enduring poverty.

Nevertheless, one cannot help but conclude that much more needs to be done with a sense of urgency that does not appear to exist.

From this distance and given the complexity and magnitude of the problems faced by the country and without a full knowledge of the myriad influences, relationships, motivations and perspectives which have shaped the post-independence era, it would indeed be presumptuous to attempt a definitive diagnosis of the political, economic and social factors which have been responsible for the underachievement of the country and the underdevelopment of the vast majority of its people.

It would be even more presumptuous to proceed to proffer solutions.

Nevertheless, such a stance does not exclude speculation as to what are possibly some of the underlying causes of India’s flawed and inchoate development, among them aspects of its history, philosophy, religion, culture, tradition, the nature of the state, a dysfunctional political system, lack of effective national leadership by the political class and, on the socio-economic front, by the entrepreneurial and monied classes. This column cannot possibly explore all these factors.

While India has a long history going back to a few thousand years, for a significant portion of that period it was under foreign tutelage, particularly when the British ruled the country for over 200 years.

It is an open question whether this extended period of foreign domination has subtly affected the psyche of the Indian people and instilled in them a state of psychological subservience and deference.

The consequence of such a possible state of affairs may have induced a sense of inferiority, spiritual subjugation, low self-confidence and lack of will to be in control and chart an independent destiny.

It was this feeling of inadequacy and low self-esteem and this feebleness of mind and spirit that Gandhi saw as the greatest hurdle to overcome in the struggle for formal independence.

To what extent that residual affliction of the Indian psyche exists today and to what extent the continued psychological dependence on outside influences and ideas is a factor in stymieing indigenously propelled development and creativity is a matter of speculation.

The widespread adoption of the concept of determinism akin to the notion of karma which holds that one’s fate, circumstances and prospects in life are predetermined and cannot be changed by human effort, however rational and resolute.

Pursuits of self-effort, self-initiative and self-advancement are deemed to be of no avail, as well as activism and protest. One can envisage how such a belief system could induce a sense of torpor, apathy and resignation among the millions in poverty. It is perhaps a reason why distress and destitution are so casually ignored in the Indian social landscape.

While culture and tradition give meaning to the individual lives of people and provide a basis of integrity to national life as well as promoting psychological well-being and continuity, there are aspects which, as discussed in previous columns, can be inimical to broad-based national progress and inclusive development.

08 Mar 2016 15:27 #295587 by ketchim
Well analysed and written....

except for the Mughal rule ( note British 200 year mentioned)

and the Caste system still in place !

08 Mar 2016 16:26 - 08 Mar 2016 17:03 #295594 by mapoui

I dunno! Sudama seems to be making the problem too hard, paradox, Gordian Knot.  dem fellas and dem in the west indies have real sharp cutlass dat can cut dat kind knot quick quick.

an' is deh weh Sudama grow up so he of all people shud know about sword and cutlass,  and how deh cyan cut through any problem at all, including flesh and sinews ::) ::) ::)

Indian problem appear to me to date back to white/ary@n invasion.  that gave India its current race/wannabe problem, skin complexion problem..which in turn kills Indian independence of thought without limitation.  I have never met an Indian yet who is not subsumed by/with the race question, class/caste-superiority-exceptional problem that tells them they are what they are not.

and not being what they are supposed to be they can only be what others want them to be..others of their own choosing.  they have chosen to be white american/canadian and ape the sh!t out of that model on all levels of Indian life, down to a replica of holywood.  and the consequences of that social choice signs Indian reality into futility.

to reproduce western life costs, and the price is massive Indian social dysfunction replete with concentration of wealth,. economic systems that facilitate concentration of wealth and vast poverty that is so horrific that I refuse to contemplate it..push what I have seen out of my mind.  I don't want to think about those things that they are possible in human life, inflicted by human mind and hand

where is the Indian left now?

a real nationalist Indian left is essential for Indian survival..courageous men and women who unflinchingly ferret out a comprehensive and truthful picture of Indian life from the start to now, expose the problems clearly, uncompromisingly... and how to address them and and so move, proceed to solve, inviting in the whole Indian population into a process of resolution

it is not easy of course, not least because in its wannabe existence Indians have allowed western involvement in their lives to no good purpose.  the west does not have the best interest of Indians/India  at heart.  they cud care less and are prolly as baffled by Indian wannabe, after what the west has done to India for so long.  yet the west has been allowed an undue influence on India's general policies since Indian independence, that does nothing good for India

China on the other hand shut out the west completely, kicked them out and kept them out until they were ready to do business on their terms..resulting in China a powerful global nation.

the principle is clear:  be yourself, love yourself, be guided by your self-interest based on your understanding of and acceptance of your true self...PERIOD!

{ a lesson for nig nogs too}
Last edit: 08 Mar 2016 17:03 by mapoui.

08 Mar 2016 16:45 #295598 by Kwami
This writer    understands nothing about the Indian psyche .
The  Greatest thing that ever happened to India  was the caste system where all different castes accept their station in life . Some of us  are born to serve as determined by caste with the prize being that if we serve faithfully and  do good, we will reincarnate into a higher caste  or  consciousness in the  next life ..
I am a good example , born of a low caste , owns nothing  and is serving my masters albeit with low pay  and is very happy .

08 Mar 2016 17:20 #295602 by The Captain

08 Mar 2016 17:27 #295603 by Kwami
Headline says that " India at 69 is a failed destiny " .I agree ,too much is made of this 69 business.

08 Mar 2016 18:22 #295604 by mapoui
man 69 years is nothing.  no sense making judgement on that.  the most acurate presumption is that things have not gone well, are not going well and why......

history is not done, finished...the world is still rolling on.  Sudama has made a paradox hard like sums where there are options.  it is to see the problems work them out and move.

the real problem is if you cant or wont move in solution to/of your problems when you know things wrong and what they are

08 Mar 2016 18:25 #295605 by mapoui
anyhow I am going to take down my posts here.  I suspect I have made some people vex with what I said

08 Mar 2016 18:28 #295607 by ketchim
Leave the post , Mapster.

IT flows with the headline , perfectly !

08 Mar 2016 18:30 #295608 by ketchim

Good Luck : hope you reincarnate into a Maharajah

remember me at your Harem.

Time to create page: 0.211 seconds
MaleahNow that Joe Root has 2 centuries in Australia, I assume those Australian fans, who said he couldn’t be classed as great unless he achieved that, will now say he is?? Given that the great Steve Smith has never scored a test ton in Pakistan….(05.01.2026, 12:31)(12:31)0