Riot erupts following shooting death of unarmed black teen in Missouri

11 Aug 2014 09:09 #206343 by chairman
(Reuters) - Rioting and looting erupted in Ferguson, Missouri, late on Sunday as protests over the killing of a black teenager by a police officer turned violent, law enforcement officials and media reports said.

Crowds broke the windows of cars and stores following a day of demonstrations over the death of Michael Brown, an unarmed 18-year-old shot dead on Saturday by a Ferguson police officer.

"We are currently experiencing a riot," a Ferguson police dispatcher said.

About 150 officers in riot gear from throughout St. Louis County, along with canine units, were sent to the area, a dispatcher for the St. Louis County Police Department said.

There was no immediate word on injuries.

Police said Brown was shot after a struggle over a gun in a police car. It was not immediately clear why Brown as in the car. At least one shot was fired during the struggle, and then the office fired more shots before leaving the car.

The officer, who was not identified, is a six-year veteran and has been put on administrative leave, St. Louis County Police Chief Jon Belmar told a news conference.

"It is our understanding at this point in the investigation, that within the police car, there was a struggle over the officer's weapon," Belmar said.

11 Aug 2014 09:25 #206346 by chairman
Protests erupted soon after the shooting in Ferguson, a town of about 23,000 people some 20 miles (32 km) north of St. Louis. Some demonstrators shouted "kill the police".Sunday's protests turned violent after dark, according to news station KMOV-TV, with rioters smashing the window of a store and damaging cars. The crowd broke the windows of a news truck, the station said.A teenage girl told KMOV that a QuikTrip convenience store was being looted. Asked what looters were taking, she said, "Everything. They destroyed everything."Brown's mother told local TV broadcaster KSDK that her son was a "good child getting ready to go to college" and that he was visiting his grandmother when the incident took place."He didn't bother nobody," she said. "They told me how many times my son was shot - eight," she added.The St. Louis County branch of the civil rights group NAACP has said it wants the U.S. Federal Bureau of Investigation to look into the case, with many in the community telling media that race played a factor in the shooting.The police did not give any details about the officer's race.

• ali
11 Aug 2014 09:52 #206352 by ali
Some questions:  1)  Why was a “good” kid in the policeman’s car? 2) Why was their a struggle for a gun?  3)  What is the purpose of looting innocent store owners to display your dissatisfaction with the police force?

11 Aug 2014 10:34 #206369 by Googley

an eye for eye makes the world blind!

11 Aug 2014 10:41 #206375 by ketchim

I concur !

11 Aug 2014 11:47 #206399 by ketchim

ah ha ! i see dis shyte more often than reading about a Stone...

Bullets and looting , bwoy !

• May102014
11 Aug 2014 12:01 #206403 by May102014
This hits so close to home for me because it happened near my friend's house. I live about 50 minutes away from her but she told me all about it yesterday. He was scheduled to start school on Monday and was gunned down by the police. He was unarmed and on his way to his grandmother's house. The police said they approach him, a struggled ensue with the victim trying to get the officer's gun, and then took off running only to be shot multiple times in the back. I have heard these "versions" given by policemen since I was a teenager. The young man didn't have a criminal record and wasn't a problem child in school. I know the media always try to find a way to vilify the dead victim with any evidence of immoral behavior in their background so to speak. It's sad because this happened so close to me.

11 Aug 2014 12:37 #206429 by mapoui

right!  all those with the pokes will see.  part of the world can see is betten than all bline right ::confused::

what is it with ketchim ::confused::  is he cerious with all this..or he just trolling fuh action ::confused::

deh jess loot america ketchim....TRILLIONS OF DOLLARS, STOLE ALL THE GOLD AND SILVER IN THE TREASURY..STOLE ALL THE GOLD THEY WERE KEEPING FOR OTHER NATIONS..ALL THE METAL OUT OF THE COINAGE.  ALL THAT HAS NOT BE STOLEN IS WORTHLESS OR SECURELY NAILED DOWN.

JUST A SMALL MINORITY DID THAT KETCHIM..HAVE MORE MONEY NOW THAN THEY CAN EAT IN A THOUSAND LIFE TIMES.

A CROWD LOOTING FRIDGES AND STOVES WOULD NEED TO LOOT MORE THAN THEY COULD STORE IN A THOUSAND LIFE TIMES TO COMPARE TO WHAT THE MINORITY HAS LOOTED.

so what to do...strangle the minority and use the money to employ the people ::confused:: ::confused:: 

that money would be more tan enough..... ::) ::) ::)

11 Aug 2014 13:44 #206452 by mapoui
and we are set up to pay interest forever on all the stolen money, codified as debt on the government bill. taxes forever on stolen money which is another theft in broad daylight...enslavement.

all this on the backs of the people and we must be smoked for it according to ketchim.  the people cant catch breath but for ketchim eh!  nothing we can do eh...we are guilty period.  no chance.

ketchim cyar be serious.  he mus' be cerious. :-\

here ketchim:
investmentwatchblog.com/unarmed-black-te...olice-shot-10-times/

11 Aug 2014 14:42 #206462 by ketchim
Lookit here , there are some things firmly established:

and some things NEW :

Try to separate the 2 ....thanks.

codified , my butt !  :P

Time to create page: 0.262 seconds
MaleahNow that Joe Root has 2 centuries in Australia, I assume those Australian fans, who said he couldn’t be classed as great unless he achieved that, will now say he is?? Given that the great Steve Smith has never scored a test ton in Pakistan….(05.01.2026, 12:31)(12:31)0